We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Awesome Days in Chicago!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 Awesome Days in Chicago!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Convenient location in Downtown. Walking distance to Michigan Avenue, Rush Street, Navy Pier, etc. Clean and modern property with friendly and helpful concierge staff. Awesome bedding and shower. Parking rather expensive though at $63 per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Gold Coast location to be so well-suited to your needs. Thank you for your feedback about our overnight valet parking rates. The City of Chicago recently imposed an $8 tax on all overnight parking facilities, which is reflected in our current price. However, we feel that our rates reflect the average downtown Chicago rates, and they are on par with our nearby competitors as well. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,872
    995
    181
    58
    41
See reviews for
666
1,577
303
1,010
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great location, and amazing service, all done with that amazing Sofitel style.

Great location close to the great bars, restaurants and shopping in downtown Chicago.

The room was amazing with the wonderfully comfortable Sofitel signature bed linen range.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Jeffrey1771,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location and our ultra comfortable SoBed! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
298 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Sleek, modern, wonderful beds and rooms, great shower, well managed, extremely helpful concierge, lovely bar, and excellent restaurant. Add that is close by to all shopping and dozens of wonderful restaurants and it is the ONLY place Ricky Bob will stay in Chicago. One of the fifteen best hotels in the US. Also a terrific value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear rickybob,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location during your stay. Thank you very much for complimenting our Concierge, bar and restaurant as well. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future, Ricky Bob!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently spent several days at the Sofitel. The room was modern with a huge window (loved the comfy bed). The bathroom was gigantic with both a tub and separate shower. Nice amenities included. I appreciated the free wi-fi in the room and the quiet A/C. The only disappointment was no coffee maker in the room and very expensive parking in a garage around the corner of the hotel. That hurt an otherwise great stay.

Room Tip: A higher room looking East will give you a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mls_sls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear mls_sls,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the view from your room's window. Regarding your request for in-room coffee, we do have complimentary coffee makers available upon request. You can request this upon check-in during your next stay, and after that a coffee maker will automatically be placed in your room prior to arrival.

Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

wonderful stay! great location, staff was outstanding especially the concierge(s) who helped me with thanksgiving plans later in the year....I think his name was peter and the lovely lady that was working with him. they even tracked me down to get my correct email after it bounced back and they didn't even have my name and room number....that is service! had drinks in the bar one early evening...very nice with great service. room was nice, bathroom very nice, a little warm...but not too warm to have to move to another room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank davidnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear davidnola,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Concierge team to be so helpful. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our staff. Please rest assured that your review has been shared with Peter and the Concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel and the view from our room. The service was excellent and the front desk was efficient, polite and helpful. Our room was very nice and we loved the big windows looking out at the Chicago buildings. It was also a very quiet room and we never heard anyone else in the building even though it was the 4th of July! Overall the hotel has a great location and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Annie J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of one of our quiet rooms on a high floor. Thank you for complimenting our Front Desk staff! We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,723 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
1,573 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing