We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean, Perfect Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a beautiful, modern hotel located in the perfect location close to museums, restaurants and shopping. It was easy to walk everywhere and be in the middle of downtown Chicago. I loved the modern look and aesthetic of the hotel and especially loved the large shower and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Gold Coast location to be so well suited to your needs. We are especially pleased to know that you loved your room and that you were comfortable during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,456 - 2,462 of 4,406 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Soitel was very good, it would get a great if they had queen beds in the double rooms in place of the full size beds. Restaurant was excellent, we only had breakfast there, but it was a great way to start the day. Great location, we were on the 20th floor so no noise at all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear jartraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

Our relationship with our guests is of utmost importance to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but wish we could have stayed longer! The hotel is flawless. The interior is gorgeous, and our room was clean, comfortable and very spacious. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We had room service breakfast and it was excellent. The hotel is in a great location also.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virgo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear virgo05,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was without doubt one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. Staff were helpful and courteous. lovely interior and location was superb. There is very little I could criticize to be honest. We only had breakfast in the hotel but again that was excellent quality. And good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Mark C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and our excellent location. We are especially pleased to know that you found the breakfast to be of such high quality at our Cafe des Architectes. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

THINGS YOU WANT TO KNOW:
1. In room safe - (Located in the closet)
2. Refrigerator (However, it is filled to the brim with liquor and food that they charge you for)
3. NO Coffee/Tea Maker - however, complimentary coffee or tea offered in the morning in the restaurant
4. Iron and ironing board
5. 1 large flat screen TV
6. Hair dryer (stored under the bathroom sink)
7. Floor length mirror - Closets are mirrored as well
8. Makeup mirror in the bathroom (but it is not lighted and I had difficulty getting the light to shine equally on both sides of my face. The mirror is attached on the far side of the vanity in the bathroom)
9. No ceiling fan
10. No heater in bathroom
11. Has stand up shower and separate tub
12. Robes and slippers provided (hanging in bathroom and closet)
13. Closet has light that comes on when the door is opened
14. Workout room - includes treadmills, elliptical and weights - TV’s did not work on all the equipment - Headphones with changeable foam earphone covers provided - Large bowl of fresh fruit is kept in workout room along with towels and water dispenser
15. Great location - within walking distance of almost everything downtown
16. Beds extremely soft with no top sheet (done European style)
17. Phone in bathroom
18. Bathroom light switch doubles as a night lite

DISCUSSION:

Service provided by this hotel is topnotch. For example my remote control for the TV did not work properly and so on my way to dinner I went by the front desk and asked to exchange it. I offered to pick up the new one on my way back from dinner. Well they wouldn’t hear of that. They insisted that a new one would be delivered to my room and indeed it was there by the time I got back from dinner. Also, I called down to the front desk to ask a question about the conference I was attending and the phone was answered with “How may I help you (insert last name). In other words they make an effort to use the names of their guests. Nice touch.

As mentioned above there is NO coffee maker in the room. However, they do offer complimentary coffee and/or tea down in the restaurant in the morning. This is very inconvenient, in my never to be humble opinion. It means I have to get dressed, put on my makeup, all out of courtesy to the other guests in the hotel of course, before I can have a cup of coffee. A luxury hotel should have a coffee maker available in the room or have free coffee provided by room service available upon request.

The beds are ultra-soft and only have a duvet as a cover with no top sheet. In the middle of the night I found myself sweating bullets. I couldn’t kick off the duvet as I would have had no cover. I had to get up and turn the air conditioning to freezing in order to stay under the duvet and covered. I know that this is very European but I found it annoying. It also makes me wonder how often they change the duvet cover! Ewwww!

All in all, a great hotel with style and class.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mylisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Mylisa1,

Thank you for your detailed and positive review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and the service that you received here. Regarding your comments about the availability of an in-room coffee maker, we do have complimentary coffee makers available for our guests upon request, just ask during check-in on your next stay.

Regarding the bedding, all of our beds are prepared All of our beds are prepared in a European style with a duvet and duvet cover only. All of our bedding is cleaned after each guest's departure or daily, if the guest requests for us to do so. We are happy to make up your bed with a top sheet upon request.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope that you will present us with the opportunity to weclome you back to Sofitel Chicago in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed many of the features of Sofitel Water Tower that brings us back. But this time the room seem tired and we moved to another room. We tried a number of rooms (I went to them to see how they were). One room had a very strong smell which was either the A/C or someone left a hunk of cheese in the room). Nevertheless, we settled on 3002. Frankly, I think their eastern views are overrated. They are all overbuilt and the western exposures with sunsets are much better. At any rate, everyone on the staff was superb. The concierge recommended Mangle's florist in the Drake for a bouquet and it was astounding. In the end, I shall return. A very well run property with lots of pluses.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Joseph K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you are a returning guest and that you have enjoyed the hotel and our staff during your visits. I am sorry to hear that on this most recent trip you encountered an unpleasant odor in your guest room. This is not at all typical of our standards of housekeeping, and we regret your disappointment. However, I am glad that you enjoyed 3002 and the great sunset view from that side of the hotel. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Unbeatable location. Nice room, great bed. Clean, new, fresh, sleek. Nice little restaurant with outdoor sidewalk seating. Nothing I'd consider overpriced (Five dollars for a whole pot of French-Press, for instance)
And terrific service from EVERYONE we encountered.
Well done Sofitel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear DrGeis,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the service to be so outstanding. We are especially pleased to know that you were able to enjoy the just-opened patio at Cafe des Architectes! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Chicago in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,011 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,548 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $143 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing