We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Disappointing Birthday Lunch!”

Michael Jordan's Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Jordan's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Illinois
Transit: Grand Red Line, Michigan Avenue Buses
Description: The Michael Jordan's Steak House experience is rooted in Michael's expectation of excellence. We, like Michael, strive to be outstanding in everything we do. Featuring hand-selected, Prime, dry-aged steaks, upscale comfort food and delicious seafood, Michael Jordan's Steak House is a classic American dining experience with an approachable sophistication that comes second to none.
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Disappointing Birthday Lunch!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Let's first start off I made reservations and what I had thought special arrangements for a Birthday surprise for my sons 30th birthday. I had requested a dessert to be brought out after our meal in our reservation. Once we arrived I spoke to the first server to come to the table to confirm this. The dessert never arrived? The service or lack there of was about 2 and I am being kind out of 10. They tell you seat yourself, then someone gives you one of three different menus. One on display, one that was given to us and the one the table next to us was given? With different items on each one. Then after 20 minutes of memorizing the menu you stop someone who works there to please take our order. Then after watching people who arrived at least 20 minutes after you did receive there food you find someone else to inquire about your order. Then about 20 minutes after that you receive your rare fillet that was supposed to be medium well and the rest of your order. The food was not good. These potato tots that are nine dollars should been thrown in garbage where mine I am sure where thrown when they were to gross to eat. My steak was burnt on outside and raw on the inside. My sons steak had mint all over it. The french fries looked and tasted like they where reheated from the night before. Two people and lunch was $150.00 and the food was not good. I would have complained but no one ever came to ask how our food was. I was very disgusted but I was trying to make the most of a very bad birthday lunch. Besides the name and If I were Michael I would take my name off that place, poorly managed, over priced, lousy food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyfTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison C, Manager at Michael Jordan's Steak House, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Shelly,

I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact me directly at mail@mjshchicago.com so that we can discuss further.

Warm Regards,

Allison at Michael Jordan's Steak House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    363
    148
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, lackadaisical service...”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

High quality food, mostly delicious, but pricey: $4 for a strip of bacon? The room makes great use of the historic, art deco decor from its former life. The stairs (NO elevator for some of it...) make it a difficult journey for some. Waiter seemed to spend more time attending to larger tables spending lots of money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leawood, kansas
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Very good food, still overpriced, opportunity to improve several aspects”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Mix of new and old on menu. Very good...potato cakes with beef relish side dish excellent. Small filet very good but pricey. Ate in bar...host preferred two patrons not take up a dining table in dining room. Fair service....did not clean table between previous diners leaving and us sitting. Attention to detail!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colesloough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fries!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I can't comment on the full menu as I only was at the bar. The bloody Mary was good and the French fries were very good. They came with three different dipping sauces all of which were good. A great place for a little break from shopping!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michiganberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I can't say a whole bunch about the restaurant itself as I sat in the bar area but I will say from the looks of the decor and furnishings, it's definitely on the nicer end! The food was ok, not spectacular, but they have a great ambiance and atmosphere at this place. I had many conversations with other patrons at the bar and it was sports talk! I would recommend this place for sports fans who like fine dining and don't mind opening the wallet a little bit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZexSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michael Jordan's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing