We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wonderful truly five star luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A wonderful truly five star luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Peninsula last month. It is truly a five star, top luxury hotel. We found all of the staff to be very nice, lobby to be beautiful and we loved our room which was luxurious yet contemporary. It had great views of both Michigan Avenue and the Lake.

We had a wonderful dinner at the Shanghai Terrace (see separate review) and thought our breakfast was good too. We met a friend at the bar and generally liked its living room feel although it was a little dark.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this property strongly and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Scott J,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and sharing your gracious comments. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, your guestroom, and our service. I am also glad you had a wonderful experience at Shanghai Terrace and The Bar.

Thank you for your kind recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    127
    49
    17
    14
See reviews for
214
389
67
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Have had high expectations, as a number of friends had mentioned that the Peninsula was one of the top ranked hotels in the world.

While we only stayed for one night, we wished had reason to stay longer.

The room was insanely large room, with a separate bedroom and a bathroom that could have bathed six. Top of the line linens, soaps, etc...

The lobby is gorgeous and the restaurants are great. The place isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. Only down side is like many Chicago hotels one need to take two elevators to actually reach one's room.

We didn't use the pool or the gym, but our neighbors bragged about both.

Location is downtown Chicago - tough to beat.

The staff was professional, yet never snobby. Will certainly be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DannyK217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear DannyK217,

Thank you for sharing your nice comments. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay with us, your spacious guestroom and our amenities. We are especially pleased by your kind remarks about The Lobby restaurant.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back again to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here about a week and a half ago on the 9th floor. I did not get greeted in the lower lobby of the hotel, had to ask directions where the front desk was..Upon arriving to the Front desk the lady at the desk did not acknowledge us as she was busy looking at the computer for almost a minute. Once we were acknowledged, she checked us in and that was it. We found our way to the room. Once in the room everything was great, we had room service;the food and service were great as well. Upon departure it was the same thing, no acknowledgement, didn't get an invite to return. Lower lobby area was the same..Did not get a good bye or a thank you and nobody available to assist with the door..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luxrytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear luxrytrvlr,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your nice comments about our room service and food. We are sorry to hear that upon arrival you were not greeted. Whether you are a hotel guest or a visitor of a guest we ensure everyone is greeted. We are also sorry that our front desk staff did not acknowledge you upon arrival. We aim to offer exceptional service, and we are sorry we did not live up to this standard.

I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your stay, in order to improve our service. I hope you will contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

Thank you for your comments. I look forward to speaking with you.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here last week and everything was top-notch, well, almost everything. They managed to forget our evening turndown and our newspaper in the morning, but overall it's a class act. We jokingly asked if our son could play lacrosse in the lobby and the Bell Captian laughed and said; "for what you are paying for these rooms, you can do anything you want!" Funny guy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I just enjoyed my first visit to the Peninsula Chicago. I had read the reviews in advance and thought I would have a good experience. I was wrong, I had a GREAT experience. From check in to check-out and everything in between it was a great experience. I visited the Spa, i highly recommend April, she is great. Workout facilities are excellent. The attention of the house keeping staff, including folding a shirt i left on the bed was perfect. This place knows how to not only meet your needs but exceed them. The bellman recognized me coming and going. in the morning, they would have a cold bottle of water ready after my run. I can't imagine recommending a different place to stay in Chicago.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gubulldogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level Contributor
237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I love any hotel where the staff seemingly doesn't know how to say "no" . Everyone was quick to accommodate requests, provide directions , help out in any way possible. Oh yes and the accommodations were first class . Lots of amenities. Clean comfortable rooms. Nice bar and Shanghai Terrace is outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerChicagoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We come to Chicago often and usually stay at this property or a couple of others around this vicinity. The last time we stayed at this property was about 18 months ago.
Stayed here in early August 2014 for 2 nights in an Executive Suite. Overall, the property is holding up quite well, but is beginning to look its age, especially given the number of newer properties in this city.
Pros:
- The public spaces and room are clean and well maintained.
- Overall, staff are polite and helpful.
- The switches and functions in the room for lights, tv, a/c are all in working order.
- The water pressure in the bathroom and tub were fantastic. Still is good size tub and very enjoyable soak.

Cons:
- Everything looks tired and dated. Our room furnishings are the same as they were 10 years ago. The bathroom sink has a significant crack, and the lighting was limited.
- The bed is too soft. The mattress is more than ready for replacement.
- One evening we decided to have a drink in the bar and dinner at the Chinese restaurant. The public areas were packed with men in suits and women in evening gowns attending various banquets. Since we were not in suits or gowns, we were stopped (politely) several times by different staff who wanted to know if we needed assistance. However, we appeared to be the only ones being stopped by staff - perhaps security staff need to be more vigilant about consistency towards all guests in the public areas.
- The food in the Chinese restaurant has gone downhill. It does not have the caliber or refined taste as it did in previous visits. And the worse - now there's plenty of msg in the food!

Hopefully, this property will revamp their rooms and public areas, and do a better job with the Chinese restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HuarenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear HuarenToronto,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit, our amenities and found our staff “polite and helpful.” We regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience at Shanghai Terrace. Chef Ivan Yuen believes in using the freshest ingredients that are chosen carefully on a daily basis.

In addition, you mentioned that our “room furnishings are the same as they were 10 years ago.” Even though The Peninsula Chicago only opened in 2001, we believe it is important to continue to make updates and improve our facilities and guestrooms. We are continuously doing soft renovations and improvements to our property and have a preventative maintenance program in place.

We appreciate hearing your feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and guest experiences. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your stay and the comments in your review in hopes to improve our services. I hope you will contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#6 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#7 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing