We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique and active way to take in the Chicago Skyline!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Urban Kayaks

Urban Kayaks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Kayak Tours, Rentals, and Lessons on the Chicago River. Located Downtown at Columbus and Wacker and in Chinatown at 19th and Wentworth.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A unique and active way to take in the Chicago Skyline!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This tour is suited for locals and visitors alike...there is no better way to take an active part in experiencing downtown Chicago! Sure, the "lazy" boats require no participation on your part, but where's the fun in that? Urban Kayaks is a great way to get in a bit of exercise, for those of you that prefer not to break the exercise regime while vacationing, and is an activity that anyone can do, so long as you know how to hold a paddle! Don't be discouraged by the questionable-looking Chicago River...it's a lot cleaner than you'd expect! I highly recommend doing this off-the-beaten-path look at the downtown, as opposed to the overcrowded, passive boat tours. The Historic Chicago tour gives you the basics without boring you to death. Highly recommend, had a lot of fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    63
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

A group of us decided to try kayaking on the Chicago River and watch the fireworks that happen every Saturday night. I called ahead to reserve the boats for 15 people (birthday party) and they (Asher) offered to give us a private tour...even though it was a Saturday night! Our guide James was informed and made us newbies feel at ease. As he took us down the river, he explained some of the wonderful architectural history along the way.
The tour finished with the fireworks display...I am a lifelong Chicagoan and have seen the fireworks many times, but never like this! It was a wonderful experience for everyone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jammiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chicago Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I took the Historic Chicago Tour. What a great way to see the city. Kayaking on the Chicago River was so cool. We have visited Chicago many times and this is my favorite thing to do.

Helpful?
Thank ETBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Urban Kayaks a great way to see the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I did the sunset kayak last weekend and loved it! Josh and Mitch were our guides, and were full of fun historical facts and stories about Chicago and the river. The kayaks were a completely different way to see the city. We went about 4 miles in total I believe, paddling into the sunset on the way out, and back through the city lights on the way in. We loved the experience and highly recommend it. Inexperienced paddlers should do fine as the trip is not difficult.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ARstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A view of Chicago you have never seen before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family of four took the tour on a rainy Monday morning. There were 11 total people on the tour. Our tour guide was entertaining. You get to see the wonderful buildings along the chicago river from a perspective that you won't see elsewhere. Because it was rainy the owner cut us a deal that saved us about $60.

This is a very young company, owned and operated by very young adults. They have a great attitude and this is a fun way to spend some downtown time. You don't have to be an experienced kayaker to enjoy this tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hyponic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Urban Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing