We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for leisure or business in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #22 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for leisure or business in Chicago”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I spent there six days, four with my wife.
In general the service at the hotel is great, specially front desk employees which are obviously very well trained. House keeping is decent but not that good, a low spot.
If you want rooms with a view, definitely go for high floor and lake view (rooms 8 to 16). We stayed at room 2912 and it had a great view including Hancock tower.
The location is fantastic, only two blocks from Michigan Ave and Oak street. Very good for shopping and restaurants, and with a lovely small square with a tea shop in front.
Appearance is very good in general, and rooms a just fine in size.
THE BED MUST BE LIKE SLEEPING IN A CLOUD. The best I've tryed in the US. This is the second time I stay in a Sofitel in North America (the other was Montreal).
A great experience for a long stay, I will go again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the like have a great view! Ask for higher rooms from 8 to 16 . Rooms 12 are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear pmoral,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the Sofitel SoBed to be so comfortable! I am sorry to hear that our Housekeeping team did not meet your expectations. I have sent you a private message via Trip Advisor in order to ask you for some additional information about your experience. Thank you again for your review, and we hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,920
    1,003
    183
    59
    41
See reviews for
675
1,599
313
1,025
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at The Sofitel for 5 nights in August 2013. Great location with independent cafe outside front door for breakfast. Shopping centre with main shops 500 yds away. Check in was seamless, room was fairly low floor so no view. (Not an issue). Had issue in bathroom and maintenance turned up immediately. Bar in hotel very good, generally busy. Went running most mornings along the lake, easy to get to from hotel. Great to run on the flat! Chicago itself was great, can walk almost everywhere. Bus tour was good. Two day tickets around £60 U.K.for 2 people. Sears tower worth the long wait to stand on the glass ledge. Andy's Jazz Bar enjoyable. Train out to Arlington Park for the races very enjoyable if not profitable. If your going to Chicago would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: High as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear RealHoop,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your 'short break' in the beautiful city of Chicago! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our hotel, and we thank you for complimenting your 'seamless check-in' experience. We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stay at the Sofitel whenever we are in Chicago. Great Location. Great Breakfast. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Great Lobby area. Always a nice vibe going on. Huge bathrooms. Always super clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 212goodreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Christine S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is convenient to several restaurants (Ditka's, McCormick & Schmicks, Gibson's, as well as their own on site, Café des Architectes, shopping on the Magnificent Mile, and public transportation (2 blocks from Red line - Chicago stop). The lobby is very inviting with fresh flowers displayed that were both beautiful and aromatic. Staff was very friendly, from the maids to the doormen. When I made the reservation, I mentioned that we were celebrating my wife's birthday and when we got to our room they had provided a small chocolate dessert, a glass bottle of Evian water and a birthday card from the staff; a pleasant and thoughtful surprise.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. We asked for a room with a great view and were given a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear bpcamp,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be so well-suited to your needs. I am especially pleased to know that we were able to help you celebrate your wife's birthday! We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burradoo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Set back from Lake Michigan, but close to Michigan Avenue, the hotel was home for our 3-day, first ever, visit to Chicago. We walked a lot in the city and were happy to de-lag in a very nice room of a very well run hotel. We were on a high floor with excellent (non-lake) views and were staying on Accor points. The reception staff dealt well with managing minor booking issues and went out of their way to make life easy for us.

The bar is busy, interesting and has a nice buzz during cocktail hour. We went out to dinner each night at local eateries, all within walking distance.

An all-round good experience.

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airedale-Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Airedale-Burradoo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel's location to be so convenient. Thank you for complimenting our reception staff; I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with your booking, but I am relieved to know that we were able to resolve this for you. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I love staying at Sofitel Chicago. It is in the perfect location and the staff is wonderful.
I still wish you had not changed florists in your lobby. I always looked forward to seeing what your former florist created.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Teri S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that you find our location and our staff to be wonderful. Although we have changed our floral company in the last 12 months, we continue to present beautiful original arrangements each week. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to see them in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,792 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,602 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing