We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #21 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Comparing this hotel to the Sofitel in Gatwick England, this one is very ordinary. While the 3 day stay with friends was good, it was not great. I will explain.
On arrival we requested an upgrade since we were staying three nights. Our friends were given a corner room which is very cramped. They had to go down and seek out the manager to get moved. Each time I tried to contact the front desk, the concierge or room service I was put on hold. On one occasion, I called room service for two wine glasses. I finally gave up holding and went to the bar to get the glasses.
The fan for the heating/cooling system was very loud and kept going off and on all night. Also there was a banging sound which I attributed to the plumbing.
The breakfast menu prices are out of sight. I cannot imagine paying $19 for a continental breakfast. Instead we went a few doors away to a cafe at the corner of Chestnut and State. Also you can go across the road to the Ing Cafe if you just want coffee and a muffin.
While room bars are always expensive, this one beats them all. A gin and tonic will cost you $16. If you need snack food or take away, there is a gourmet store on State Street, just north of Chestnut and a variety store across the road.
While some may have liked the "bonjour" touch, I found it a little tacky. If you tried to continue the conversation in French, you discovered that there vocabulary was limited to a single word.
On the positive side, the Concierge was pleasant and helpful. We just loved Chicago. Great architecture and warm friendly people.
Next time we will try another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms and get as high as possible to avoid strteet noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luvtravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We sincerely regret that your friends' room did not meet their expectations. However, it is reassuring to know that our manager was able to quickly assist them and found a room that better suited their needs. Thank you also for complimenting our Concierge services. Regarding the breakfast in our Café des Architectes, we strive to provide an outstanding breakfast experience as well as a good value to our guests. While some of our employees do not speak French fluently, many of them do and would be very happy to converse with you in French during your next stay! We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower during your next visit to the Windy City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,641 - 2,647 of 4,349 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is a great hotel in a very convenient location to North Michigan Ave and the main shopping and only a short taxi ride to Millenium Park and Art Institute. Rooms are big with great amenities and walk in showers, staff are friendly enough. Only downside is breakfast can be a little slow as it is a la carte and not a buffet. Lobby can get busy. All the staff seem to be French which is a bit weird in central USA. I wonder how many are faking the accents. All in all a great hotel - not cheap but worth it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ianbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This very attractive, pleasant hotel conveniently located a block from Michigan Avenue has a distinctly European grace beginning with the frequent "Bon Jour" from the many French native staff to the sylish design of the lobby and rooms.Fairly priced, service is excellent.The hotel restaurant is also quite fine. A most pleasant bar also decorates the lobby entrance.A fine place for the tourist or the businessman!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efarkasTeaneck_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed your meal in our Cafe des Architectes. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Pros: Great location. Two blocks from the mag mile. Check in was a breeze. Perrier, Evian and chocolate covered strawberries were in our room on checkin. Complimentary Keurig coffee in the room. Very clean hotel. Bed is a dream. All the tv channels you could want. Very attentive to detail. The toiletries and soaps were from Hermes. Complimentary umbrellas to use in case of rain. Bellmen always opening doors. French charm of the employees. The restaurant waiters are the best I have ever had! Very courteous and professional, and very attentive to detail. The bathroom had two showers and a tub, not very clear in my photo. Room service was perfect. Turn down service with free Evian water. Free wifi in the rooms.

Honestly, it was great relaxing in the room, watching TV while lounging in the bed after taking long walks in the city. When I come back to Chicago, I am coming back here for sure!

Food:
- Walking distance from Giordano's restaurant and much more.
- The continental breakfast room service(danishes and croissants, jams, coffee and juice) was perfect.
- Had the fish sandwich at the Cafe D'architects for lunch, with pommes frites. It was great.
- Dinner there was perfect as well. Very progressive cooking. With lemon foam accompanying my husbands salmon, and some chili oil powder along with my tuna sashimi app.
- Must have breakfast at Tempo's, right on the same block( to the right when you exit the hotel). It's perfect and simple breakfast food.
- Le bar has great ambiance at night. Coffee is served via french press.

Cons: We drove, so valet is $54/day. 4 days it adds up. I understand it is the city and the need to charge. But, for a guest staying at the hotel $25/day is more than fair.

Room Tip: The higher the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiraUncut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I came here on our mini moon right after our wedding. The hotel is very nice and everyone is very friendly. Our room was great and we had an amazing view of the the City. The only problems we had were with our TV. The reception wasn't the best and channels would work then quit. Then the only way to fix it was to turn the TV off and back on again. It happened more than a few times while we were trying to watch a movie on HBO. Also not a ton of channels were in HD; which I don't mind, but the hubby does. Also the room didn't have a fridge or microwave, which was kind of a bummer because we had some great left over Giordanno's and Grand Cafe Lux. All in all a great place to stay, and the location is awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koates86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you very much for writing a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely valuable as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our guests. We are very sorry that you and your husband were not able to enjoy the television in your guest room due to poor reception. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem with our Engineering team in order to prevent any future occurrence. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your guest room's great view of downtown Chicago, and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This very comfortable hotel is well located a couple of blocks from Michigan Avenue and simarly close to the night-time bustle of Rush Street. Rooms are a good size, and the beds amongst the best I have slept in. The Sofitel boasts a nice bar and good restaurant (certainly for breakfast). It is nice to have the complimentary coffee available in the morning - especially when you have to be up at 6am as I was a couple of times. Free wi-fi was also very good. As with most hotels the wardrobe space was a bit tight especially for hanging items - luckily I was on my own this time so just about managed. Definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stay in Chicago for business, and wouldn't stay anywhere else. I was forced to stay in a very iconic dated hotel this trip for 3 nights and couldn't wait to get back to the Sofitel. Perfectly located, service good, modern and not shabby - the later of which I find with alot of hotels. I just feel comfy here, the rooms are light and the location is great. Just easy, and nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellybelly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,480 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,694 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $156 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing