We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best experiences of my life.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheeler Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheeler Mansion
Ranked #139 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“One of the best experiences of my life.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family traveled to Chicago for a McCormick Place expo and serendipitiously landed a suite at The Wheeler Mansion. The Mansion is amazing, charming, divine and comfortable. The suite was spectacularly decorated with fabulous artwork, gorgeous antiques and an unparrelleled jacuzzi bath tub. We felt like royalty but at the same time right at home. After a fabulous flavor filled breakfast we were able to walk across the street to McCormick. How convenient. Not only convenient to my husbands expo but also to downtown. We felt relaxed and exhilarated. The staff excelled in every respect catering to our needs and desires. We are definitely returning the Wheeler Mansion as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank-you for such a wonderful review. As the hotel owner, The Wheeler Mansion is not just a business but a small family of wonderful employees who have the same passion for guests service and beautiful surroundings. I am pleased that your experience was enhanced by our employees, as our facility is just a back drop for the experiences we create for our guests on a daily basis.
It is nice to be complimented for our work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    16
    4
    9
    21
See reviews for
5
45
4
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Wheeler mansion in celebration of my husbands 50th Birthday. I decided to surprise him with a whole mobster/flapper theme. Checking into the Wheeler Mansion set the mood for this theme perfectly. Pulling up in front of the Mansion left us awestruck. It was beautiful beyond words. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we are not familiar with Chicago, they made sure we made our dinner reservations at Tommy Guns Garage, a dinner theater set back in the 1920's. Dinner and the show was an experience to remember. Dressed in our 20's outfits of mobster/ flapper, walking around the Wheeler Mansion really helped transport us back to that fabulous era. We will definitely visit again, and recommend this gorgeous Mansion to everyone. A highly unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattylinn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank-you for commending us in regard to our beautiful hotel. Each one of our employees takes great pride in ensuring the hotels details are well taken care of. Our front office staff loves to plan unique Chicago experiences that sometimes only we know about. Ive shared your review with the staff. They were very appreciative that you took the time to say thank you.
Come visit us this summer as we are walking distance to the museums and festivals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ria and I thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Wheeler Mansion. We appreciated the attention of Stephanie and the other staff, as well as a discussion with the owner. It was nice to go back to a house of the 1870s, and to get some feel as to how wealthy Chicago businesspeople might have lived at that time. The Mansion is most conveniently situated, about 500 metres from Michigan Avenue and a very regular bus route into town. It's also near the Bears' HQ, and while we were there we nixed with a lot of Bears enthusasts at Krolls har + eatery, a lively adjacent venue.

Colin and Ria Barlow (Canberra, Australia)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Front Office Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank-you for your kind review. It is very satisfying to have a guest come all the way from Australia and enjoy their experience in our beautiful city. It is our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Last week we slipped away to Chicago for a few days to see a concert. We found the Wheeler Mansion online and thought it looked ever so wonderful and when we arrived were amazed to find that it was even more beautiful than we could've expected. We travel a lot and are tiring of generic high end hotels, the idea of a boutique inn was appealing and since we really love luxury this was the best choice we could've ever made. We arrived early for check in and were greeted by Roseanne, Stephanie and Deb, they were so friendly and knowledgable and we were soon shown to our beautiful room and then off to lunch at a nearby restaurant recommended to us. On the way to our room we noticed that the attention to detail was everywhere, each piece of furniture, drapery, etc. was carefully selected and shone of impeccable taste and quality. The building itself is lovely, the care and attention that went into restoring this grand lady was evident everywhere, the workmanship in the mansion is of such high quality, no corners were cut, the details are stunning. The woodwork, high ceilings and beautiful windows make it feel just like a castle. The mansion is spotlessly clean and fresh, our bed beautiful and comfortable. Refreshments are available at any time and were laid out very beautifully with cloth napkins, china cups and saucers, a great selection of special teas, keurig coffees and lemon water. We were shown around and told if there was anything at all that we needed just to call the number anytime, twenty four hours a day, our every need was looked after, we were made to feel right at home. Our breakfast was absolutely delicious with fresh fruit, granola and yogurt to start, then a hot breakfast to follow, all of the very highest quality. The location of the mansion is great, in a beautiful, safe neighbourhood, close enough to walk to everything with easy access to cabs and the train. I can’t wait to return in the winter to skate on the outdoor rink in the mansion’s backyard and then again in the summer to enjoy the lovely backyard and the Wheeler Mansion Market. This would be a great venue for a wedding, corporate meeting, romantic getaway, pretty much anything. The owner is wonderful and has put her heart and soul into making this special property as fantastic as it possibly could be. The focus on customer service by Deb and her staff make this great house a delightful treat. On a scale of one to ten I’d rate it a fifteen!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We have many guests stay and few take the time to write such a in depth review. I thank you for your kind words. More importantly thank you for recognizing the details we believe so strongly make a important statement about our business. Our staff focuses on doing things right, as I believe many of life's simple pleasures are in the details. I run a family business that is my children's future. We do the best of our ability.....thank-you for recognizing our life's work.
Wonderful inspiration for myself and staff to continue to work hard to exceed expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This has been one of our most amazing trips and experiences ever. The Wheeler mansion is divine. The attention to detail in the hotel is beautiful. The outdoor garden area is lovely to relax and take in the atmosphere. The host was most welcoming and helpful during our stay, to recommend events or places to see, it really felt like a personalised service and experience. We decided to extend our stay and our room was made available at a fantastic rate. I will recommend this hotel to friends and family it’s truly an experience that Nat and I will remember for ever.
Keep up the good work kind regards
Nik&Nat from
Australia

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms and enjoyed both of them. The rooms are all spacious and equipped wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, General Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for taking the time to write a review with such kind words. We were so happy to learn that your stay was so wonderful, as we take pride in planning fun experiences in our beautiful city. Thank you for noticing the details of our hotel, it is very important to us. We have recently reconstructed our garden to add lawn games and new private areas to enjoy our sanctuary in the heart of the city! Come back and see us soon!

Beautiful Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Several issues:
First of all the shortage of staff for over a year reflects in the quality of service(11 room hotel). Like all previous comments did we too, have to wait for 15 minutes in front of a closed door at the hotel. (this was after three o clock as indicated by the hotel and booking.com website). This suggests that the apologies made for waiting at the front door are a standard procedure. As we witnessed several times with guests arriving after us.
Any queries after 7pm will not be answered, and whilst the website suggests that staff will be available during the day, are they (appears to be only one person) hard to find in an 11 room hotel. The telephone number given was not answered.
Don't be mislead by the fact that there is a luxurious breakfast, it is indeed an amenity and starts at 8:30 till 11.
For those who do not like jazz music, this hotel might not be the best choice for it is played from 8am till 7pm.
Price-quality therefore out of proportion.
Unfortunately this has been the worst hotel we have yet encountered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Front Office Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear important guest I reviewed your comments carefully with sadness that you felt our hotel was the worst hotel stay of your life. Our guests prefer our hotel locked and understand they obtain a key card when they check in per our reservation confirmation. We implemented another line on our front entry system as you were very helpful to point out once two people come exactly at the same time to check in the line could be busy for a couple minutes. The three voice lines allow guests to allow the front office check-in a couple minutes to get to the front door. I apologize for the delay as it sometimes takes a couple minutes given the size of the estate. Based on your feed back we were able to train our new employees to always point out the after hours attendants number in the guest services book. Breakfast is at 8:15 but many guests request fruit and granola to be put out at 6. We pride ourselves on fresh very high quality ingredients and want to please the early risers and later business meeting guests. We have trained our staff to ask our guests what time they like breakfast to improve based upon your feedback. We apologize as we played alot of upbeat lively Jazz music during your stay, we usually have a assortment of music but some guests wanted to listen to local Chicago jazz and we thought of no harm to provide some neighborhood music, as the south loop is famous for the development of such jazz greats as CoCo Taylor and Buddy Guys! I surely understand as the pricing from city to city for hotels is quite different. Over the past 15 years our guests comment how our hotel is of great value, knowing that the chain hotel across the street charges $58 per day for parking and $25 for breakfast on top of our same room rates. We do hope that you would stay with us again as we are sure we can make your stay the most enjoyable hotel experience. Thank-you for assisting us to refine our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a great long weekend in Chicago, at Wheeler Mansion. The area is great, very quiet, with a mix of old beautiful houses and new buildings..It's not that far from Downtown, you can walk or just take a cab (it's pretty cheap).
This place is an amazing historical mansion, we felt like in an European castle.
Beautiful furniture, high ceilings, very clean. Nice breakfast room inside and patio outside, coffee and tea available any time...
The staff was very helpful, just make sure you call them a bit ahead before coming to the hotel. That was the only little inconvenience, otherwise everything was perfect.
We will definitely come back, we totally loved this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Christina,

Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your business and good word. Hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Stephanie & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#130 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#124 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeler Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler Mansion

Property: Wheeler Mansion
Address: 2020 S Calumet Ave, Chicago, IL 60616-1407
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#70 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#86 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeler Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wheeler Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler Mansion Chicago
Wheeler Mansion Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing