We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

From the second you step in, you are in love. Clean, inviting, professional staff make the stay very enjoyable. It even smells amazing. Everywhere you go, you run into a staff that looks like they enjoy their job. They are very friendly. The location is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolagirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Nolagirl2013,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our hotel, and we thank you for complimenting our staff! We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,918
    1,003
    183
    59
    41
See reviews for
675
1,598
313
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I get to Chicago about 6 times a year and usually stay at the Ritz Water tower which is a great hotel and until now, my favorite Chicagoland hotel This two night stay this week the Ritz was filled so I tried the Sofitel. Never stayed at one before and loved it. Great location, very comfortable bed, very clean room and great turn down service. Front desk nice but not quite as incredible and as friendly as the Ritz but liked the bigger coffee cups and service in the lobby in the morning and wide choice of newspapers better here than Ritz. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Kim00,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your first stay with us and that Sofitel exceeded your expectations. We are especially pleased to know that you will be back again! We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have only one negative comment about this property. The closet in our suite was next to miniscule. On the other hand, Hartley Sutcliffe (Assistant Front Desk Manager) and Peter Cremer (Concierge) were more than outstanding and any irritation/annoyance/inconvenience was more than made up by their efficient, friendly and helpful assistance.

Room Tip: Request a "good" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reklaw252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Bonjour Reklaw252,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for mentioning the two outstanding staff members who were able to smooth out any inconveniences or irritations that you experienced during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanteyevka, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was my first time in states. And it was my first expirience at Sofitel. This hotel nice situated in Chicago. Excellent room cleanliness, excellent view from my roon at the 27th floor, excellent breakfast. So, I liked it very much. One minus was that they forgot to give me wellcome drink (I'm silver member) during check in (i offered my card from the beggining). They gave me coupon only when I came back to hotel some days later. In any case exactly I'll recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan_Ogorodov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Bonjour Ivan_Ogorodov,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your first visit to Chicago, and also the United States, as well! Thank you for complementing the outstanding service that our Housekeeping service provides, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the sensational vistas afforded to us by our superb location right in the heart of downtown Chicago. I am disappointed to see that we missed your initial complementary drink vouchers that are standard for our Le Club loyalty program members such as yourself, but I am however glad that we were able to correct the mistake and offer you the vouchers. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay enough to recommend us to your friends, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great hotel with a fantastic central location just two blocks from Michigan Av. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I intend to stay at the hotel again next time I'
m in Chicago! Try also the hotel's breakfast - it's so delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank IdaMa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Bonjour IdaMa08,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very happy that you were able to take advantage of our sensational proximity to the world famous shopping on Michigan Avenue, and also that you had such a delectable breakfast in our restaurant, le Cafe des Architects. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have become a devotee of the Sofitel chain, having alsostayed in your hotel in Washington, DC and in Philadelphia. They are all beautifully appointed (except for the painting in your hotel above the reception area - but taste in art work is personal). I also especially appreciate the quality of the recommendations of your concierge staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank iahowitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Bonjour iahowitt,

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to see that you are a frequent guest in our Sister Sofitel properties throughout North America, and we indeed thank you for your loyalty. I am glad that you were able to use our Concierges to make your stay more diverse and enjoyable, as they are truly such fantastic resources.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago soon!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,790 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,601 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing