We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Chicago River North”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 1, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank bigeasynd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,309)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 4,309 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at a Sofitel and I am hooked!! Elegant, quiet, refined guests, superb restaurant, really friendly staff, great location (walking distance to the Art Institute!) , modern and comfortable rooms with tons of light and magnificent views! Bonus: an exhibit of photographs of famous women (from Catherine Deneuve to Mariah Carey) by Bensimon, the French photographer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dryridge63131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear dryridge63131,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for mentioning the Gilles Bensimon "Elles" photography exhibit that is currently on display in our lobby! We are also pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant, Cafe des Architectes, and that you found our staff to be so friendly. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for a long weekend in July. The location is very good, a couple blocks west of Michigan Avenue and near plenty of restaurants and shopping. The hotel is quiet, well maintained and staffed with professional, polite people. Our room was a bit small, but still quite comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly.

Last summer and again this summer, the hotel displayed a traveling photography exhibit, which is a really nice touch. We enjoyed taking some time to view the installation, this year by GIlles Bensimon. Even if you are not staying at the hotel, stop by and check it out if you enjoy photography.

Our only issue was that the wait in the lounge for food was really long, 45 minutes for an appetizer. They did apologize sincerely for the wait and the food was good once it arrived.

Overall, a nice place to stay in the Gold Coast area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dagny33028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear soberesident,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take in the traveling Gilles Bensimon photography exhibition that was on display during your stay - the images will be up through September! I am sorry to hear about your long wait in our Le Bar, but I am glad to know that you enjoyed the appetizer and that we apologized for the wait. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team. Thank you again for your review, and we hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I liked this hotel. It's in a great location, near Magnificent Mile & Hancock Center. I found it easy to get to from O'Hare. I used the 'L' and only had to change once. Be careful when using the 'L', many stations have the same name so plan your route carefully.
The hotel looks great and the lobby & outdoor seating area is tres chic! Check in was easy & quick. My room faced the Hancock Center & was nicely appointed. My one gripe is that I reported an exposed wire under the vanity in the bathroom to the Front Desk and nothing was done about it. Water & electricity, not a good mix. That's the reason the hotel is not rated excellent by me.
Room was spacious & bed was comfortable. Frette robes & towels are fabulous. The TV is large & HD. The desk was perfect & the chaise longue faced the fabulous views, including a chink of Lake Michigan. Lanvin toiletries were awesome, but despite asking for extra body lotion, none was provided. Shampoo, conditioner & shower gel were plentiful & enough for two, so I don't know why they didn't provide enough body lotion for two. A tiny oversight, but it leaves the rating at very good rather than excellent, which Sofitel could easily achieve. The room & surroundings of the floor were really quiet at night, which is always good
Lots of restaurants in the vicinity, The Goddess & Grocer was really good for breakfast, I didn't eat at the hotel, the restaurant was really pricey. Mc Cormick & Scmicks is conveniently across the street, if you don't feel like being adventurous or arrive late at night. Again , a tip, I was overcharged there, although refunded, when I pointed it out, but it shouldn't happen.
Rooms are re-serviced in the afternoon, they close the curtains & turn on some nice soothing music. I liked that. The attendant also provides small bottle of Evian. The room is spotless, the attendants do a great job. However the front desk needs to communicate guest requests to them such as exposed wire & extra toiletries.
I would definitely return to the Sofitel, if I were lucky enough to visit the Windy City again.Front desk not conveying my request lets the Sofitel down as I would love to give it excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owiedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Owiedub,

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of one of our rooms with an excellent view of the John Hancock Center. I am sorry that the exposed wire that you reported to the Front Desk was not taken care of immediately. I have sent you a private message through Trip Advisor so that I can get your room number and send our Engineering team to that room. Thank you again for your review, and we hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went into Chicago for our anniversary and stayed at the Sofitel. The staff was friendly and exceedingly concerned we have a pleasant anniversary celebration (we did). The concierges, Peter and Jackie, were very helpful making great suggestions of things to do. We also ate at the hotel's French restaurant - although pricy, the 5 course dinner with the 5 flight wine pairing was well prepared, well presented and a delightful way to spend the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHammel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear JHammel29,

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are honored that you chose Sofitel for your anniversary celebration. We are especially pleased to know that you enjoyed your dinner at our Cafe des Architectes. Thank you for complimenting Peter and Jackie at our Concierge desk - your feedback has been shared with our entire team. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

For a brief stay, this hotel is a good pick. The location is close to shops, the Hancock centre for great views and plenty of fabulous cafes/ restaurants to choose from. There are even some local playgrounds for toddlers/kids nearby, which are great fun.

The rooms were comfortable with nice bathrooms. I think if the carpet wasn't red, they would be ten times better, just a thought! The hotel had the crib ready with a little amenities pack for our toddler and teddy bear which was a nice touch. The service was hit and miss. For example, we got to the hotel after dark and needed to put our baby down to bed so couldn't go out to eat. We had to phone room service to ask for a room service menu to be brought to our room. After two phone calls it arrived, loose menu, not in a compendium. This shouldn't happen, something very basic. We ended up not bothering to order. That being said the concierge were very helpful in sourcing a car for our return journey to the airport, so that was a positive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaM961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear JuliaM961,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our location to be well suited to your needs. I am sorry to hear about your experience having a room service menu delivered to your room; this is not typical of our standards of service to our guests, and we regret your disappointment. However we are pleased to know that your experience with our Concierge service was a positive one and that they were able to assist you . We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After an amazing stay at the Sofitel hotel in New York my wife and I looked for the Sofitel hotel in Chicago for our recent trip. The Water Tower Sofitel hotel lived up to all our expectations set by the New York location and exceeded them. The receptionist gave us a room on the top floor upon request with a great view toward Lake Michigan. The location of the hotel is near many world famous restaurants and shopping and within walking or a short taxi ride from tourist attractions. The concierge was extremely helpful in getting us tickets to a fully booked tour of Wrigley Field. Where ever we travel from now on we will look for a Sofitel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Plccgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear PIccgcs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as at Sofitel New York, and that you found our location to be so well-suited to your needs. Thank you very much for complimenting our Concierge team. We are especially pleased to know that you will be looking to stay in Sofitels during your future travels. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,868 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,662 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $182 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing