We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stay was average”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Nothing extraordinary to report. I was pleased that they let us check in early. Coffee and tea is served in the restaurant until 11. A little uncomfortable to trek in their after a workout while others are dining to get tea and coffee.

We had to call Housekeeping for them to clean our room which was disappointing. Fitness center is nice but small. Fresh fruit, water and newspaper available.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abesbabe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Bonjour Abesbabe23,

First of all, allow me to thank you for the comments you shared on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in February.
I was truly happy to read that you have been able to enjoy an early check-in upon arrival. And I was delighted that you liked our nice fitness room and took advantage of the amenities.

Your point regarding the coffee and tea served at the restaurant has been duly noted. I would like to express my sincerest apologies with the inconvenience you encountered in your room. Rest assured that this is unusual of our standards of service.

Our relationship with our valued guest is of utmost importance to us, and it is always a pleasure having you stay with us.
If there is anything we can do in advance of your next stay with us that will make your experience more positive and enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower soon.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,918
    1,003
    183
    59
    41
See reviews for
675
1,598
313
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights over Valentines weekend. This is a lovely and contemporary hotel. A perfect central location. Employees are terrific and the lobby is kept immaculate. The rooms are nice with every amenity needed and the bathroom is spacious and I loved the separate bath and shower. Robes and slippers are a nice touch. Please do yourself a favor and order their continental breakfast (we ordered the larger pot of coffee which was a good idea) because it is a wonderful treat to start your day. I felt spoiled getting this little luxury each morning! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Bonjour alynn,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us on the Valentine's week end. To know that we assisted in making such a special occasion more memorable is more important than anything else.

We are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed the overall service. We were also truly happy to read that our continental breakfast exceeded your expectations and that it turned out to be a wonderful time of your days.

Thank you for sharing your comments and I hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the near future.

Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stay was almost perfect. Staff was gracious and more than willing to help with anything we needed. No matter who we came across, they smiled and acknowleged us.
Parking and valet was an absolute disaster. Paid the required amount, but will never again. Clouded the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Bonjour Ron L,

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your last visit at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
We are very honoured to read your words concerning our Staff. They all have been recognized for the outstanding service they provide.
Nevertheless, we were deeply sorry to learn that your experience with our valet parking has not been entirely in keeping with your expectations. This is not typical of our standards of service to our guests, and we regret the impression that it gave you. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address this in order to prevent any future occurrence.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have been to the one in Brussels and wanted to check out the one in my hometown. It was just as beautiful and clean. I love the way it smells in the lobby. The front desk staff are super friendly. I recommend getting breakfast room serviced. Such a nice treat. love love the Sofitel hotels.

Room Tip: Anything over the 25 floor should get you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Bonjour Diane N,

I really appreciate your posting on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your loyalty to the Sofitel hotels. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our service. I have shared your encouraging message with our Front desk, Housekeeping and Room service teams and recognized them for the outstanding service they provided.
I am pleased to tell you that our wonderful fragrance in the lobby is fig. It has been created especially for us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in a prestige suite for one night last week. We arrived by noon and our room was ready. The staff there was very friendly and attentive upon check in. The room was immaculate. The design of the suite was perfect. Double doors led into a large bathroom. The master suite had double doors leading into the living area and sliding door from the foyer to allow the bedroom to be in complete darkness for sleeping in. The rooms had just the right amount of paintings that were illuminated with an overhead lamp. It was designed with all the comforts of home. The bed was very comfortable. We had a tasty breakfast at cafe de architects. They accomdated my daughters request for substituting M&Ms in her pancakes and offered freshly baked pastries with our choices. After breakfast I was able to get in a workout at the fitness center that had weights and cardio equipment. The hotel is located very close to Mag mile. There were mostly couples and businessmen there but the staff was very friendly towards the hotel guest that had the kid.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suitegals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Bonjour Suitegals,

What a wonderful review you have given us. Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your comments and such a nice description of our rooms on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. Both teams at the Front desk and Cafe des Architectes were also very glad to receive your comments about their wonderful service.
I am pleased to know that you spent an enjoyable time with your daughter at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
We are looking forward to welcoming both of you back to our property very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The location was ideal for me! My suite was 1/5 the price of the Peninsula and I need the two extra block anyways. My stay and use of services were the room, and certain valet services. Great business hotel for north MI area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Bonjour George B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I so appreciate that you considered `everything great' in our hotel. So glad that you found the location `ideal' and that your entire stay met your expectations. This is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here in February 2014 - chose the hotel based on trip advisor recommendations, and the location.

I highly recommend it - room was lovely, modern furniture and decor, very comfortable bed. And a great bathroom with separate bath. I had a 'junior suite' with amazing views of the city- 30th floor. Being winter it wasn't even expensive- to get an equivalent room in say, Manhattan, you'd be paying a fortune.

The location is very good- loads of cafes and restaurants around, and supermarkets. The lake is only a couple of blocks away, and you can walk to the Loop in 20 minutes. Millennium park about 30 mins, and museum campus about 40 (very nice walk along by the lake).

I'll definitely be staying there again next time I'm in Chicago, one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite if you can, with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ejoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Bonjour ejoch,

Thank you so much for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you chose the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower based on the Trip Advisor reviews and that you recommend it now!
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of our junior suites and that you found the view to be `amazing'.

We look forward to having you on your next visit to Chicago.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,790 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,601 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing