We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable contemporary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #25 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Chicago Sofitel. The service was attentive and friendly from the front door to the front desk to the restaurant. Anytime I encountered a staff member in the lobby, hallway, elevator, etc., he/she always said "hello" and asked how everything was with the stay. I made a few requests via email regarding the room, and they honored my requests perfectly. The room was comfortable and very quiet. The view across Chicago was expansive and beautiful. The location is great too, near Michigan Avenue as well as the L-train. I would definitely return to the Sofitel for future trips to Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear NC_Rambler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our staff, and your comments have been shared with our entire team. Thank you for pointing out our excellent Gold Coast location! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,339 - 2,345 of 4,383 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Norm12345
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was our first stay at a Sofitel, and when we booked I noted that we were celebrating our birthdays and anniversary. They upgraded us to a suite! Beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. The restaurant had nice dishes. The employees were all very courteous and nice. The next time I travel, I'll be looking for a Sofitel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetgodivagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear sweetgodivagirl,

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your first visit to Sofitel and that we were able to upgrade you to a suite for your special occasion. We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The first Sofitel we stayed at was in Japan, and we've been hooked since. The Chicago Sofitel has a great riverside view to enjoy during breakfast and before turning in. A short walk from the hotel will find you in a great jazz club, a relaxing lounge, a Chicago Dog stand, and Navy Pier. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room with a river/skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamjanosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear iamjanosik,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location while enjoying the city of Chicago. Thank you very much for providing the tip to future guests about requesting a room on a higher floor for a better view! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Convenient location in Downtown. Walking distance to Michigan Avenue, Rush Street, Navy Pier, etc. Clean and modern property with friendly and helpful concierge staff. Awesome bedding and shower. Parking rather expensive though at $63 per day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Lisa B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Gold Coast location to be so well-suited to your needs. Thank you for your feedback about our overnight valet parking rates. The City of Chicago recently imposed an $8 tax on all overnight parking facilities, which is reflected in our current price. However, we feel that our rates reflect the average downtown Chicago rates, and they are on par with our nearby competitors as well. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great location, and amazing service, all done with that amazing Sofitel style.

Great location close to the great bars, restaurants and shopping in downtown Chicago.

The room was amazing with the wonderfully comfortable Sofitel signature bed linen range.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Jeffrey1771,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location and our ultra comfortable SoBed! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Sleek, modern, wonderful beds and rooms, great shower, well managed, extremely helpful concierge, lovely bar, and excellent restaurant. Add that is close by to all shopping and dozens of wonderful restaurants and it is the ONLY place Ricky Bob will stay in Chicago. One of the fifteen best hotels in the US. Also a terrific value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear rickybob,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location during your stay. Thank you very much for complimenting our Concierge, bar and restaurant as well. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future, Ricky Bob!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,901 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $143 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing