We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique food and delicious”
Review of The Protein Bar

The Protein Bar
Ranked #28 of 187 Dessert in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Description: This is a sit down, carryout, or delivery place efficiently serving healthful meals featuring grains and fruit. One of four locations.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique food and delicious”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the delicious protein packed burrito with quinoa! My husband even liked it and didn't even mind that it was so healthy:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natesmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Healthy, Delicious Fast Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Discovered this Chicago area gem of a fast food outlet at the River North location on Clark Street. Many healthy salads, bowls, and wraps with an emphasis on quinoa, veggies and proteins. Delicious!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finally!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Much like when I found out about Chipotle, I was excited to learn of a fast food joint with healthy offerings. This place far exceeded my expectations! The smoothies are yummy, but what I was most excited about was that they offer raw fruit and vegetable juices. Don't be scared, they are delicious! What a treat to find a place on the go where you don't have to feel guilty after indulging.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasElyse2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy and fast!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The concierge at our hotel told us about this place as a hip place (current tunes blasting through the loud speakers) for quick, healthy and reasonably priced food. It was literally right across the street from our hotel, so we tried it. What a surprise! They offer a very inventive menu using fresh ingredients. They serve breakfast bowls, bar-ritos, and fabulous creative smoothies. They also have lunch and dinner bowls, salads, bar-ritos, chilis and side dishes. Bowls and bar-ritos have ingredients like quinoa, egg whites, chicken, beef, basil pesto, marinara sauce and much more. All items have a breakdown of nutrients such as calories, carbohydrates, satuated fat, fat grams, sodium, fiber, sugar and protein. They also offer vegan items.

My husband and I really liked their food. It was tasty, quick and inexpensive. They have an eat in area but also offer take away. All you have to do is place an Internet order and your food will be ready in 5 minutes for pick up! If you are looking for a healthy aternative to all of the "fine dining" and delicious but not healthy fast food offered in Chicago, check them out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lov2travel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great healthy food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I came to the Protein Bar on State/Lake a number of times for a quick dinner and breakfast to go. In search of healthy food in Chicago, this was a great place to come (although be prepared for 20 questions to get your order just how you want it!) The blended drinks are choc-full of flavour and are a great way to kick start the day!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Protein Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Protein Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing