We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more for this price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expected more for this price”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is in a good location not far from the Hancock Centre, shops or red line stop. Our room was huge as was the bathroom with a separate bath and shower. It was disappointing not to be able to have recordable tv as we did in our previous Chicago hotel. We paid extra to have a higher floor although we only ended up on floor 15 out of 32 which I do not consider to be especially high and our view was of a building site. The system was being changed over so when we arrived and were told wifi wasn't working. As our 3G was expensive we turned it off and relied on wifi. The next day we tried logging into our wifi again which didn't work. I took my phone down to reception and explained the problem and asked for the code. She refused to tell us and she typed it in my phone. I explained I had an iPad in the room which I also wanted to use for wifi but that didn't seem to matter. We had a drink a couple of times in the bar and the outside area which was lovely and the nibbles were a nice touch although $12 for a wine was quite expensive when I paid $15 for a cocktail at the top of the Hancock. I have never stayed in a Sofitel hotel before and I think for the price we paid the room we requested and wifi were nothing special to ask for. Maybe it was just this particular Sofitel but I would be more tempted to use another chain next time.

Room Tip: Don't bother to pay more for a high room cause you don't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Cath333,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We sincerely regret that your room did not meet your expectations in terms of the floor that you were placed on. I have sent you a private message via Trip Advisor so that I can make sure we offer you a room on the highest floor available during your next stay. I am also sorry to hear that you had issues with wifi and service during this stay. Please rest assured that your comments have been addressed with our Front Desk staff. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,956
    1,013
    188
    61
    42
See reviews for
692
1,621
314
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely rooms and decor as usual with helpful and knowledgeable employees.Luxurious and quality minded environment as all the Sofitels I have had the pleasure and honor to have stayed at.The restaurant and bars were above all my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Bare-with-me,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great service, beautiful rooms and amenities, excellent restaurant and an efficient front desk staff! Check-in was smooth and quick, the concierge was really helpful and the fitness centre was great. We stayed downtown with a group of friends and family and everyone thought this hotel was a great idea. Would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Wendy B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was a guest at the Sofitel Water Tower Location in Chicago IL from Aug 11 -Aug 12 2013. My stay was for pleasure as an overnight birthday gift for myself. My otherwise enjoyable stay was marred by an incident that occurred upon my return to the hotel from celebrating my birthday.

I am an African American woman that was staying alone in my room. Upon my return to the hotel, as I waited for the elevator, I was approached by a male staff member who asked me was I a guest of the hotel. I replied "yes". He then asked for my room number, my ID, as well as my room key. This gentlemen came from behind the concierge desk and left his post to approach me. I took offense to his request for this information, as people were in and out the hotel all night. I informed him that as a woman traveling alone, that I was uncomfortable giving him my room number. Furthermore, that I would not be showing him my room key and ID. Upon my refusal, a second male employee came from behind the desk and joined in on the questioning. I felt intimidated, accosted, and ganged up upon. I have stayed at several hotels in downtown Chicago, and this was my first time experiencing this. I hope this was not done because I am African American, although I was the only African American I saw during my stay. I did not witness anyone else being stopped as I was.

I informed the Manager upon check-out of my experience. He assured me that he would follow up with his staff. However, he did not seem genuinely concerned, was hurried in his conversation, and seemed to just be going through the motions, and saying what he thought I wanted to hear.

I chose the Sofitel to celebrated my last birthday in my twenties based upon the reviews I read online, and its prime location. However my experience was marred, and ended on a sour note. It was very demeaning.

Sincerely,

A disappointed guest

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TCD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Bonjour TCD29,

Thank you for your feedback. At Sofitel, we are always concerned about making each guest feel magnifique at all of our locations worldwide and strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. We are sorry that your experience with us did not fulfill this pledge. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so that I may address your concerns.

Nicolas Pesty,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our third time staying in Sofitel Chicago, all quick getaways, and it was outstanding as always. Got upgraded to 30th floor room with super views, great room. Extremely pleasant and professional staff, courteous service, location is also hard to beat. Sofitel is my favorite hotel chain, and it very rarely disappoints me. Sofitel in Chicago, as well as in D.C. and CA Bay Area are all highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear freiburg13,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your most recent stay and that you were able to take advantage of onan available upgrade to the 30th floor! Thank you for pointing out our other magnifique US locations as well. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,827 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,633 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing