We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort on the Cote d' Or ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank EllsworthStatler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,386 - 2,392 of 4,407 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights in what this hotel classifies as a luxury room, on a high floor (28th) with a king bed. I'd describe it as comfortable rather than luxurious, being quite compact and furnished simply, with a beech finish predominating. The marble bathroom was also modest in size, and I imagine an obese guest might have a tight squeeze in the narrow shower stall and have to use the separate bath instead. Fortunately, we had all the room and comfort we needed. Everything in our room was in good repair, so I saw no need for a renovation as mentioned by a previous TA reviewer who clearly had a different room (admittedly, however, the 32" flat-screen TV no longer qualifies as large).

We were particularly impressed by the window that occupied almost the entire exterior wall of our room, with a breathtaking view of neighbouring skyscrapers. The Sofitel is itself a beautiful and functional high-rise; notably, it's well stocked with elevators, so we never had to wait more than a few seconds for one to arrive, whether ascending or descending.

One area in need of improvement is internet access. The hotel offers free and fee-based connection options. The in-room guest-services guide mentions only the latter, which I didn't try as I have come to expect free internet in better hotels, and I resent being nickel-and-dimed for what should nowadays be considered a standard amenity. Even connecting by Ethernet cable instead of wi-fi, I found the room's free internet to be excruciatingly slow. It also required establishing a new login every 24-hour period, which was a bit annoying.

During our stay we paid two visits to the hotel's Le Bar, which has an excellent selection of interesting cocktails. Nice design and lighting, and the choice of indoor or outdoor seating. The bar menu is very limited after 10 pm—even a couple more items would be welcomed by night owls.

The staff were all pleasant and helpful. If you'd like to stay near the Magnificent Mile, the Sofitel would make a very convenient choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear WMarkR,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for complimenting our location, great views and our staff. We thank you for your feedback about our wifi. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This location is 2 blocks off of N. Michigan Ave. Close to Water Tower mall. A few blocks to lake. No stop lights, just stop signs and quiet less trafficky neighborhood. Not an area with trendy bars or loud nightlife. Just quiet residents and tourists. We noticed that quite a lot of the other guests were European, a few Asian, and other American tourists. We are from the Chicago area, just away for a weekend so needed a good location. Room was spectacular, though a bit smaller than we thought. Bathroom large, with shower and separate European style tub. The tub was LARGE with sprayer, so bring bubbles! Main lobby very elegant, with big couches and bar & restaurant. This hotel is not a hub of nightlife, just a quieter place that we found charming. Staff was excellent and VERY friendly. For the price, this was a great deal. Sleep quality excellent, no street noise or noise from other rooms. (I ordered a fan for my room on booking.com, and it was in my room upon arrival!?

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2509. This was a king bed with desk and small chair. The view was of the John Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank truparkhaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear truparkhaysmom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be so well-suited to your needs.

Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Sofitel Chicago dozens of times over 10 years and I have always been delighted. The location couldn't be better for touring or for business. The hotel is elegant and hip, without being stuffy or trendy. Rooms are lovely and light, many with dramatic views. Everything is spotless and comfortable. The staff is wonderful. Always helpful and friendly. Nice restaurant, especially for breakfast. I couldn't recommend this hotel--and this chain--more highly. Frequent travels at Accor are treated very well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hvrvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear hvrvt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoy staying at our hotel and have been coming back for 10 years! We thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon to our property.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location, intriguing architecture, very nice deco, great service, excellent bedding - this is how it should be.

All hotel staff were very agreeable and helpful from the moment i entered to the moment i left.

I had an upper floor room, which was very spacious and immaculately clean. Nespresso coffe maker a nice plus. The bathroom was huge, very well equipped and nice deco.

The bar was a little cramped and somewhat noisey, but cocktails were good and staff once again very efficient. There is an outside seating area with heating on Chesnut, so when its fine, i guess this would be a good spot to relax.

Lots of options on the breakfast menu, food was good and so was the service. There are too many good restaurants in the area though so i didn't try diner. Maybe if I came again during winter!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Dave Y,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are especially pleased to hear that you will come again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I'm not sure this is the type of place I'd normally stay - because it's very upscale (although the room decor is a bit "90's"; tasteful and very functional/comfortable, but has a sort of 90's modern feel).

Pros: Very clean/well maintained at every detail. Extraordinarily welcoming and accommodating staff - you pretty much can't find better than this.

Cons: Windows don't open; a bit too posh for my tastes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJL60654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear PJL60654,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be so welcoming and accommodating. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Close to lots of cafes and restaurants and a couple of shopping centres. Also relatively close to the lake where there is a great running and cycling path in both directions. The rooms are to a high business standard as is the rest of the hotel. Situated on a corner near a small park (taken over by a tea room) the hotel has a small amount of ground floor outside space which is perfect for breakfast or an evening drink. Taxis are easy to obtain with usually a few waiting around the corner. The French experience seems to be limited to Bonjour instead of Hello and other similar phrases but that doesn't matter at all. Recommended

Room Tip: Chicago traffic can be noisy with quite a few sirens going off, so pick a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Yorkie8,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be so well-suited to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,011 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,549 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $143 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing