We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve tradition”
Review of Pump Room

Pump Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Pump Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Description: The Pump Room restaurant offers reasonably priced, delicious favorites in a relaxed, comfortable, and exciting environment. The new food concept was created by world-renowned chef and 2011 James Beard award winner Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Original Pump Room menu classics were reinvented and recreated by Jean-Georges providing his special touch and amazing style. He will support local purveyors, regional flavors and offer a “farm to table” experience. At night, the restaurant's bar transforms into a supper club recapturing the glamour of the 30's and 40's with a modern twist. Offerings include late night tapas style small plates as well as local, domestic and international draught and bottled beer; exotic, specialty cocktails by our own mixologist, and great music.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve tradition”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our second Christmas Eve dinner. Last year's was a bit more memorable. Both the service and food were a teensy bit off this year. Maybe it was the holiday and that the restaurant was really busy. The re-done room is NOTHING like the old Pump Room but it's gorgeous!! We plan to continue the tradition in 2013.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faith653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    120
    46
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park,IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth it..”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was recently there with a good friend-- and it was a totally satisfying experience.. It's a beautiful room with good people scenery and an all-purpose vibe.. It's a go-to place for out-of-towners, for sure-- wouldn't hesitate bringing important business people there for a schmoozefest.. The food was excellent (don't bring an appetite),pricing not crazy-expensive, the team service was flawless, and the manager, Bryan, was extremely accomodative.. A far cry from a year ago when they first opened and didn't really have their act together.. Now it seems like a worthy successor to the original, iconic Pump Room..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gr5806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Glamourous Decor & Beautiful Bar Staff”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to try the Bar at The Pump Room an evening after work and sat by the main bar. The decor is really nice, each Bar Tenders and Cocktail Waitresses are like they just came out of The Abercrombie & Fitch Magazine. We ordered an Old Fashion which was average & a Bellini which I really liked with Rasperries & Lychee Puree. Feeling a bit hungry, we had The Chocolate Fondant which was quite good but slightly undercook. Our Bartender was quite nice and went to ask for spoons for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver-Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Swanky classic restaurant in the heart of Chicago!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service and the atmosphere was very elegant and modern. The portions were small,but everything we had was delicious! A memorable experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LexingtonKristi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo grove
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd time "eh"”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

first time last year we loved it. 2nd time a few days ago not so much. service was just so so. waiter forgot a few items. wife was very happy with her food and dessert. my burger was so salty I almost send it back (In retrospect I should have). The fries were just room temp, not hot. if we're in the area we will go back

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pump Room also viewed

 

Been to Pump Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing