We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here one night a few weekends ago. Very comfortable beds with the feather mattress topper and the down comforters. The bathroom was huge with a walk in shower and bath tub. The staff was very friendly. The location is very close to the Hancock building and also the Rush St restaurants and bars. There is also a self parking ramp (2 of them) within the block, so that is great to save some money on parking.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the Hancock Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeyegirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Bonjour Hawkeyegirl2007,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your guest experience on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us last January.
I am very pleased you had a `great' stay with us and that you particularly liked our famous Sofitel MyBeds along with our bathrooms. I am glad to know that you were able to take advantage of one of our rooms overlooking the Jonh Hancock tower.

I hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,125 - 2,131 of 4,473 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Calmflier
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The bathrooms are huge with a full tub with french bath and a seperate shower stall. They do not have tea/ coffee makers in room, I had to call down and ask for a tea kettle ( I had emailed them previous to my stay and requested one with my reservation number), but it was brought in about 5 minutes. They were super attentive to any requests I made. The minibar in room is super small. The hotel has a great location and Trader Joes is 4 blocks directly south of hotel. I walked everywhere downtown. The rooms are actually quiet- better than average sound muffling in hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank book78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Bonjour book78,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your visit last january.
Delighted that you had a great stay and you liked the comfort of our rooms and bathrooms. Thank you for pointing out our wonderful Gold Coast location, just steps from Magnificent Mile shopping, downtown dining and many of the best Chicago tourist attractions.

Along with my fellow Sofitel Ambassadors, I look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.

Best Regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I loved everything about the Sofitel Water Tower, from the warm smell as you arrive to the friendly staff and the great rooms. It is located in a great area that is close to everything near Water Tower.

It was one of the classiest and nicest hotels I have stayed at and my hotwire purchase made it extremely reasonable. I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Bonjour Steve H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
It is such a great pleasure for us to read that you found the staff “friendly” and the location of our hotel “great”. Thank you for complimenting them! I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This a lovely, very modern hotel with bedding that grabs you and almost straight away switches you into sleep mode! The location is in the Near North and is a convenient walk into town down State, Wabash or Rush streets. We found the surrounding area to be safe and hassle free. There are plenty of great little local restaurants nearby, as well as the Chicago Red metro station. The hotel is in a stunning building. The rooms are really lovely, with very modern furnishings and bathrooms. There is free wifi and all other mod cons. We really liked the place and having stayed in other Sofitels, thought that this is one of the better ones. We found the staff to be helpful, but not cloying which can be an issue in these hotels. complimentary tea and coffee is available in the mornings which was a great hand warmer in what was freezing weather! This hotel is a great choice for a comfortable stay in the great city of Chicago.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Bonjour Goldrichie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooms and hotel's appearance exceeded your expectations. In fact, our unique design by architect Jean-Paul Viguier has made us one of the Chicago skyline's 'architectural gems'. Additionally, if you were particularly impressed by our famous Sofitel MyBeds, you can have more information at the SoBoutique, by visiting www.soboutique.com.
Your words are so very generous, and I sincerely thank you!

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours truly,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

the staff was great and helpful in every way. I was on a walker and every one could not have been more helpful. Easy to get to sites form hotel. Easy to walk but also cab also very very available. Restaurents are close.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hopeful29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Bonjour hopeful29,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay amongst us.
I was delighted to read that you spent a good stay with us and you appreciated our great location. It is also a satisfaction to read that our service `could not have been more helpful' to facilitate your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future!

Yours truly,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Arguably the most perfect location in Chicago. The staff and service are well groomed quite dignified in their approach to the guest. Rooms are cleanly and tastefully appointed with comfortable modern touches.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SeattleWineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Bonjour SeattleWineTraveler,

We appreciate the time you spent sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. And it has been a great job of marrying the words!
We are pleased that you found the hotel’s location great, near the famous Michigan Avenue, as well as the design of our rooms and our excellent service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a return trip,

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,029 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,098 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $156 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing