We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here during our honeymoon. We were given a great room with a beautiful view on one of the top floors. The room service is of the highest standards and the staff is friendly. The hotel is very well located with lot's of shops and restaurants in the area. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherry079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of the excellent views of the Chicago skyline from a room on a high floor. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,714 - 2,720 of 4,450 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a nice hotel, but it was advertised as on the magnificent mile, when it was actually blocks away. There are some nice restaurants within walking distance and you can walk to the mile. It was a more trendy/modern style hotel which we prefer.

We had some service issues with our reservation, but the manager was able to solve the problem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHolekampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Although we are indeed located two blocks in from the Magnificent Mile, our central Gold Coast location affords us an excellent proximity to the best restaurants, shopping and city landmarks while offering our guests a more private and serene atmosphere than the always bustling Michigan Avenue. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your reservation. However, it is reassuring that a manager was able to assist you and solve the problem. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in July for 2 nights, I was very satisfied here, the place is very up to date, classy looking, great service, no complaints at all. It is in a great area close to shopping, a couple blocks over and close to American girl store, my granddaughter loves this place. So all in all I would stay here again if I were in Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the best shopping in Chicago. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel facilities, room accommodation and general related services were very good. Previous reviews had indicated that the bed was great and it did meet my expectations. The location was excellent both for business purposes as well as shopping and night activities. Breakfast options were limited however and service at breakfast not as good as we would like. After the 3rd day we opted for the breakfast at the corner bistro which opened at 8am. For an earlier start to the day the breakfast at Hotel Talbot which is around the corner was a good alternative. Use the side entrance of the hotel to go to these locations and it saves some exposure to the wind and cold!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Talkshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that our SoBed lived up to its excellent reputation! Thank you for your valuable feedback concerning the breakfast menu in our Cafe des Architectes. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and his team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a lovely long weekend at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Lise welcomed us and explained our package details. Jeff at the Concierge desk was a treasure trove of valued suggestions.
Natalia from Room Service was a ray of sunshine with the tea tray.

A head cold caused us to stay in more than usual so dinner and a movie were the order of the day. Room service made us very happy in-room campers.

Overall I cannot think of anything negative or any suggestions for change. Beautiful, relaxing experience.

Room Tip: There are quite a few junior suites in this hotel. Worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedbeachToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Our goal is always to exceed our guests' expectations, therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you are feeling better and have recovered from your head cold. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just for back from a great weekend in Chicago for my friends birthday!! This hotel was fabulous from start to finish!! The staff was above and beyond nice, the room was great! I have never slept in a comfier bed!! I would recommend this hotel to all! So convenient as well to Michigan Ave! We will definitely return! Well done Sofitel!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very happy to hear that you had an 'amazing' birthday weekend stay, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel, our staff and our comfortable SoBed! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and two college age sons. Good location about even with John Hancock building and two blocks back from Michigan Ave. This is close to lots of restaurants on Rush Street, and high end shopping at the north end of Mag. Mile. Nice lobby, pleasant breakfast area. All staff were very friendly and pleasant; as this is a French hotel, they do greet you with "bonjour", or "bonsoir", and you do see quite a few Air France pilots and attendants staying here. Elevators fairly efficient, rooms quiet and comfortable, not huge, typical nice business hotel decor. Overall, I chose it for the location and the price, and I was not disappointed.

Room Tip: You won't be able to see the Lake from here, but a higher floor room still has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent location just off of Michigan Avenue, close to the best restaurants, shopping and downtown Chicago landmarks. Although not all of our guest rooms provide a view of the lake, rooms on higher floors do afford a partial view of the water and an outstanding view of the city skyline. We always do our best to accommodate requests for higher floors. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
5,000 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#17 of 192 in Chicago
3,056 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $153 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing