We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy Loop Access” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Suites Hotel
Ranked #110 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Easy Loop Access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here recently while in the area for college visits. I chose it due to the mostly positive reviews and there was easy access to the el. As others have stated, the el is 1/2 block from the hotel. I had asked for a room on the "quiet" side of the hotel when I booked it, but when we arrived they said they hadn't been able to accommodate our request. They gave us some ear plugs in case we needed them. We personally didn't need them. We could clearly hear the el and the auto announcement "doors are closing, doors are closing" from our room. However we turned the ceiling fan in our bedroom and slept fine through the night. If you are a light sleeper however, this is not the hotel for you (unless they can guarantee a room on the quiet side). The hotel and room were clean, beds were comfortable, and we enjoyed the retro decor of the bathroom. The breakfast was minimal and we skipped it one of the mornings to eat breakfast at Ann Sather's restaurant (very good- go!) one of the mornings. The restaurant is only a few doors down the street. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. In no way do I feel this area of the city is "shady" as someone previously wrote. I was a mom alone with her 16 year old daughter and wasn't uncomfortable walking around even later in the evening- there was always activity and people about. Overall, we were happy with our stay- the price was reasonable for Chicago, the area the hotel is located in was just fine, and (although on the loud side) the access to the el was a big plus for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the el.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    192
    56
    30
    23
See reviews for
110
142
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good time. Quiet room. Felt safe. Great staff, very helpful & accomodating (esp. Issace & Brian). Nice, clean beds/bathroom. Walking distance to lots of great fresh foods, a walgreens, the lake, blue man group theater & Wrigley field. Its also right next to the M line train for easy public transportation but never heard it during the night. Good mix in the surrounding neighborhood of young people & working people but don't recommend walking around past 10:30pm or you will be asked for money 15x, by 15 different people in all of 5minutes. Only draw back was the a/c that went on/off every 2min during the night, a tiny elevator (which I didn't mind) & a limited view out the windows. But all in all, I would surely stay there again and again if ever I return to Chicago and would recommend highly, just on the staff and convenient location alone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeJohn_Welcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Some rooms face the EL tracks and are extremely loud but the hotel warns against that as well. The place looks however tired, bathrooms need some LCR. Breakfast is minimalistic. Staff friendly. Although directly next to the train stop, the location is a bit offish and the street shady.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I loved staying here. Small town girl meets big city. Great help from the front desk workers, Jeremy and Ben. Jeremy was my "go to guy" He was so helpful. I loved my room. It was on the quiet side of the hotel and had a separate sitting room. So cute and clean and the bed was so comfortable. The WIFI connection was excellent. The continental breakfast was definitely convenient. The hotel is located right next door to the train station, so sightseeing was so easy. This coming from someone who had never been on a train before. Restaurants and bars were within walking distance. The magnificent mile was a quick train ride. Wrigleyville (my favorite) was so close. So many things to do and see.Thanks for making my trip so enjoyable City Suites. I will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side, I stayed on the 4th floor, I loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The City Suites Hotel in Chicago, IL, is a very quaint hotel in the Wrigleyville area. I would have given it 3 stars, but the excellent service and upbeat attitude of the hotel staff raises this hotel to a higher level. Stayed 1 night, saw 2 Cubs games, and had a great time.
The hotel room is not modern. We had 2 full size beds in one section, and a TV, couch, armoire, and desk in the other section. The two sections were separated by a small hallway, and the bathroom. It was all cozy, but nice. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Growing up in the neighborhood that City Suites is located in. I have stayed at this property numerous times whlie visiting family in Chicago. I have just never gotten around to writing a review. The proximity to the CTA (both bus and train) makes visiting family and friends around the city very easy. Walking distance to plenty of bars, restaurants, coffee shops, and the lake. Childhood favorite Ann Sathers is just next door.
Staff is always friendly, polite, and outgoing. I usually arrive before traditional check in times and have always been given an early check in.
The building is old and has creaks, and makes some noises now and then. Also, if you are not used to "city noise"-dumpsters banging, sirens, El trains etc. ear plugs and running the air conditioning may help. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I cannot comment on the continental breakfast offering as I usually head out for coffee and breakfast.
I would reccomend City Suites to anyone, especially those that may be wanting to experience a different part of Chicago, other than the usual tourist traps and coroporate restaurants downtown.

Room Tip: If street and public transit noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the street and train tracks...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CMHdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good location - bus routes and subway close by. Plenty of restaurant opportunities. Reasonable buffet breakfast. Very helpful staff. Large clean rooms with all you need. Small comfortable lounge. Coffee etc available during daytime
If I am in Chicago again I will return here.

Room Tip: The rooms are set back from a mainroad. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#47 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#84 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#143 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Wrigleyville
Wrigley Hostel
Wrigley Hostel
#13 of 57 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites Hotel

Property: City Suites Hotel
Address: 933 W Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-4408
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Chicago
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#92 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing