We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! Great nights sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Great nights sleep!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything promised and more. Really comfortable and clean with great service everywhere you look.

The bed is extremely comfortable I could have easily stayed in there all day.

It is two blocks back from the magnificent mile which is within Walking distance. The bus line and train station are all nearby for getting around Chicago.

Enjoy your stay in Chicago :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelPiero10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear DelPiero10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Gold Coast location ideally suited to your needs. Thank you for complimenting our ultra comfortable SoBed - we are glad to know that you slept so well while here as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,872
    995
    181
    58
    41
See reviews for
666
1,577
303
1,010
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A fantastic weekend at the Sofitel in Chicago. The location is perfect for exploring Chicago. All the staff from the valet guys, the check in staff, concierge staff, bar staff and housekeeping are friendly, helpful ad really professional, nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms and bathrooms are spacious with modern decor and the night time turn down service was a nice touch The breakfast was really lovely with it being table service and not buffet style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JHewitt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Jan H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon to our property.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just arrived home after 4 nights in Chicago and cannot fault the Sofitel. It is located in a lovely neighbourhood just off the Magnificent Mile close to the John Hancock building and the Water Tower, with plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. We were delighted to be given a room on the 29th floor with great views across the city (in fact we saw the top of the Trump Tower get struck by lightning from our room one night!).

Staff are friendly, polite and helpful, especially the concierge who provided good restaurant tips and plasters/gauze/tape/antiseptic so that I could patch myself up after taking a tumble on Chicago's streets. They were also happy to check us in online for our flights and print our boarding passes. The beds are super comfy and the bathroom huge, with separate shower and bath and lovely products. We enjoyed the complimentary take away tea and coffee provided for guests each morning and found plenty of breakfast/lunch treats available in the Goddess and Grocer deli just around the corner from the hotel.

We visited the restaurant for breakfast once and were a little surprised at the terse attitude of the person waiting our table, who seemed a little put out that we only wanted water with our breakfast and promptly brought our bill when we had barely started eating. However he was very much the exception to the whole Sofitel experience and to rate the whole stay as any less than 5 stars would not be reflective of the wonderful time we had in this hotel. Will absolutely come and stay here again as I hope to come back to Chicago one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - the views are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reachforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Reachforthesky,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your four-night stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of a great Chicago skyline view from the 29th floor. We are also glad to hear that our Gold Coast location suited your needs and that you found our staff to be friendly and polite. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here overnight for business in February, very accomodating and professional staff. Liked the separate shower and bath-tub feature as well. Very nice view of downtown as well from the 18th floor that I stayed on. My only issue was I wanted to watch the Bulls-Cavaliers basketball game that night and relax in the room, and the cable system they had didn't have the local Chicago sports channel nor NBA-TV which was also televising the game that night.

Room Tip: No pool or hot-tub were available at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Joe B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be so helpful and accommodating. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to see your game on television in your room; if this happens again, our concierge will be happy to find out where the game is showing and direct you there. Thank you again for your review and feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 10 times. The staff is exceptional. Location perfect. Lobby and bar are buzzing. Furniture needs some modernizing, but this should not be a deterrent to staying there. There are a zillion nearby restaurants, great shopping within short walking distance to Michigan Ave and further away to the Art Institute (a couple of miles away). There is a local upscale grocery around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill302_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Jill302_13,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that this most recent stay was no exception. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Sofitel!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this hotel because of other reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed for three nights. Check-in was great with the receptionist coming out from behind the desk to hand over our room keys which I thought was a great touch. Our room was bright and airy with a lovely marble bathroom and a separate shower cubicle. It had excellent wardrobes and storage and good mirrors. The bed was super. I should also mention that the floor had a dark orangey red carpet which was vacuumed every day. Any speck of fluff was vacuumed up.. We had not paid for a room on a higher floor so we were on 7th floor. This was excellent and we didn't feel that we needed a higher floor. Our deal didn't include breakfast but we ate in the Cafe des Architectes every morning anyway paying about £15 a head. It was worth it. Everything is cooked fresh and brought to your table - not a buffet. We had wonderful pancakes on one day.
On our last evening we had the three course dinner in this cafe as well. 39 dollars each for lovely food. The wine flight was a good idea. A smaller amount of 3 different wines for 18 dollars.

I must mention the concierge service. We had dealings with three different people and they were all excellent. - knowledgeable, friendly and witty. Other staff also made our stay. Waiters in the restaurant welcomed us back in the mornings.

Floral displays in the foyer were beautiful. All in all a great hotel with no faults we could see. We would definitely go back if we are in Chicago again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMcC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear LMcC_11,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our other rave reviews proved themselves to be true! Thank you for complimenting our hotel room amenities, beds, housekeeping services and meals at our restaurant. It is always a pleasure to receive such excellent feedback. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel , with french charming.
The rooms and restrooms are large and all the bath products are Hermés .Helpful staff and concierge .Lovely city with good places to be visited , restaurants , shows and always good exbittions at the museuns .
Great location , close to shopping streets , restaurants and coffee shops .You can visit many places , just walking a few steps from the hotel.
I w'd like to stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybele d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear cybeled,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

Our relationship with our guests is of utmost importance to us. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,720 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
1,573 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing