We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hip and comfortable”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A fine hotel in a handy location near other hotels, shopping and transportation. Some great views, especially if you are high enough to see Lake Michigan. Floors start on six, and some look at parking garage or at a rather shabby apartment building across the street. See the room first if view matters. Free wifi in room and the business center is free, surprisingly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our excellent Gold Coast location. Thank you for providing a tip about the better views on our higher floors to future guests. We are always happy to accommodate this request whenever possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,803
    980
    176
    54
    37
See reviews for
653
1,537
293
987
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was my third time at the Water Tower and it lived up to previous experiences in terms of quality and standards. As a regular Sofitel user, I value their approach to service and customer care. The Water Tower is a stylish, popular establishment and the rooms are well equipped. I would recommend a higher floor, due to road noise and ask for a room away from the elevator area as that can be noisy. The restaurant is smallish and can be crowded at breakfast time. I did not use it in the evenings. The bar is a popular after work venue and can be busy - this is not a bad thing, just a comment. For a reasonably well located, good quality hotel, which supports both business and social guests, I would recommend the Sofitel Water Tower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Frank C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you were back for your third stay with us and that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay in the very near future!

Kind regards,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Sofitel is conveniently located to the shops and eateries and just a short walk away from the storied Michigan Avenue.

Rooms are well-appointed and generously sized (larger than the W rooms in the city). Bath amenities are from Lanvin. YAY!

The hotel bar and recent are quite good and have very healthy offerings.

Service was good and the concierge was well-informed and helpful.

A definite recommend for those seeking a boutique like hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Girlparadise,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your room and that you found it to be so well-appointed and spacious. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our new Lanvin bathroom amenities! Thank you for complimenting our location and the service that you received from our Concierge. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 night business trip and had no issues. Everything you want from a business hotel and everything worked fine.

Good sleep quality, good location, fast efficient check in / out. I'd stay here again on business. Its probably not the most romantic or sexy hotel in Chicago but for business its very good. Only gripe I had if I am being super picky is the bar is non de-script and soulless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear bax52,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Sofitel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel was so well-suited to your business travel needs. Excellent service is what we would like to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve upon our services and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our first stay at the Sofitel. My husband and I spent 6 nights while in town on a business trip. From the moment we arrived, the staff were courteous and kind ( especially the doormen and the guy who assists with the taxis...the location is perfect for day walking, several restaurants and a deli next door...housekeeping was very observant and the cleanliness of the room would rate 5 stars in itself..Hotel offers free wifi for its guests...we visit Chicago several times a year and the Sofitel is on our plans to return for another stay..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Daer norc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your hotel and that you found our staff to be so courteous and kind. Thank you for providing the tip about free Internet - we now offer complimentary wifi to all of our hotel guests. Once again we are happy that you enjoyed your first stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed 3 times at sofitel water tower , and have been delighted that we are remembered by the charming restaurant staff , adore and look forward to seeing the amazing floral displays throughout the Hotel , love the beds and the separate shower , fast Internet , great views across the city and lake , easy access to down town and great shopping , I just love everything about this hotel and can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hfryd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear hfryd30,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be coming to visit more often as your daughter has married a Chicagoan. Congratulations! Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff. We look foward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the moment we checked in everything about this hotel was first class. The staff were friendly and efficient throughout the hotel. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated and everything possible that one could want was to be found in the room. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring the many sites of Chicago with the Hancock Tower and ths shops of the Magnificent Mile only five minutes walk from the hotel. Overall this was one of the best hotels that we have stayed in and was very reasonably priced for the facilities and service that they offer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank joe_hegarty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Bonjour joe_hegarty7,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room exceeded your expectations. And thank you for pointing out our excellent location! We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,375 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
1,520 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing