We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #17 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Very nice stay in windy Chicago. Location is very convinient to everything, 2 min to nearest subway station Chicago-Red. Hotel was not overcrowded, due to low season, but service was on very professional level. We have got an upgrade to Junior Suite - room was not very spacy, but very comfy and nicely decorated, with great view and amazing bed. French touch in every detail. Merci Sofitel!

PS: Tip: If you are looking for a good American breakfast - better to visit Tempo Cafe (next to hotel) with their great selection of scrabbled eggs and sandwiches.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZhivago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOffice, Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted that you enjoyed your suite, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! Our goal is always to exceed our guests’ expectations. Along with my fellow Sofitel Ambassadors, I look forward to welcoming you again soon at our Chicago property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,597
    897
    159
    49
    35
See reviews for
587
1,415
278
914
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided to take a 3 night stay in Chicago for fun. Looking through reviews, we figured that the Sofitel would be a nice place to relax. It turned out to be very disappointing.

Rooms: Our room was unbearably dry! I could not breathe properly during the entire stay. Granted, it was winter... but I had no problems breathing the outdoor Chicago air. I would wake up in the middle of the night because the air in the room was too dry. I ended up placing wet tissues under my nose just to help me breathe.

I am very picky about cleanliness, so this may be acceptable to some people. When we first arrived, the beds had what looked like other people's hair (perhaps pubic), maybe 5-6 strands scattered around that I could find. At first, I questioned whether or not the sheets were cleaned, but I realized that the sheets and bedding had a lot of static--- so I'm guessing that they were washed, but some hairs were never able to come off in the wash.

Another issue was that on two different mornings, starting around 9AM, we would hear small hammering sounds from nearby. It sounded like it came from an adjacent room next to us (maybe some sort of construction or renovation?). Definitely not what I want to be hearing when I want to sleep in and relax!


Location: Probably the only thing I liked about the hotel. It was in a good location -right next to Michigan Avenue, and about a 15 minute walk to Navy Pier- one afternoon we had a pleasant walk from Navy Pier back to the hotel.


Service: When I needed to resolve an issue over the phone about my reservation, I was told to leave a voice message for the reservations manager. I'm always hesitant about leaving voice mails, but I was reassured that she was "good at checking her voice mails", but after leaving a detailed message, I never received a callback. Though, front desk was friendly and polite.

Overall, staying in this hotel pretty much ruined our planned-to-be relaxing Chicago visit. The one thing this hotel was successful at was denting my wallet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hosum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOffice, Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the unpleasant issues that you experienced during your stay. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for, and therefore we take your comments and suggestions very seriously. Please rest assured that I have shared your experience with our Housekeeping, Reservations, and Engineering departments, and we have taken the appropriate measures to address and educate our staff.

I invite you to contact me at sofitel.chicagowatertower.com for a more in-depth discussion of the issues you had during your stay. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

My fiance and I traveled here to celebrate our engagement in January 2011. The hotel is in a perfect location, right by most of the big Chicago destinations and restaurants. The hotel is very sleek and cool, with very nice bathrooms. Brian, the concierge, was amazing in consistently coming through with great recommendations. Every night the hotel does a turndown service, which is very nice as well. The highlight of the hotel for us was the bed, which had to be the most comfortable bed my fiance and I have ever slept in, at least in recent memory. There were only a few slight negatives but they were easily overlooked: the water from our sink wasn't clear, and our television's sync was off by a frame. Before you book be sure to look around online for better prices, I was able to score a Junior Suite at a simply awesome price. This hotel is very nice, beautiful, and highly recommended. Also recommended: the Signature Lounge at the top of the Hancock Building, the Drawing Room for drinks, the Coq D'Or in the Drake hotel, and Topolbampo for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptgt20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Unique architecture from the outside. My room was a deluxe which had a view of the Hancock tower (the best view of Chicago by the way is from the bar at the top of this building). The Hotel is in the heart of the action and next to designer shops and restaurants. The rooms are large,clean, fancy and modern. Bathroom comes with all the extras (slippers, TV) great bed and desk. Staff is very good and even says "bonjour " in French to keep the Sofitel theme although no one really speaks french. Bottom line, this hotel has a very expensive feel to it at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingyahud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I had one Sofitel stay prior to the Chicago Water Tower facility (Bangkok) and it was excellent. So, my expectations were high. Wish I could have something nicer to write... First off, it was soo expensive. We wanted centrally located so were willing to pay for the convenience. The Sofitel Water Tower location can't be beat, it was perfect, within walking distance of so much stuff. When we checked in, they only had a smoking room left for that night (even though we had reservations) and would move us to another room the next day. The smoking room was BAD, chipped furniture, stained area rugs, pieces of gum on the coffee table, all for a low price of $350! We were compensated by 3 drink tickets for the bar. The next day, they moved our stuff to the room we actually reserved. Luckily it was cleaner. The thing that ticked me off most was that we had a junior suite, which is basically a larger room with a king size bed and sofa bed. Our party was for three (myself, husband and teenage son), so you would think the hotel staff would know one of us would be sleeping on the sofa bed? Wrong. Not only did they not make up the sofa bed or ask, there were no sheets/blankets/pillows for it either. So I had to call room service, and they brought up one flat sheet, a small thin blanket and pillow. I said I would like two sheets, and maybe another blanket...all in all, a pain in the butt.. I don't recommend this hotel at all, unless you get a deal for like $150 or something. and no free internet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyond_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,805 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, ACCOR, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing