We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #20 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I want to thank Rebecca and entire staff for our wonderful stay celebrating my wife's birthday. Your generous hospitality will long be remembered. The room, view, service, complimentary desert, complimentary drinks, room upgrade, breakfast and facilities made our weekend in Chicago. Thank you! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeGeneva021413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff and service to be 'wonderful'! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,519 - 2,525 of 4,349 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rooms are very large and comfortable. Beds are supreme, the best I have slept in! Excellent service all around! Hotel restaurant and bar to enjoy while there. Fitness room is 24 hours, very nice machines with tv. Water, towels, head phones, fruit all available for guests to use.

Room Tip: We had a king bed standard room thru Hotwire and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carcoverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am here on a business trip and from the moment I stepped out of the cab the service has been fantastic, a special mention to Michael who happily stood in the cold and welcomed us and was professional as well as providing great service holding doors, hailing cabs etc. to Margaret who was the do all when it came to phone requests, wonderful and very efficient and friendly. The room is clean and comfy and the overall ambience is wonderful. We have to come back later in the month and I will ask our travel department to arrange this hotel again, and I will be back for a pleasure visit as soon as I can!! Magnifique!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we would like to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve upon our services and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our service. Please rest assured that we have shared your encouraging message with our team and have recognized Michael and Margaret for their hard work.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A very nice hotel with a french original touch at the heart of Chicago.
pleasant room and bathroom despite the airco is a little bit strange : hot zones altogether with cold areas within the same room !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Bonjour! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for a long winter weekend with family. Cozy, comfortable beds.. Large lush towels. Check in was the model of attentive, informative, excellent service. Get up early to enjoy the free croissants. They run out early, so if you're fortunate to hit it right, you'll be the favorite of your family. Large cups of free coffee and tea downstairs. The rooms are perfect sized for the three of us with beautiful views. Even though we were right next to the elevator, the rooms were so quiet The hotel is situated next to several low cost and even all night restaurants which was helpful after late theater. So close to Michigan avenue, we we able to walk to the action of water tower place and lots of shopping. Some reviews implied that there was a pool. There is not, but we were too busy anyway!

Room Tip: Any room is terrific. King beds are king sized. Even next. To elevators quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our early morning complimentary viennoiserie and coffee service. Thank you for providing that tip to our future guests! We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower for a few nights in Jan '13 and it really couldn't have been better. For the location and quality of the hotel the nightly rate was fantastic value and I will definitely stay again.

My room was on one of the higher floors and was really lovely. It was spacious and clean, with a huge bed, armchair and small table and desk. The bathroom was a nice surprise - one of the largest hotel bathrooms I've seen, it had a separate toilet, bath, huge walk-in shower and plenty of bench space with the usual provisions (hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner... even a loofah).

The staff were lovely and helpful, even after my visit. I had a minor complaint about the quality of the internet connection during my stay, which I communicated through the post-stay survey. To my surprise this was followed up almost immediately by the Front Office Supervisor and should be an example for other hotels.

I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant one day and although it was nice it was too expensive. This certainly isn't unique to the Sofitel, though, and I should have known better!

I didn't use any of the other facilities but would have no hesitation if time permits next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be so helpful both during and after your visit! Thank you again for your positive review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A great hotel. We spent three nights there in mid December - can't think of anything negative. We had a junior suite and it was just right - plenty of room and with a great view of the city, particularly at night. The bathroom was well appointed and a very good size and there was a separate shower which made a nice change.

The concierge was extremely helpful - we used them a number of times for restaurant recommendations and reservations plus other enquiries. Nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel's location is ideal. Close to shopping but also handy to attractions and a number of good restaurants quite close.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our Junior Suite was perfectly suited to your needs. We thank you for complimenting our ideal location and our helpful Concierge staff. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our Sofitel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,693 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $151 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing