We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$525
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
$215
$193
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$386
$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$279
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,547)
Filter reviews
4,547 results
Traveler rating
3,183
1,057
199
63
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,183
1,057
199
63
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle barprestige suitegreat locationwater towerhancock towerrush stroom servicemichigan avenuecomfortable bedbeautiful hotelturn down servicethe gold coastlarge bathroomtwo blockshigh floormag milemagnificent mile
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,208 - 2,213 of 4,547 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Despite being a bona fide Gold Card holder in Le Club Accor, there was no offer of a welcome drink or gift or a room upgrade as stated in the expected benefits of the program. I was simply told, when presenting my card at check-in, that my Gold Card was already registered. This was a disappointing start to my four-night break.

The hotel itself is decent but nothing special. A 'luxury' room is a bit cosy but has decent views and the bathroom is nice. There is no coffee maker in the room (when it's -15° outside, you could use a cup when getting back) and it has one of those 'touch anything and you'll get charged' electronic minibars which are such a pain (and ridiculously over-priced).

Wifi is free and it should be at that speed. There is the option to upgrade that but it's $15 per day.

So, decent hotel in a decent location but I've stayed in better Accor Hotels where they recognise loyalty.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank colinmh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Bonjour colinmh23,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not completely meet your expectations, but we thank you for your very valuable feedback about your experience. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for missing the opportunity to truly make you feel welcome here at the property as a Le Club Gold member, and one of our Guest Relations representatives will be reaching out to you very shortly to follow up on your stay with us. We hope you provide us the opportunity to better serve you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here in a standard room for one night and it was as advertised on the tin. Good place to stay as it's close to everything. Room was in excellent shape with good linen. Carpet abit dated' didn't eat at the restaurants but it looked pretty busy. Helpful concierge and doormen.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank WorldCosmonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour WorldCosmonaut,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location so close to the Magnificent Mile and other famous Chicago sights and sounds. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future, and please don't hesitate to dine in our wonderful Cafe des Architectes next time you do!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Good location,excellent staff,breakfast was also excellent with a huge choice of delicious options.The room was well equipped with a very comfortable bed.In spite of the central location the room was extremely quiet.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the same direction
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour martin b,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the breakfast in our Cafe des Architectes to be so outstanding. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our hotel, and we are very pleased to see that you were so comfortable in your guest room. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Nice room. Great services and helpful staffs. The hotel is close to all shops. Very conveniently located. I had everything I needed and really enjoyed my stay there. The hotel was a bit pricey but I think it's a good value for everything it offered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshonion830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour freshonion830,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are glad you were able to take advantage our our magnificent location just one block away from the Magnificent Mile. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews