We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Chicago Lakeshore
Ranked #91 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here for a work/client event. Lobby is very modern with a bar that pretty much flows into the lobby desks. Location is great. Rooms are pretty neat and modern, but our room had some wear (chips on bathtub, marks on wall). Would stay here again id the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Aaron,

Thanks for your feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed the bar, location and rooms. Sorry to hear about some wear and tear in your rooms, we will ensure that Engineering is on it! Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    405
    206
    83
    73
See reviews for
298
365
53
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

great room, nice bed, neat cocktail bar, awesome location if you want views of the lake and great place to go for a run. breakfast was good, i mean there pretty much aint nothing to complain about. it was a great place to stay for work. Shopping a pretty easy walk, and the pier is close by as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Nick,

Thanks for your fabulous review! We hope to see you back at W Lakeshore soon.

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalasia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was a wedding hotel for us and it was not a good selection --

1. There are loud, large groups everywhere -- and its even difficult to get up and down the elevators (wait time is about 10 minutes)
2. The bathrooms are small and inefficient, no towel racks, no counter space, no bathroom doors, etc.
3. The gym is terrible -- there are about six cardio machines and they've been poorly maintained and the TVs are all very fuzzy -- go for a run instead.
4. The decor reminds you of Vegas/Casinos/Strip clubs and there was rather offensive art of a sexualized women's lips in our room
5. There's not enough check-in people/general help people at the front desk
6. The location is good but not great if you need to get anywhere during traffic on lakeshore. Opt for more north or more south.

Overall, we regret our time here. It wasn't relaxing or fun and I was happy to get out!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback, and so sorry to hear your stay was not up to par. We're also sorry that our new look was not to your liking. We hope that we might have the chance to wow you a second time around!

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

They say the beds are wonderful, and they are but the whole experience was just that. Great location in the middle of the action and a nice view for the air show. Crazy busy on this weekend but still took good care of us. This is our second stay here, and can't wait for the next.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ColdFrontChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi there!

We're blushing! Thanks so much for the kind words. Glad you approve of the beds, service and were able to enjoy the Air & Water Show! Can't wait to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Check in & out was efficient & friendly.Great safe location on the Lakeshore.A five minute walk under Lakeshore Drive to the beach, waterfront bike/running/walking trail. <than 10 minute walk to Navy Pier. 10 minute walk to Michigan Ave. Chicago is like many North American cities, you are best to get there, park your car & take taxis or public transport to move within the city.
Decor is very modern, shower stall no tub, but has all the amenities. Desk area & chair, lots of electrical outlets in appropriate areas. Neat feature is a couch built-in to the exterior wall, so you can have a number of people in your room & nobody has to sit on your bed...also good for just plain lounging/reading, long enough for even the tallest guest to stretch out.
We had lunch there, great paninni sandwiches.
Only negatives are the dark hallways & elevators

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi David!

I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is fabulous, and we're glad you agree. The room and lobby decor is a new look for us, but we're glad you approve! Hope to welcome you back to W Lakeshore soon.

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, location, and friendly staff but when I requested my car out of valet to depart, the valet txt stated 15 minutes but took 30 minutes. Checked into my room at about 2200 when I arrived at about 2130. The staff was helpful with the late checkout as I greatly appreciate that. The room was lovely as was the lobby, everything about the property flawless. By far one of the most beautiful properties I have ever stayed at besides lack of a view, which is ok because I wasn't in the room much besides the day of checkout. I will recommend this property as well as even though I was disappointed with check in. The property is beautiful also the two bartenders (one male, one female) I had were phenomenal.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenzoGQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Lorenzo,

I'm sorry about your lackluster check-in experience. We always like to make a splash with guests upon arrival so I'm disappointed to hear we didn't deliver! I'm so glad you enjoyed the look of your room and lobby. We hope to welcome you back soon, next time with a lake view!

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed at the W with my 10 year old daughter for a few days back in April. We couldn't have asked for a better location. Our room faced the lake and the Navy Pier. We were able to walk to the Navy Pier, and from there we took a bus or cab everywhere. We had convenient location in a beautiful setting!

The room was updated. It was nice, trendy, and clean. During our stay, the hotel was undergoing renovation. The lobby was actually placed in the bar area, but that didn't really bother me. The construction noise wasn't an issue because we were usually out of the room during the day, and it was gone by the time we got back.

My only complaint was the water pressure. The bathroom was brand new, beautiful rainshower head, but it was absolutely useless. The water pressure was as bad as it gets. The water literally trickled down. I'm not sure it the problem has been addressed by the construction or caused by it, but it was inconvenient especially to wash our hair!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you for the kind words. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and proximity to Navy Pier and other attractions.

We love our new rooms, and glad you enjoyed them as well! So sorry about the water pressure, as that is not the norm. We hope to see you back at W Lakeshore soon!

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#105 of 189 in Chicago
2,498 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 189 in Chicago
4,377 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Property: W Chicago Lakeshore
Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#24 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#78 Family Hotel in Chicago
#83 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Chicago Lakeshore is the closest hotel to Navy Pier with stunning views of Lake Michigan and Ohio Street beach. The property is just 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile with world class shopping and restaurants. We offer a fabulous Social Italian dining option on property with Current Restaurant and the Living Room Lounge. Perfect for both business and leisure travelers, the W Lakeshore offers flexible meeting space with incredible views that is perfect for a corporate meeting or a lavish wedding. Please contact us today and ask for our Sales and Catering Department to get you a rate to host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing