We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #22 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A Sofitel traveller
Chicago, Illinois
11
Reviewed July 4, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
2  Thank A Sofitel traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,301)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,748 - 1,754 of 4,301 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel in the heart of Chicago. Close to Rush street and the famous Sprinkles cupcake bakery. The service feels like a small boutique hotel. Loved the Evian water, the turndown service and the products. The embroidered cloth shoe bags are fantastic for future travel. Will be back with my spouse!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank mrsadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Bonjour mrsadiaz,

Thank you very much for the kind comments you shared on TripAdvisor further to your stay with us in June.
Indeed I was delighted to read how much you were pleased with your guest experience and the amenities we offer. It means a lot to us that you mentioned having liked our `French flair'.
Also I was glad you appreciated our wonderful location close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower with your spouse.
Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Perfect location, great service, excellent quality.
Great Shops, good restaurants, Chicago lakeshore and the beach are walking distance.
Magnificent mile is around the corner.
Elegant and modern lobby and rooms.
Very clean of course.
Very good bar and restaurant with a good variety of liquors and cocktails.
The staff is very attentive and tend to spoil you discretely.
Only shortfall is not having a pool/sauna...but Chicago offers better things to do.
Room service is effective and the room offers anything you need with quality products.
In the morning the coffe is complimentary which is a plus, you can start your town exploration with a coffee cup in your hands.
Not a single complaints, I ll reccomand to family and friends.
I ll go back soon and probably looking for a sofitel around the world as well.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Bonjour Giovanni P,

What a pleasure to read your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. That you consider your overall stay to be `excellent' is the nicest compliment possible.
My team was honored to receive your comments regarding the great service they constantly provide.
It was pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of our excellent location in the city, close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining.
Finally, I really appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our bar, restaurant and room service.
Thank you very much for recommending us.

I look forward to return visit,
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The rooms are quiet and clean. The bathrooms are fantastic. The bedding is incredibly comfortable. The staff is courteous and prompt. The restaurant there, Cafe Des Architects is outstanding. Great stay!


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Bonjour Sandy D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I am very happy to see that you had such an enjoyable time here at our magnifique property, and that you were so very comfortable in our world-renowned Sofitel Mybeds. Thank you as well for pointing out our sensational restaurant. Your kind comments have been shared with our entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Reviewed July 2, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I just can't say enough about this hotel. Great location....easy to walk to north to Lincoln Park or south to a show in the Loop. Excellent service...there are no slackers working at this hotel. Everyone has a great attitude and never seems to tire of guests asking questions. Superior room....rooms are always super clean, bright and excellent views out the window. You get what you pay for here...rooms are about $350/night in summer and $250/night in other seasons. Spend the money and get a for sure good night sleep, excellent service and a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from elevator. I usually have a good experience facing the John Hancock b...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truparkhaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Bonjour truparkhaysmom,

Thank you so much for your outstanding posting on TripAdvisor regarding your `wonderful' stay.
That you consider our service to be `excellent' is the nicest compliment possible. All the staff takes very much to heart such comments as yours.
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the beautiful view of the John Hancock tower. Thank you for sharing.

I really look forward to seeing you very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed two nights on our recent visit. The location is excellent, walking distance to so very much in the city. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are very well appointed. But there were little things that are holding me back from a 5 star review.

In a 5 star hotel, I expect everything we got at the Sofitel but with a bit more - like the breakfast - not included, well, ok, but was coffee in the morning included? Apparently, but we were never told that it was!! No one told us upon check in nor was there any notice in our room - I only know that coffee was included now that we're home, reading some of the other TAdivisor reviews! Apparently you go to the restaurant and get a gratis cup there to take back to your room - how was I supposed to know that?? No evening wine gathering as we've experienced in other obvious 5 star hotels, like ones we've stayed in in New York and Rome, no breakfast or coffee, veerrrryyyyy slow wifi, only two elevators which took forever………and in our room, maybe it was the layout, but the flat screen TV was on the table IN FRONT of the mirror - what?? So indeed, if you wanted to use the bedroom mirror, and not that we did, as there were plenty of other mirrors - but the point being that if you wanted to, the TV was in front of it! Odd design planning, or lack thereof! And the housekeeping our first night was a bit off - only one pair of slippers were provided - 2 robes, but only 1 pair of slippers - AND, and this really bugged me - the closet, which is beautiful, when you open the closet doors, there are 3 open shelves on the bottom of the closet - I bent down to put my clothes in there, and ICK - the cleaning staff had not checked the shelves and had missed one of those nylon footies, those mini nylon socks that women wear with shoes - ya, there it was, USED, staring back at me from the shelf - nasty! I plucked it up and tossed it in the trash, but I thought, ohhhhhh, not good - housekeeping was not on the ball. Interestingly, the next day, my guess is that there was a different housekeeping crew, as a 2nd pair of slippers was provided, indicating that they had caught their error.

Yes, the bedding is luxurious and comfortable, the room was essentially soundproof, the bathroom tile, the shower, the soaking tub, the plush towels - all fabulous. But at this level, at this price point, expectations are high, competition is stiff, and for us, Sofitel Water Tower fell a bit short.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lexmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Bonjour lexmiller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I am happy to see that you had an enjoyable time here at our magnifique property, and that you were so very comfortable in our world-renowned Sofitel Mybeds. Thank you as well for pointing out our sensational location just one block away from the Magnificent Mile, and I am glad you liked our rooms and bathrooms along with the amenities.
Nevertheless, I was deeply sorry to learn that your experience with our housekeeping service has not been entirely in keeping with your expectations. This is not typical of our standards of service to our guests, and I regret the impression that it gave you. We have taken the appropriate measures to address this.
I sincerely regret that you were not informed of the complimentary coffee and tea served at Cafe des Architectes every morning. We do display a sign providing the information in the lobby, near the elevators.
Thank you for all your feedback and please rest assured corrective actions will be taken.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,864 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,659 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $188 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing