We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“upscale Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cantina Laredo

Cantina Laredo
Reserve with OpenTable
Cantina Laredo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #188 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Saluda, North Carolina
Level Contributor
288 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“upscale Mexican”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We went here for dinner one night. While my drink was way too strong for my taste, I loved the food! Although the $10 made-at-your-table guacamole was kind of a rip-off. It wasn't that great and the person making it was super unenthusiastic about it. I wish she had told us what she was adding to it, etc. I loved my chicken tacos though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iselynjenniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    240
    80
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Design. Fantastic Mural.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The place is spacious, modern ,open and well designed With a truly wonderful Mural of museum quality. They should have the artist's name on it. I have eaten there in the past and like the food.. Good and fresh and interesting.
This time I had a Margarita which was good, not great, and then a white Honey Sangria which was tasteless.
The bartender kindly changed it for a red Sangria which was delicious. The salsa and chips were excellent. Will eat there again soon.
It is a really lovely venue and in a great location with lots around including the red Line stop half a street away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great mojitos”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was packed when we went but there is first come first serve seating upstairs, it's tapas only though. We were okay with that and sat at the bar. The bar tender was really busy, but met our next when we had them.
The chips and salsa were nice, but the mojitos were awesome. We tried all four of them (regular, strawberry, mango, pomegranate) not a bad one in the bunch! I would go back just for those.
As for the food the tapas menu is small. We tried the empanadas which were nice, light, with a great Verde sauce. The barbacoa tacos were just ok.
We walked away happy because of the mojitos, maybe next time we'll try downstairs with the full menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breegreenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Killer margarita, great happy hour food!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stopped by here during happy hour for a drink and appetizers (which are 1/2 off during happy hour) during a visit to downtown Chicago. Although our drinks were relatively expensive at $12 and $13, they were exceptional and one was plenty enough! Great selection of non-standard appetizers that were fresh, tasty and filling and the great thing is that they were 1/2 off. You won't find grilled mozzarella sticks or Nachos here (yeah!). The two salsas that came with the complimentary chips (chips just OK) were outstanding. We sat at the bar; service was excellent even though the restaurant/bar was quite busy). The restaurant/bar itself has a great modern, chic yet comfortable decor. Our ceviche was fresh and flavorful. We only had two dishes and did not eat in the restaurant nor order off the dinner menu, Other reviewers have commented that the food was subpar, but from our limited experience with the appetizers, not so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Way below average”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I have to say this place is ok, I work in the area and most of the time I prefer going to chipotle. I have been here 3 times and every time there was an issue. I ordered steak and shrimp and got chicken and shrimp. Menu is very limited and drinks are overpriced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank funkybeat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Laredo also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing