We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now This Is Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Now This Is Great Place”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This is really a nice hotel in every way. The rooms are perfect size , the bathrooms were really great . We thought the views, the clean rooms everything was perfect. Location is also a good point to choose this hotel. We will be staying here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,803
    980
    176
    54
    37
See reviews for
653
1,537
293
987
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We choose this hotel because of the great reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed!
The hotel is in a great location by the shopping district, good restaurants, and tourist attractions. If your destination is not walkable the staff are always able to get a taxi within seconds or recommend another mode of transportation!
Our room was spacious with a great view of the city, and the turn down service was a plus with bottles of water being delivered. (For those women who are partial to premium bath products - this hotel carries the amazing l'occtaine line!!)
Every day the concierge team (Justin was our favourite) greeted us with a smile and were very knowledgable on what to do in the city, and made amazing recommendations for restaurants, shows, and tours.
The only down side to this hotel was no pool but we would stay at this hotel again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Sofitel in downtown Chicago in early July 2012. The location was fantastic as it is located in the Gold Coast of Chicago. I stayed on the 18th floor and had an amazing view of downtown Chicago (great view of the John Hancock building). The staff was friendly and helped me out willingly whenever I needed something. The bathroom of my king-sized room was also big and luxurious. No complaints on any of this. However, I did find the furniture in the room to be disappointing. It was bland, Ikea-like furniture. And the carpet was beginning to show wear and tear. It just didn't jive with the rest of the hotel feel. I wasn't blown away by the restaurant Cafe des Architects either. It was fine, but nothing outstanding. I would stay at the hotel again for the location and the friendliness of the staff, but only if the price was right. I guess I just expected a more luxurious room at the Sofitel. But all in all, it's a nice hotel to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jami398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you found the service to be friendly and accommodating. Please rest assured that your comments about the wear and tear in the room have been shared with our management team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous, inside and out. Our room was beautiful and spacious with one entire wall as a window. Spa-like bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, and two Frette robes and slippers. Room service dinner was delicious and the service was swift and impeccable. Best of all was the bed though - easily the most comfortable bedding I've had the pleasure of sleeping on. The only downside was having to check-out and return to normal life! Would definitely stay there again...permanently.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great hotel, as any other Sofitel hotel we stayed before.
The room was very comfortable and the service was excellent (including complimentary chocolate covered strawberries on a birthday date!)
The location is great – central (one block to the Magnificent Mile / Water Tower / John Hancock tower), yet on a quiet street.
The Tempo restaurant which is few steps away from the hotel is great for breakfast - be aware that Saturdays and Sundays is quite busy, you need to register your name with the hostess.
If you are a fan of fancy cars there is showroom right across the street with Lamborghini, Ferrari, Bentley, Rolls, etc.
Le Bar located in the hotel’s lobby is very nice - you can get some “rest” after a day of visiting or shopping.
Overall, a highly recommended hotel for a Chicago vacation.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are better (and a bit more expensive).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I spent one week last July at this Hotel during a business trip and I didn't wanted to leave. The Hotel is located 2-3 blocks from the Water Tower. You have everything at walking distance: The Magnificent Mile, shops, many Restaurants (facing back from the Hotel on Rush Street).
Rooms are spacious, modern, comfortable, clean and with a big bathroom. It is not usual that I can say "I slept so good in this bed", but this time it happened due to some reason.
The staff was friendly all the time, greeting in French, small brand detail of this Hotel.
I definitely will come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpllanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,376 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
1,520 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing