We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel - luxury with a french touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #25 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - luxury with a french touch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed there for one night only and had an excellent time.

The hotel (either brand new, or newly renovated, or perfectly maintained) is located just off of the magnificent mile, a short walk from the Hancock tower - a great area to stay, whether you're coming on business or just visiting: plenty to see around, many restaurants, and a different atmosphere from the Loop.

Check in was great, efficient - seamless service.
There is a cafe inside the hotel, and room service is available 24/7 - although we didn't try any - as well as a gym on the second floor.
The hall, corridors were beautiful - with a very European touch, very different from what we usually get to see in North America.

We got a King room on the 17th floor - stunning view!
Room was spacious, plenty of light, bathtub + shower, hot water and pressure all the time, great toiletries...
The only thing I could "complain" about was that our room was located close to the elevators, so there was quite some "traffic" in the corridors.

I sure would recommend the hotel to anyone planning a trip to the Windy City.
For sure, it's not adapted to all budgets.
But, I would definitely consider coming back, as in this case, the extra money really brings extra comfort and quality to a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear mrmnem,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be so convenient. Thank you for your recommendation! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,834
    985
    178
    57
    40
See reviews for
658
1,559
298
995
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for the first time last weekend and would highly recommend it. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed, the decor was modern yet comfortable and the service was top notch. We especially enjoyed the bar. Great atmosphere for pre-dinner drinks with comfy seating areas and attentive wait staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaT736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Brenda T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our Le Bar. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to both in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is in a great location near the top end of the magnificent mile just by the Water Tower. It is a lovel building with a pretty atrium, friendly and helpful staff. The room was fantastic. Huge and spacious on the 31st floor with views of Lake Michigan, comfy bed, a shower and a bath, great desk, free wi-fi, nice products. The housemaids were also great and would pop in with water in the evening and turn down your bed if you wished.

There were three negatives for me. Firstly there was no pool despite being advertised as having one on Expedia. Secondly the gym was tiny and a bit squashed together - just a bunch of kit in a couple of small rooms really. Certainly not up to the standards of the rest of the place.
Finally and most frustratingly, there were no coffees or teas in the room. This meant you either had to call room service and pay expensive rates or as I did, you would have to pop out to a local store. This is particularly frustrating when you have travelled from Europe as you were invariably awake at crazy times and in dire need of a coffee. Would have been so simple just to provide this and so welcome.

Unsurprisingly the whole place had quite a French influence and I noticed quite a few French airline staff arriving from time to time.

All in all it was lovely, but I wouldn't go back because of the gym and lack of pool and coffee!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear sidstone,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and your room. We are sorry that you were disappointed that we do not have a pool. We will follow up with Expedia to be sure this is not being advertised on their website. Regarding your comment about in-room coffee, we do have complimentary coffee makers available upon request, and we are happy to place one in your room prior to your arrival if you request this during the reservation process. You can also request this at check in. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future!

Sincerly,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice stay here. The value is pretty good for a nice hotel in a great location. We made good use of the Red line stop about 2 blocks away. The door and desk staff were very friendly, and the concierge was very helpful as well. Next time we go to Chicago, I'll definitely look into staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ckhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear ckhusker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Sofitel Chicago. We had a great experience and there was fantastic value in the park & stay package. It included parking and breakfast. The breakfast was nice, because its not limited, you can order anything from the menu, and the parking saved $50 per day.
My only complaint, ever so slight, would be that the wifi was extremely slow....could be bad if you were staying and working via wifi. Other than that minor complaint, I would definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jnew283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear jnew283,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of one of our package deals, always available on our web site. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel again in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for New Years Eve. Great hotel in a fantastic location. Staff always ready to please. Have stayed here several times and always the same standard. If parking there, be sure to call well ahead to get your car as it takes a long time. Bar is wonderful, restaurant much the same. For another solid restaurant choice for breakfast, try the famed Tempo cafe just up the street to the west and on the corner. Sofitel is always a winner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_II_Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mom_II_Boys,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your New Year's stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our staff to be so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here in November of 2012 over American Thanksgiving and was absolutely blown away by the quality of this hotel. It is clean, modern, well-designed and beautiful. The rooms are stunning and the bathrooms are enormous. The staff was impeccable, room service was delicious, check-in was fast and the dining options within the hotel are great. The location could not be more ideal - don't hesitate to book here! I promise you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSpaceCadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear StephanieN89,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing