We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quality in Swiss fashion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #18 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Home
Level Contributor
266 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quality in Swiss fashion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Business meeting at upscale hotels has been a thing much missed, but the Sofitel was a great way to see chicago. Corner rooms looking at the navy pier and the miracle mile, large rooms surrounded by glass were a de stressor from the start. Elevators respond by pushing the floor at the call point, it inside the elevator, so waits are kept,to a minimum, and there is no miltiplemstoosmifmyounaee on a high floor. Bathrooms had separate shower and tub, and large sink area and counter, in room lights closet, safe, and comfortable bed, recliner, couch let you spread out, and the work desk was large w close plug ins. The was an inner hallway from the outside, keeping hall noise to a minimum, but I did need my white noise machine for the street noise. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the turndown service left Swiss chocolates on the pillow.
Comfortable bed and pillows, Gym was large and well supplied. Meeting rooms were large and quiet. Food was a let down as the. Edge tables were all overlooked, but the other items were cooked better, and even the oatmeal,for breakfast was well made.
Would enjoy staying here again.

Room Tip: Definitely want to face miracle mile and navy pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelmavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Bonjour hotelmavin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. I appreciate your contribution with such a detailed and positive review. I am very happy that you appreciated the design of our rooms along with the beautiful view and amenities.
I am glad to see that you were so extremely comfortable in our world-renowned Sofitel MyBeds. It was a real pleasure to read about your guest experience.
Thank you very much to share your tips with our valued readers.
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,665
    932
    164
    50
    35
See reviews for
602
1,457
282
949
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar, Europe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have discovered Chicago after a long trip across America. We booked at Sofitel without knowing where it was in town. Finally it was a good choice as it is very central, 2 mn walk to Michigan avenue, and easy to get on the right road to the airport on final day. Sofitel is Sofitel = quality.
End of July may not be the best period to get a good deal but it was worth paying for quality and location. Public Parking next door at 45$/ day. Bed was too soft for me but my wife enjoyed it so...
Staff at the counter was nice and very helpful.

Room Tip: To get some views it is better to stay above the 25th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Bonjour Pierre F,

First of all allow me to thank you very much for the time you took to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your stay.
It was a real pleasure to read about your stay, and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent location in the city, close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining.
My Front desk team was honored to receive your nice comments regarding the great service they constantly provide.
Thank you very much to share your tips with our valued readers regarding the beautiful views from our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back amongst us,
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Absolutely loved staying here. Service was amazing. Front desk checked us in early and were helpful with all our needs and requests. Room was excellent. Comfortable bed. Great views from room. Would wholeheartedly recommend. Will stay here again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XanderMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Bonjour XanderMac,

Thank you for your generous comments on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. I am so pleased that your overall guest experience was wonderful and that you would `wholeheartedly recommend' us.
I am glad that you found the front desk staff `helpful'. I really appreciate your comments for rooms, beds and views.
I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is walking distance from the train station and shopping. The atmosphere is VERY quiet overall. I encountered very few guests during a Friday to Monday stay. I was surprised at the size of the bathroom and comfort of the bed. Housekeeping was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twofst2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Bonjour Twofst2c,

Thank you very much for this stunning review you took the time to write on your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
You are so right saying that our central location is such a convenient place to explore the city of Chicago. I am delighted to read that you found the housekeeping `excellent' and the room and bathroom comfortable.
I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another `pleasant stay'.
Kindest Regards

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kxoxville, TN.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Able to get a good price on room under 100. Clean, bright, bed wonderful, service great. Just the kind of Hotel you want to occupy when you viit the Windy City. This hotel is certainly up to standard ****+. The only shortfall is the parking pretty steep ($45) next building. The Plus is that you are in the heart of the activity. Stayed weekend. Stayed 6/29 - 7/1

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wings22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Bonjour Wings22,
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your June stay amongst us.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our comfortable room and famous Sofitel MyBeds.
Be certain that your kind comments have been passed on to our entire team.
I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
With best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for a weekend in March. The location is top notch, bars and restaurants all nearby as well as the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is very unique, stylish and holds its own in the architectural wonder of Chicago and competing hotels. Check in was smooth and staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. The room was excellent...very stylish, all the amenities and very comfy bed. We chose a "high floor" room and had a stunning view of the Chicago skyline and Hancock Tower. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning...if you can, treat yourself to that. Fresh complimentary pastries were offered at the start of our meal and the breakfast we ordered was superb, with attentive service. A great experience overall, it was a treat in all respects!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Bonjour RoxyRoadTrip,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower for your trip and for taking out the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
I am thrilled to read your recommendation about our team, convenient location and `smooth' check in.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel's appearance exceeded your expectations. In fact, we will celebrate our 12-year anniversary next June; our unique design by architect Jean-Paul Viguier has made us one of the Chicago skyline's 'architectural gems'. I am also happy to know that you appreciated our delicious breakfast at Cafe des Architectes.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sofitel is a French chain and it never forgets that! The lobby, the flowers, the food, the amenities, the room decor - all the best of today's Paris! We experienced an unfortunate hiccup with our reservation but the front desk staff was quick to remedy it with an amazing upgrade. The location is excellent - just a couple of blocks off Michigan (the Magnificent Mile) and the Hancock Tower - but even more importantly, just a couple of blocks from Oak Street where the miracles really happen: Prada, Louboutin, Hermes, Saint Laurent, Chanel, Jimmy Choo ....
I have to say we only ate breakfast at the hotel but the menu was varied and the food more than enough to see you through to a late lunch.
Trust Peter, the concierge - he is a genius with a terrific sense of humour! He more than made up for a couple of the front desk staff who could have have used a bit more training in the hotel systems and policies.
In all, a very good stay!

Room Tip: Suites above the 22nd floor have great views; below that, not so much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Bonjour MarlaToronto,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. You were very generous with your comments, and I very much appreciate that you consider our property as `The best of Paris in Chicago'.
I was pleased to know that our property and our staff met your expectations. Please rest assured that I have shared your encouraging message with the team and have recognized Peter for the outstanding service he provided. Thank you very much for your nice feedback about our location and for sharing your tips regarding the `great views'.
Look forward to a future visit when you can enjoy again our wonderful breakfast at Cafe des Architectes.
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#4 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing