We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good airport sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wicker Park Seafood & Sushi

Wicker Park Seafood & Sushi
Ranked #840 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Side
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good airport sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

With a three hour layover at O’Hare, my wife and I decided to give Wicker Park a try. Located in Terminal 2 in the Main Hall, this little gem offers very good sushi….a bit pricey….but none the less if you are looking for an alternative to airport food or to get that sushi fix before hopping the Pond to Europe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpazCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    72
    15
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Food was very good, the had some interesting dishes. I had a Hot Night Roll and a Wicker Park Trio this time. The Black Dragon and Caterpillar Roll are also good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in O Hare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This restaurant is a great place for excellent food in O Hare airport. I usually get the shrimp cocktail, and that alone will fill me up. The shrimp are huge and done perfectly.
My friends all got sushi last time we were there, and they could not believe how good it was.
The service is quick and friendly.
Obviously, being in an airport, it is a bit pricey.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
310 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Nice change for an airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Before a 6 pm flight, our family of four had dinner here. We were led to a table right next to a loud band, which was performing next to the restaurant. We immediately asked to be moved because it was so loud. The waiter said lots of people asked to be moved when there is someone performing.

We travel a lot and tire of the same airport food, so this was a nice change. We started with the edamame and miso soup. The miso soup was very good. A lot of miso soups taste the same, but this was fresh tasting.

The chicken teriyaki roll was huge and very good. The raw oysters were from the East coast; nothing special. The unagi was the best that we've had. My son said he would go back to that restaurant just for the unagi.

The sushi sampler was average at best and small. This was our only disappointment.

For dessert, we had the mango roll and pineapple/banana with tons of whipped cream.

We found the service attentive and fast.

The cost of our meal was $211, which included a bottle of wine. Yes, it's expensive, but so much better than eating at another chain restaurant in an airport.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ttttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
612 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Disappointed. A travelers' trap?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

"Give me the money!" That's probably the only thing owners and staff are interested in. The male members of staff obviously also have an interest in beautiful women, who get a menu and a glass of wine within ten seconds after entering. While I had to wait fifteen minutes before getting some kind of attention in the form of an incomprehensible utterance which took me two minutes to decode. The setting is not attractive. The food is decent, but lacks taste and seasoning. Finally, 32 dollars (tip not included) for a shrimp salad and a glass of white wine is far too much!
This kind of places makes me sad ... By the way, in the entire O'Hare airport I haven't found any decent place to sit down and enjoy a meal worth the name at an affordable price yet ....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicker Park Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Wicker Park Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing