We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great place to stay”
Review of City Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Suites Hotel
Ranked #113 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and great place to stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the City Suites Hotel for a concert at the Vic Theater on Saturday, February 23rd. This hotel is an older hotel, but they've made updates where they are needed. The best thing about the City Suites Hotel is the awesome location. We didn't have to drive anywhere all weekend - we were close to our concert venue, as well as great dining establishments and bars. The train is right next to the hotel. Some people have complained about the noise of the trains, but it was like white noise for us (kind of soothing actually). We live in an urban environment so we're used to all kinds of noise.

The staff at the City Suites was very friendly and helpful. They let us check in early. We had a last minute guest join us and since we rented a king suite, we had no trouble accommodating her on the sleeper sofa. They did not even charge us for the extra person. The elevator is very small, but just remember it was built long before us Americans became grossly obese. It took me back in time.

They serve a reasonable continental breakfast, but if you need a real breakfast there's a great little restaurant across the street. Keep in mind that this is not a fancy hotel by any means, but my husband and I don't require fancy accommodations. If you are used to four star hotels, you will not enjoy your stay here. We, on the other hand, are pretty simple people - we just want a clean room and our room was vey clean indeed. The king bed was very comfortable and our guest who slept on the sofa bed said that it was comfortable as well. We will definitely stay again - great little hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsGoChiefsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    201
    59
    30
    23
See reviews for
118
152
52
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were in town for a concert at the Vic and wanted a hotel within walking distance. This hotel is literally around the corner from the Vic, less than 1 block total. It is down the street from Leona's, some of the best Italian food in Chicago. The lobby is lovely and comfortable with fresh baked cookies for the taking. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Parking is free with registration you get a sensor that allows you to street park. The room we had was fabulous and super clean. We had a king size suite and it was a separate bedroom with a king size bed, a large wall mounted tv and its own refrigerator. In the living room area was a dining table for 6 with a microwave and fridge right near by, a leather sofa that folded out into a bed and 2 comfy chairs with a large wall mounted tv, and a desk. The bathroom was spacious and immaculate. The only downside is you can her the "L' train a bit, but it did not keep us up. The upside is it is right next to the "L" station, so you can go anywhere. I will always stay here when in Chicago.

Room Tip: Room 416 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when we were going to two concerts on the north side two nights in a row. It was a great location for this occasion. The hotel is right in the Belmont and Clark area near Sheffield. Its across the street from Clarke's Diner. Its right next the red line. Parking can be difficult but they offer $20/night parking in the Vic's garage. As far as the hotel itself. It'll never be confused with a nice downtown hotel but it was nice enough. The standard room is extremely small but you can ask to upgrade to a suite for an extra $10 and that what we did. The suite was good. A bedroom with a large comfortable bed and a flat screen tv, a living room with a fridge, couch, desk and another flat screen tv. Down in the lobby there is coffee and in the morning there is a breakfast of muffins and toast and that type of food. Overall I think this hotel is pretty rare in that its a good hotel in a popular north side neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here with two colleagues in November. The hotel was convenient both for its location near lots of great restaurants and proximity to the elevated train as well as the fact that the pull-out couch and two beds comfortably sleeps three people. We were on the 'loud' side of the hotel and it didn't bother any of us. It's really not very loud, especially after dark when the volume of the train announcements are lowered. The complementary breakfast was simple but tasty. The staff was very friendly and courteous. We enjoyed staying here and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

"Standard Queen" room was barely 2 feet bigger than the bed itself Window A/C unit, left installed in January, admitted sounds of the rumbling train next door as well as freezing cold air. We could hear the train stops being announced all night. Housekeeping woke us up at 9 am vacuuming the room above us. Radiator valve broke the next night, and our ice box became an oven. Topper was that we booked on the hotel's web site that advertised "best rate guaranteed;" we later found room on various online booking sites for $95/night. Rather than being irate, we were polite in explaining our profound disappointment to the assistant manager when we checked out, and they were not interested in doing anything about it. Worst hotel experience I've had in 15 years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STL_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Came to town for one night to do the clubs and stayed here! Minutes walk to Halstead st and red line! This is a restored hotel! Staff great, room ok size but all new furniture, remodeled n trendy! Got room for $90! Breakfast was done well and glad to see eggs and no make it yourself waffles that seem to be in every hotel these days! Stay here you will not be disappointed ! Ps I also love this website!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October while visiting Depaul.Room size was decent with very comfortable king bed and sleeper sofa with separate tv in adjoining area.parking was reasonable at believe about 22/night. Most hotels in Chicago charge upwards of 50/night. Retro bath was small,but efficient. Only problem was noisevfro the L at night,ask for room on other side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 208kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#54 of 190 in Chicago
782 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#75 of 190 in Chicago
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 190 in Chicago
229 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites Hotel

Property: City Suites Hotel
Address: 933 W Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-4408
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#81 Family Hotel in Chicago
#92 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your City Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing