We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down a notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed many of the features of Sofitel Water Tower that brings us back. But this time the room seem tired and we moved to another room. We tried a number of rooms (I went to them to see how they were). One room had a very strong smell which was either the A/C or someone left a hunk of cheese in the room). Nevertheless, we settled on 3002. Frankly, I think their eastern views are overrated. They are all overbuilt and the western exposures with sunsets are much better. At any rate, everyone on the staff was superb. The concierge recommended Mangle's florist in the Drake for a bouquet and it was astounding. In the end, I shall return. A very well run property with lots of pluses.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Joseph K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you are a returning guest and that you have enjoyed the hotel and our staff during your visits. I am sorry to hear that on this most recent trip you encountered an unpleasant odor in your guest room. This is not at all typical of our standards of housekeeping, and we regret your disappointment. However, I am glad that you enjoyed 3002 and the great sunset view from that side of the hotel. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,309)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,371 - 2,377 of 4,309 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Unbeatable location. Nice room, great bed. Clean, new, fresh, sleek. Nice little restaurant with outdoor sidewalk seating. Nothing I'd consider overpriced (Five dollars for a whole pot of French-Press, for instance)
And terrific service from EVERYONE we encountered.
Well done Sofitel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear DrGeis,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the service to be so outstanding. We are especially pleased to know that you were able to enjoy the just-opened patio at Cafe des Architectes! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Chicago in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Love this hotel.

Having recently moved back to Chicago, I stayed at the Sofitel many times as I traveled through on business and leisure... and have never been disappointed. The hotel is beautifully appointed... and has a hip feel... but it's location that can't be beat. Smack in the middle of the Gold Coast, you are walking distance to many of the city's best restaurants, Michigan Avenue shopping, you name it. Additionally the rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. There is a terrific restaurant in the lobby (frequented by many Chicagoans as the food is terrific) and a high end bar that also serves snacks.

Couple all of that with excellent service and you have a winner... I recommend this hotel to many friends who visit, and they love it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geauxtger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear geauxtger,

Thank you very much for you review, and welcome back to Chicago! We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that you are recommending us to out of town guests. Thank you! We are especially pleased to know that you recommend Cafe des Architectes and Le Bar. We look forward to see you soon at either spot!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and we enjoyed every minute of it. The service was excellent. The rooms were very clean, and spacious. The bathroom was large and comfortable. Everything here was great. I can't think of one thing to complain about. Great walking distance to everything too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear allison1127,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be excellent. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

sofitel is new, with bright rooms, really comfortable beds. Bar and restaurant for drinks and breakfast were great. It was nice to be greeting en francais by the warm and capable staff. Concierge offered great shopping trips which hurt our wallets ! I'd stay here again easily.

Room Tip: do be sure to have breakfast in the cafe
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerrisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear FerrisToronto,

Thank you very much for your review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be so well-suited to your needs. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On checking into the watermark the lobby has a very warm and inviting feel to it. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is ever an issue. The rooms are very comfortable and homely.

If you want somewhere near the navy pier then it's only a few blocks away and it's close to some great restaurants and Michigan Avenue. It is a bit out of the hustle and bustle and a bit if a walk to Millennium Park but its a pleasant walk.

I spent 3 weeks traveling America and the service at this hotel, follow up and after stay communication was the best I received from the 5 or 6 places I stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agq1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear agq1981,

Thank you very much for your review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our lobby and staff to both be so warm and inviting. We are proud to know that after your three-week American holiday, the service at Sofitel was so memorable for you. We thank you again for your stay and for your review, and we hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and I will look forward to going back again. It is in an upscale part of town (you know you're in a good area when there's a Bentley dealership around the corner) with a lot to do in the evenings. The hotel is very stylish and a cut above most hotels in the same price bracket. Rooms are decent size and very nicely appointed. The lobby has a nice hushed and calm vibe and the staff are smiley and helpful. I find it to be quite a bargain too as the room rates are usually no more than some much 'lesser' hotel chains in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Wayne K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay so much, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,868 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,662 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $182 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing