We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Chicago Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Springfield,IL 62712
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant Chicago Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I needed a place to stay in Chicago for our daughter's graduation, so we made a bid on Priceline and were matched with the Water Tower Sofitel.This is a luxury level hotel so there's no need to be surprised by the prices. Everything is expensive. The wine is marked up a good $5 per glass compared to other nearby properties. Parking is $47 per day but with in/out privileges. As another reviewer said, that's the price you pay for staying in this location, The hotel is beautiful inside and out. Our room was very spacious with a great view. The bathroom was also spacious with a separate bath and shower. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.All of the staff we encountered were very courteous and helpful.It was really a pleasure to stay here. The only downside was the cost which is to be expected. The only way could stay here again would be to get a great deal like we did through Priceline. A very, very nice Chicago hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear KirkMary,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of a low rate online. For special promotions and package rates, you can also visit the Sofitel website for the latest deals. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! Your feedback has been shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,804
    980
    177
    54
    37
See reviews for
653
1,538
294
987
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful hotel, good location, great view, extremely friendly staff and nice complimentary services (free bottled water in the rooms, umbrellas, free internet in the rooms). A must-do in Chicago. Loved this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Mushu2009,

Bonjour! And thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and consider Sofitel a Chicago "must-do!" Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Kevin the bartender in Le Bar was entertaining and fun. He introduced us to everyone sitting around us at the bar and we ended up staying 4 hours. The concierge suggested a wonderful place for lunch. I had 2 rooms and they were both immaculate. All-in-all another excellent weekend with Sofitel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ljdirig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear ljdirig,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the Concierge recommendation for a lunch destination, and please rest assured we have also shared your excellent feedback about Le Bar with Kevin and his team. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Located at the north end of the Magnificent Mile it is not exactly central but there are lots of good places on State and Rush to keep you occupied. Room was very comfortable and quiet (apart from the load noise of other doors closing). Restaurant and bar were very good with excellent staff. A bit pricey but worth it if you can afford it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Liberton,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Sofitel is one of the world's finest hotel chains. The Sofitel Water Tower is another example of the standards that Sofitel has set for truly luxury hotels. Sofitel gets everything right. The quality is far better than that at the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank larry138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear larry138,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for, therefore your feedback is extremely important. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Front staff really welcoming. I just dont know what happened to my membership points. They told me the points were logged in but I have yet to receive a confirmation email. The hotel's location is its best asset. It is near everything and really accessible to the L, taxis and busses. The rooms were clean, and were serviced twice a day to ensure tidiness and replenished toiletries (Lanvin!) It was really a luxurious stay, starting from the Evian to the plush slippers. Our stay at this hotel made our first Chicago trip memorable.

Room Tip: higher level rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detcabmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Detcabmd,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you felt so welcomed by our staff and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you are missing your Le Club points from the stay. I have sent you a message via Trip Advisor so that I can obtain your reservation details, and I will resolve the matter for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property again in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel one night, as part of a destination bachelorette party. However, I would like to say that our party consisted of professional 30-somethings and we were NOT a loud, obnoxious group. The Sofitel definitely isn't the place for that.

It is a beautiful hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, it has a chic, modern, European elegance, and is in a great location. We had rooms on the 11th floor. I loved the night views of the Chicago skyline. Beautiful! One of our rooms was a corner suite, and it had floor to ceiling windows that provided an especially stunning view. Although, all of the rooms have a huge picture window.

The beds were very comfortable, the bellhops were helpful with luggage and calling taxis. I have no complaints and hope to stay there again when I return to Chicago!

Room Tip: The corner suites have floor to ceiling windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear MrsAgent,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the bachelorette party was a success! Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing