We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
1 review
“Chicago Oasis”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Sofitel Gold Coast. On top of the fantastic location, just far enough away from the noise and bustle of Michigan Avenue and Rush Street to walk to. Wonderful lobby, super fast elavators, great indoor and patio bar, and on-site restaurant Cafe des Architectes is superb. Cleaning staff is very professional and efficient. If the City of Chicago would ever finish working on the adjacent Connors Park that would be a huge bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ken_Hackathorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear vrv2764 ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our location to be so ideal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,872
    995
    181
    58
    41
See reviews for
666
1,577
303
1,010
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for one evening on business trip. Excellent location, good facility with nice atmosphere and good rooms. Concierge is very good also. Excellent value for money from an upper end business point of view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pollardbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear pollardbill,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great location, from the hotel you can go walking to shops,restaurants and museums.
Comfy rooms with all amenities, free wi-fi access, ipod station, safe, Lanvin Toiletries and bathrobe from italian brand "Frette". Very high standard of quality.
Staff really helpful and nice.
"Cafe des arichitectes" for Breakfast or lunch: very good food and service.
"La Bar": very good choice of cocktails.
Smal but really nice the fitness room furnished of water, towels and fruits.
will be back and recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelie77Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear amelie77paris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our Lanvin bath products and Frette linens. We are especially pleased to hear that you will be back to stay again. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
226 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at this property on business travel and was very happy with my experience. Excellent room service, front desk service, location, and all staff. The room was wonderful and the bathroom was fabulous. I was on a higher floor so I did not hear any city noise.

I have nothing negative to say. I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear virginiagamer,

Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago. We are thrilled to know that you loved your stay and that you were able to take advantage of a quiet room on a high floor. Above all, we are pleased that you would like to come back! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The rooms are big and comfortobale, the bar is very nice with excellent service, concierge is absolutely excellent and very knowledgable. The hotel is near the magnificent mile and in walking distance of many attractions

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Henry E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Concierge service to be so knowledgeable. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and our excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Last fall we stayed at the Sofitel in Washington. We found the room and restaurant to be superior to the Sofitel in Chicago. The service at both hotels was very good. The room in Chicago was small and the restaurants menu was limited and over priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jws742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear jws742,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This really is an excellent hotel! It is clean, perfect location, easy to access, close to attractions. The curb service and bellmen are awesome - definitely made us feel welcome and cared for. The bed, however, was exceptionally soft. I didn't sleep well and had a sore back the next morning. Thankfully, shower is wonderful, bathroom was spotless. Service at breakfast was abominable - very friendly, but very slow. May have been situational rather than a chronic problem. Overall, a bit pricey for the value, but I would still stay there again because the positive aspects outweighed the discomforts (except the soft bed!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JustOccasional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear JustOccasional,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be ideal. I am sorry to find out that your found the service to be slow in our Cafe during your stay; your feedback is important as it helps us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,722 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
1,573 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing