We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant, charming, just the escape I/we needed”
Review of Wheeler Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wheeler Mansion
Ranked #143 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
NewYork, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“elegant, charming, just the escape I/we needed”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

As a fitness professionals/enthusiasts, sometimes we simply need peace & quiet coupled with elegance and pampering. We didn't want the huge hotel atmosphere because we much prefer a smaller scale establishment that caters to our individual needs. That's just what the Wheeler provided. It is ideally located near McCormick place which made our commute to the show/conference a stone's throw away...can't beat that! Breakfast was delicious and it reminded me of my trips to Europe. I've referred my friends to the Wheeler and I will not hesitate to stay here again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank customFITTtraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Hello and we appreciate the kind review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    4
    9
    21
See reviews for
5
45
4
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The Wheeler Mansion was recommended to me 2 years ago by a friend, both of us like the cozy places, maximum 10 rooms, we like the special attention by the host.

During the holidays we like also the inside decorations and all the rest.

We did like also the welcome champagne glass too.

We were not the only pleased guests, in the dinning room we talked to other happy guest. WE WILL RETURN to the MANSION!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 061210c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest! We hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Only can get a live person on the phone from 9-5 central time. Call and see.
Unreasonable cancellation policy. Ask for it in writing.
Multiple billing errors. Billed in 08 and 09 for a stay that never happened.
Just reported them to American Express for the latest issue.

Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Trav3lAdv1s0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
As of August 2011, The Wheeler Mansion is under new management and ownership. Your business is important to us and I assure you that these practices are absolutely not our policies! Please contact me directly at the hotel if you have any questions, concerns, or comments. Thank you and I'm very sorry if you were inconvenienced in any way.

Best,
Stephanie Lu Jokich
312.945.2020
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheelermansion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

The office opens only a few hours. The lights of stairs were off during our 5 days stay, very dangerous. No hot meals in the breakfast. Once their supply of yogurt has gone, Tube type "Gogurt" for kids was supplied. The maid service entered even though we requested not to enter the room, and changed the location of personal items. A few personal items were lost. No notice for charge of internet (45 bucks a day) and phone calls. Overall, the hotel is worse than super 8 motel, although you pay over 200 bucks.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wheelermansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
As of August 2011, The Wheeler Mansion is under new management and ownership. Your business is very important to us and I'm sorry to hear about what has occured. Please contact me directly at the hotel if you have any questions, concerns, or comments. Thank you and I'm very sorry if you were inconvenienced in any way.

Best,
Stephanie Lu Jokich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This was a great little hotel for access to Soldier Field and the museums. It is a relatively short walk to them and to Grant Park. The service was good and the rooms large. It is an old mansion that could use a little updating. We had a king suite in the front of the house. For the size of the room, the location, and the city of Chicago the charges were appropriate. I was concerned about walking to Soldier Field and back at night but those worries were dispelled when limos and taxi were dropping off concert goers in front of our hotel and there was a strong police presence. Obviously i felt safe that night. There was a solid breakfast in the morning. All in all it was a nice and comfortable place in a great location for the concert and at a decent price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie J, Public Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you and I'm so happy to hear that you had a great time with us. Where would this world be without the Edge? We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best,
Stephanie Lu Jokich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed at the Wheeler Mansion and had an absolutely incredible experience. We were supposed to stay at a different hotel and had made reservations over a month ago. We got to that hotel and it was absolutely filthy. We ended up checking out of that hotel and were literally on the streets looking for a decent place to stay. To our surprise, Wheeler Mansion came to rescue. Not only did we get lucky with a spare room that they had available, we also got amazing service. The staff was extremely nice and very helpful. They helped us find places to visit, gave us maps to nearby shopping and restaurants and provided unmatched service.
We would highly recommend anyone who wants to visit chicago to forget staying at the "name brand" hotels and try out the Wheeler Mansion. It feels like home. It feels cozy and the service is incredible!

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poolshrkvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed at the Wheeler Mansion while attending the National Restaurant Show at McCormick Place. Lukas was a wonderful host and made the stay very comfortable. He was genrous with his time and information about the area. Though we are from the Chicagoland area, we had not been in this part of town for a long time and it had changed so much. It was a pleasure to be only walking distance from so much including McCormick Place! Breakfast was a bit like a european continental and nicely laid out. My only suggestion to the hotel owners is to improve the lighting in the bathroom. Hard to put on makeup. Otherwise it was well appointed and interesting to boot! Definately a nice change of place to the "Big Box" hotels in the area. We would definately stay here again.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank shayn0966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#134 of 190 in Chicago
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#139 of 190 in Chicago
1,999 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#35 of 190 in Chicago
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeler Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler Mansion

Property: Wheeler Mansion
Address: 2020 S Calumet Ave, Chicago, IL 60616-1407
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#73 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#86 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeler Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wheeler Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler Mansion Chicago
Wheeler Mansion Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing