We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel, wouldn't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“perfect hotel, wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stay in Chicago for business, and wouldn't stay anywhere else. I was forced to stay in a very iconic dated hotel this trip for 3 nights and couldn't wait to get back to the Sofitel. Perfectly located, service good, modern and not shabby - the later of which I find with alot of hotels. I just feel comfy here, the rooms are light and the location is great. Just easy, and nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellybelly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,918
    1,003
    183
    59
    41
See reviews for
675
1,598
313
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely, calm, clean, efficient hotel great to stay at. Large well furnished room, very quiet and comfortable, bathroom well fitted, towels in good supply, shampoo/shower gel etc., great. Maid service good, one exception in six nights so not a problem. Great location just a couple of blocks off the Magnificent Mile so a little quieter location but near enough to be shopping within minutes! All the staff were helpful and could point you in the right direction for restaurants, shops etc. I would recommend this to anybody, even the beds were comfortable and the air-con worked well. A good place for leisure, business and weddings/parties. Restaurant food was good too. Only downside taxi to and from O’Hare not the hotel’s fault and I don’t know if the hotel has limo service but even if it cost a little more than a cab well worth it at least you know you will get there!

Room Tip: We had high room with view of Magnificant Mile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Awesome. Location is great- very central and close to the water for morning walks! Beds are amazing as are daily turn down service! Can't wait to come back here again! Service was top notch- everyone was always friendly and so helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had our wedding ceremony & reception here at the Sofitel, and a lot of our guests also stayed here for the weekend. The overall consensus was that the staff were extremely accommodating, genuinely friendly and super attentive! The rooms are great but mainly it's the great service that you get here. Would also recommend based on its convenient location - just a few blocks from the magnificent mile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehungrycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I made a late reservation to attend a show in Chicago and the Sofitel was one of the only hotels with availability. I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel.
The room was perfect (the bathroom and shower are fantastic!), the staff super helpful. The food excellent. I just did not expect that from a Sofitel...Next time I am in Chicago, this will be where I am staying!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacar1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stay in Sofitels in US and the world for one simple reason. It is a good chain of upscale hotels for business traveler. Practical, not too expensive but much more alive and esthetically pleasing than, for example, Marriott and more quiet and grownup than W. If one travels on business but may be with a romantic companion, it is perfect. Chicago Sofitel is no exception with an addition of great architecture and better than average interior design. Stuff is efficient and courteous. Food is excellent and at the bar one may encounter personages more interesting than usual selection of insurance salesmen. Overall, highly recommended, perfectly located downtown hotel. Standard rooms are quite good and spacious enough. Free WiFi is quite fast and espresso and fresh pastry brighten up the morning. And , as always, best mattress and best pillows , seems to be real down, offered both firm and soft. Hard to ask for better sleep.

Room Tip: Chhose high floor for great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgelfand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Sofitel Watertower Hotel is perfectly located for tourist attractions and terrific restaurants. Modern, but welcoming. We loved walking to Starbucks for our morning lattes. We took lunches and dinners at the sidewalk venue of restaurants. Great food and even more fascinating people watching. Creative flower arrangements in the lobby that I will try to recreate at home! We will always stay at the Sofitel Watertower when we visit Chicago.

Room Tip: I prefer small cushy pillows. The standard Sofitel pillows are huge and hard. I asked for a smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NANABarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the Gold Coast neighborhood. Although we are nearby several Starbucks locations, we also serve complimentary coffee and hot tea each morning in our Cafe des Architectes. Thank you for pointing out that we are also happy to place a coffee maker in guest rooms upon request. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,790 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,601 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing