We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sofi I think I love you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida, Uruguay
Level Contributor
262 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Sofi I think I love you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This Sofitel is awesome. After mediocre service at the Waldorf Astoria Reach Resort Key West I had thought customer service had been forgotten (thanks Paul). A special thank you however to Irwin. He is excellent and was an excellent representative of Sofitel during our large meeting event. He helped us with our checkout, printing boarding passes, catering, and even went out and bought me sugar free Red Bull when I requested. This is great! Thanks Sofitel for going well beyond my expectations and renewing my faith in customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckckckckckck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Bonjour! Thank you very much for your declaration of love - we are flattered! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Irwin and his team helped make your meeting a success. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff. It is always our goal to exceed our guests' expectations, and so it is with pride that we receive such positive feedback about a guest's experience at Sofitel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,550
    881
    158
    48
    33
See reviews for
574
1,388
274
897
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Okay... there is nothing wrong with this hotel at all. It is a stylish place with great rooms and fitings ( large TV with a Bose wave radio).
The service was spot on , whatever we asked for we got it with a smile. The concierge is very helpful and can give you good advice on things to do and places to eat.
Will definitely stay in this place EVERYTIME I am in Chicago

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagdish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our location to be ideal. Thank you very much for complimenting our "spot on" service, our rooms and our Concierge team. We are especially pleased to know that you will be coming back to stay again. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were amazed at the proximity to all of the N. Michigan Avenue, venues, bars and restaurants we love in Chicago. The price was very reasonable on the weekend and we were able to stay parked for the entire stay with all things we enjoy within walking distance of 15 blocks in all directions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elkelk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location during your weekend stay in Chicago! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My travel agent got a great rate for us for 2nts (Fri/Sat). We took the CTA from MDW to Chicago stop - just 2 blocks away. All decked out for the holidays. Lobby was stunning and lively and impressive. Checkin very welcoming. We asked for a coffee maker to be sent up to our room (thanks to other reviews). We were on 15th floor and even though across from elevators was very quiet hotel!!! Room was small but well furnished and very comfortable. Bathroom was big and luxurious. Tub was way too shallow to enjoy a soak - but nice to be separate from shower. We loved the area and will absolutely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for coffee maker in room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglejody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of a good rate, our excellent location and our proximity to public transportation. Thank you for complimenting our lobby's lively holiday decorations and for providing the tip about requesting a coffee maker at check-in! We are always happy to provide one to our guests in addition to the complimentary coffee and tea available in our restaurant each morning. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to visit chicago and stayed at the sofitel water tower. I thought the location downtown close to all the attractions and shopping was excellent. The hotel had all the amenities but none of the noise and commotion that often comes with a hotel in a big city. My only problem was that my room was not made up in a timely fashion. But one phone call resolved that issue quickly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for pointing out our excellent Gold Coast location! Please accept our apologies for the wait you experienced for your room to be serviced. This is not typical of our standards of service, and we regret the inconvenience. However, I am glad to know that the issue was resolved quickly and to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your stay, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
425 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

What can I say? I am a Francophile. I have never stayed in a Sofitel before and did not know what to expect. I have stayed in many Chicago hotels and each one seems to have a different ambience. Ici, The lobby is small but decorated in a classic nouveau French feeling with lighted tiles on the floor and a beautiful palatte enhanced by bouquets of flowers leaning out of vases. This weekend there were some holiday decorations making it plus festive and plus chic. Checking in was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The young lady from Marseille not only responded to my query of" did we get our upgrade?" but offered a suite on a lower floor which was fine with me. I was traveling with my husband and "what can I say" but the extra room, tv, desk and added space were much appreciated! The hallway to the room was lovely with striped carpets, newspapers and light wood. Modern, chic and understated. The room was also light wood with modern furniture. Though both rooms were on the smaller side , together the open doors to the living room and surrounding windows with a city view gave the feel of a small beautiful apartment.The bathroom of light beige marble was similiar to ours at home so we were delighted. There was a small shower, a bath, a toilet and a sink in a large bathroom. There was a hand shower over the tub. All of this is very French and well organized. Even the amenities were well thought out- nailfiles, qtips, cleansing pads and a shower cap as well as a real hair dryer. I mention the above because it was such a relief not to search for a shower cap or have to call for one when I needed it. Bravo. Also all the toiletries were Hermes, another nice touch. I really did appreciate the "Frenchness" of it all: the small reading lights above the bed as well as lights on the side tables, mini bar and safe out of sight, desk facing the back of the couch to allow for a side chair to complete the room and white bed linen to finish" The look". My best advice would be to order pillows on arrival. I like down pillows. When you arrive there will be two different types of pillows on the bed, don't wait till nighttime to figure it out. The bed is not quite a king and a little soft but comfortable. The air is adjustable to your liking in each room. When we arrived it was too hot but we just changed the temperature and voila- comfort! We ordered room service. It came within 30 minutes. Entrees were along the lines of nouveau French cuisine, not your usual Chicago hearty fare but well presented and good quality. We tried the assorted appetizers and while interesting and pretty, they really were mini or in this case tres petite!!!! Oh, the other nice touch was a tray of macaroons and water upon arrival .Also the most French thing on the menu is the entree for the dog and the entree for the cat. C'est si bon! J'adore mon chien et je souhaite qu'il reste avec moi tous le temps. Oh, sorry a few days here and your high school French comes back. So the good news was the room at the end of the hall, the prompt service and the relaxed, easy atmosphere. Also the location is excellent for walking around downtown, shopping and seeing the sites. I would stay here again which for me is really what I look for in a hotel. The minus points: the closets are very small if you have two people and hanging clothes but they are lit and well outfitted, the elevators are small and if you are in a hurry to check out it may be frustrating and somehow room service left a tray in the hallway overnight even though we called. We left on Sunday morning and the lobby was full but interesting: wedding people, a young man playing a guitar and my extremely interesting and understated but tres chic group!!! I am always shocked by taxes in Chicago so be prepared for about 13% added on to the rate. The other thing that was an interesting business decision is that some services are outside the hotel. I never made it to the gym but "Princess" Nails next door was quick, easy and well priced as well as aptly named for moi. They must have known I was coming by!!! My friend sent a limo to take us to her house in style, so thoughtful- really- and there we were taking our bags to the car across the street because we had not called for a bellman. A little too understated for me but perhaps we forgot to ask for help.Overall we relaxed and felt that we had truly gone away. I attribute this to the fact that I go to Paris often and expect certain things in a French hotel of a certain ranking. I don't mind a more boutique atmosphere and I enjoy the formal,polite respect of the staff. Tres Bien, Merci. Bonsoir.

Room Tip: Corner suite was enjoyable don't really know what else to say but ask square footage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Bonjour, and Merci for your review! We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. Remember to come stay with us in Chicago next time you are in need of a little French touch, my team and I will be glad to welcome you back.
Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I liked this hotel. Cool, clean, modern rooms, quiet, yet close to everything. Good food. I would stay here again when visiting Chicago. The only odd thing was no sheet between comforter--was that intended to be intentionally European, or just an oversight? I called housekeeping in the morning, and they promptly added a sheet when they made up the room while were out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve upon our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to come back.

To answer your question about our bedding of our beds are prepared in a European style with a duvet and duvet cover only. All of our bedding is cleaned after each guest's departure or daily, if the guest requests for us to do so. We are happy to prepare the beds with an additional top sheet and blanket upon request.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,445 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,826 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Property: Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Chicago Water Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Water Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing