We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No one does style like Sofitel.. and it's definitely on display here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No one does style like Sofitel.. and it's definitely on display here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really well put together operation. Great service... interesting architecture... fantastic location.. but, above all else, great style everywhere. (Not to mention the most authentic you can get to being in a Paris hotel without getting on a plane.) Great staff.. when they don't know the answer to something they go out and get it. Breakfast food was great. And, it's fantastic to be so close to Mich. Ave., Rush Street area shopping and eating, and the train.. The train is just a block away. Sofitel, in general is my "go-to" hotel chain -- in part because of this property. May not be as luxurious as the Four Seasons, but unbeatable style.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, of course. No coffee makers in room however they set up a free coffee bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our hotel to be so stylish! Thank you for providing the tip about complimentary coffee service available each morning in our cafe from 5:30 to 10:30. Upon request, we are also happy to place a coffee maker in your room during your stay. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,804
    980
    177
    54
    37
See reviews for
653
1,538
294
987
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a company meeting and Sofitel was the place. What a pleasure to be there! Best location in Chicago, close to Miracle Mile. Hotel EXTREMELY clean in every area. Rooms very comfortable, spacious, CLEAN and with every item you may need. Breakfast and lunch pretty good. I had a delicious dinner that made me feel I was in a high class restaurant instead of a hotel one!. Service is EXCELLENT. You'll be able to communicate in English, French, Spanish, Estonian, Albanian, and almost every language. However, the best of Sofitel are the EMPLOYEES, always willing to assist you,doing the extra mile to make you feel happy. Beautiful people that will make you feel at home! My gratitute to all, especially Jimi that "found" that espresso coffee late at night after my delicious dinner.Way beyond his work!
I'll have one week vacation next July and Sofitel Chicago will be my place to stay!
Renejazz.
for additional information please feel free to contact me at: renejazz@bellsouth.net

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Renejazz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to hear that you think we are the best hotel in Chicago - thank you! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our staff, service and hotel. Thank you for pointing out our multicultural (and multilingual!) staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in July!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I want to thank Rebecca and entire staff for our wonderful stay celebrating my wife's birthday. Your generous hospitality will long be remembered. The room, view, service, complimentary desert, complimentary drinks, room upgrade, breakfast and facilities made our weekend in Chicago. Thank you! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeGeneva021413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff and service to be 'wonderful'! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rooms are very large and comfortable. Beds are supreme, the best I have slept in! Excellent service all around! Hotel restaurant and bar to enjoy while there. Fitness room is 24 hours, very nice machines with tv. Water, towels, head phones, fruit all available for guests to use.

Room Tip: We had a king bed standard room thru Hotwire and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carcoverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am here on a business trip and from the moment I stepped out of the cab the service has been fantastic, a special mention to Michael who happily stood in the cold and welcomed us and was professional as well as providing great service holding doors, hailing cabs etc. to Margaret who was the do all when it came to phone requests, wonderful and very efficient and friendly. The room is clean and comfy and the overall ambience is wonderful. We have to come back later in the month and I will ask our travel department to arrange this hotel again, and I will be back for a pleasure visit as soon as I can!! Magnifique!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we would like to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve upon our services and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our service. Please rest assured that we have shared your encouraging message with our team and have recognized Michael and Margaret for their hard work.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bry-sur-Marne, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

A very nice hotel with a french original touch at the heart of Chicago.
pleasant room and bathroom despite the airco is a little bit strange : hot zones altogether with cold areas within the same room !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Bonjour! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for a long winter weekend with family. Cozy, comfortable beds.. Large lush towels. Check in was the model of attentive, informative, excellent service. Get up early to enjoy the free croissants. They run out early, so if you're fortunate to hit it right, you'll be the favorite of your family. Large cups of free coffee and tea downstairs. The rooms are perfect sized for the three of us with beautiful views. Even though we were right next to the elevator, the rooms were so quiet The hotel is situated next to several low cost and even all night restaurants which was helpful after late theater. So close to Michigan avenue, we we able to walk to the action of water tower place and lots of shopping. Some reviews implied that there was a pool. There is not, but we were too busy anyway!

Room Tip: Any room is terrific. King beds are king sized. Even next. To elevators quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our early morning complimentary viennoiserie and coffee service. Thank you for providing that tip to our future guests! We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing