We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to the shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #25 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here in a standard room for one night and it was as advertised on the tin. Good place to stay as it's close to everything. Room was in excellent shape with good linen. Carpet abit dated' didn't eat at the restaurants but it looked pretty busy. Helpful concierge and doormen.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank WorldCosmonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour WorldCosmonaut,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location so close to the Magnificent Mile and other famous Chicago sights and sounds. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future, and please don't hesitate to dine in our wonderful Cafe des Architectes next time you do!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,063 - 2,069 of 4,383 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Good location,excellent staff,breakfast was also excellent with a huge choice of delicious options.The room was well equipped with a very comfortable bed.In spite of the central location the room was extremely quiet.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the same direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour martin b,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the breakfast in our Cafe des Architectes to be so outstanding. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our hotel, and we are very pleased to see that you were so comfortable in your guest room. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Nice room. Great services and helpful staffs. The hotel is close to all shops. Very conveniently located. I had everything I needed and really enjoyed my stay there. The hotel was a bit pricey but I think it's a good value for everything it offered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshonion830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour freshonion830,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are glad you were able to take advantage our our magnificent location just one block away from the Magnificent Mile. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I booked this hotel because it was part of the expedia elite plus program. Coming to Chicago in January, when it is cold and hotels are empty, I had numerous hotel options. The low hotel rate and virtual guarantee of an room upgrade (since it is based on availability) led me to book this hotel. Unfortunately no upgrade was provided to either of my rooms. Further the housekeeping department forgot to clean my room and did not perform a "turndown service with amenity" as promised by the expedia elite plus program. I still have a few more nights so I am hoping that they do a better job going forward. These issues are easily fixable as the hotel is in good shape and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour LeighMiles,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not completely meet your expectations, but we thank you for your very valuable feedback about your experience. As we are currently in direct contact with you after having received your initial review of our hotel, we would like to continue to discuss the matter further along those channels. In any case, we do hope that you provide us with the opportunity to better serve you in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I are branded to Sofitel and it is our hotel of choice. We wanted to experience the Horseshoe Curve so took the train from Harrisburg through Pittsburgh for a winter getaway.

This Sofitel is located a bit out of the center, but close to the Miracle Mile ad close to The Loop, at least when the weather is decent.

We got an upgrade to a Prestige Suite which was larger than our condo. The huge sitting area has an HDTV with Bose sound enhancement and large windows though the view in truth is nothing special.

There is a long hallway with large closets leading into a spacious bath with tub, shower and separate toilet.

The bedroom is immense, with a SoBed king and more drawers than we could possibly fill.

Their bar is busy all the time but we managed a late night drink. It's a nice space with a great list and fair enough markups.

The staff is all friendly and accommodating and we will surely stay here again when we come back to Chicago.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanoiIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour HanoilG,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your latest visit to the property, and even more so because you are such loyal guests! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our hotel, and we are so very pleased to see that you were so comfortable in one of our gorgeously appointed Prestige Suites. We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were in Chicago for a quick weekend and liked the location. We had reserved a Jr Suite which was smaller than rooms we've had at other downtown hotels of comparable price. Also, only one sink - a pet peeve. Linens are Frette (nice), but beds were too soft and cushy and we both had aching backs in the morning. Service was good, as was breakfast - the only meal we ate in the hotel. This hotel wasn't up to the expectations I have given my international experience with Sofitel chain.

Room Tip: If you have a particular view in mind - ask for it in advance. If you want two spaces, get a real su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Bonjour Lisa B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not completely meet your expectations, but we thank you for your very valuable feedback about your experience. We apologize for any discomfort you experienced during your stay that was caused by our beds, and for a future point of reference, we do have specialized inserts that we can place in the beds to give them firmer support. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

If your looking for a hotel with a perfect location to Michigan Avenue, this is it. It is 2 blocks from Water Tower Place. The Potash Grocer is around the corner for the perfect late night snacking and forgotten toiletry. Immediately next door to the west is the Tempo Cafe for the perfect breakfast at a reasonable price. You may want to split the omelette - my husband, who is known for ordering and eating a lot, had leftovers. So the location is perfect.

The hotel is beautiful and the service was great as well. The doormen are gracious and helpful too. The room was spacious with a large bath and all the perks you would expect. The beds had a feather top as well as down comforters so you melt into them and really have no desire to get out.

We were able to book through hotels.com for $130 a night which is a steal for this caliber of a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Bonjour anatravels323,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Thank you as well for your lovely description of our beautifully appointed guest rooms, which I am glad to see you found so very comfortable. We are very pleased to see that you had such a wonderful time here at our hotel – especially seeing as you were able to take advantage of such a great room rate – and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,900 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $145 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing