We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service - romantic room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch service - romantic room”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for our anniversary. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful from the bellman to the maids; the concierge to the doorman and the front desk workers. The bar was classic with fair priced drinks for the area. The room had a large bathroom, full tub with TV. Each night we received a free water bottle. There was free wifi and choice of news daily newspaper. We also got a great price on the room, 3 nights for the price of 2.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmd49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear jmd49er,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate your special day. I am very happy to read that the service provided by our staff made your visit enjoyable and that you liked the various amenities the hotel has to offer.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again when your travels bring you to Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    145
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
261
463
75
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Augusta, Atlanta, Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay here after reading all the rave reviews this past July 4th weekend. We have stayed at many awesome hotels throughout the World and thru Amex FHR. After our recent stay at Peninsula, I can tell you there are definitely better places to stay in Chicago at a much better value, have better service, and is more comfortable. I have no idea how this hotel got a 5 star, its more like 3.5 star max. Some reasons for our opinion:

-No bottled water in the room upon arrival. For nearly 600.00 for one night (thats what we paid), you would expect them to at least have some water in the room, complimentary. They do bring you one bottle each before bed with turn down service, but who wants to stay up all night going to the bathroom. This is CHEAP, just plain CHEAPO

-Room was small and stuffy, had to call at 2 am to get a fan to help circulate the air in the room. It helped. 5 star hotel requires a floor fan.

-Breakfast voucher was only for continental breakfast thru AMEX FHR. Max was 25.00 per person!! St Regis is twice that amount and other 5 star hotels don't even count how much you spend (e.g. Four Seasons). Even if my wife ordered an extra tea, 5 star hotels don't care and want you to enjoy. You DO NOT get that feeling at Peninsula. CHEAP!

-Upon first night they give you a small box with 4 chocolates, no further chocolate on your pillow after that. CHEAP!

-I brought this up to the manager upon checkout. He handed me the bill and said goodbye.. CHEAP!

-I paid close to 600.00 per single night at this hotel. I have paid this and more at other 5 star hotels, but those hotels were worth it! Like good service, good views etc. This place had nothing but views of old buildings.

-No wine toasts, no champagne toasts... basically nothing. Dull and boring hotel.

My wife and I feel ripped off, do yourself a favor.. if you really want to stay at a 5 star..stay somewhere else.. otherwise you will feel like me guilty and ripped off. At least I know for next time not to waste my time here. Gave me an uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Moman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Moman2000,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for taking the time to post your review. We are surprised and disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations and we extend our sincerest apologies. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, found our amenities mediocre, and our staff service unexceptional. You also mentioned for your next stay you will be choosing another hotel. We understand there are many excellent options in Chicago, we would be appreciative to hear what else we could have done during your stay to welcome you back. I hope to hear more about your experience and that you will please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com

Thank you for your feedback; we hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards,


Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Conveniently near the shopping on Michigan Ave, a short walk to beaches on the Lake, a stroll to two legendary Chicago Deep Dish restaurants, you simply can't beat the location. But there are a lot of hotels in Chicago with great locations, what separates the Peninsula from the rest is the attention to detail by its wonderful staff and the its superb facilities. Like all Peninsulas the staff is superbly trained, friendly and helpful. While we were there a famous rock star was there and a large wedding was going on--neither fazed the staff in any way. The rooms are large and bathrooms luxurious. The House Keeping staff is quite simply the best I've experienced in hotel in this country. The salon and pool are lovely and the steam room is a nice touch. I recommend the Pierrot Gourmet, a little French Bistro in the hotel that is perfect for lunch or a light dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdh1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear kdh1716,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location, our beautiful property, décor, and helpful and friendly staff. We are very pleased you mentioned our housekeeping staff is the best you have experienced, and your recommendation of the Pierrot Gourmet as the perfect place for lunch and dinner.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again when your travels bring you to Chicago.


Warm regards,


Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Peninsula is a very well run, well appointed hotel in a great location. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The bed was large and comfortable. One small issue I had was with the TV remote suffering at great deal of lag between pressing buttons and anything happening on the TV. It didn't bother me much because I wasn't in town to sit around watching much TV. Other than that there was nothing to fault the hotel on. If you want an upmarket hotel in a good location you should give the Peninsula a chance!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMLondon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear PMLondon79,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and posting your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, the location, and found our staff friendly and helpful. We are sorry to hear that your TV remote did not work during your stay with us and your feedback is greatly appreciated. Our housekeeping team inspects the technology in each room upon service to ensure everything is working properly before a guest arrival.

Thank you for your comments, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again when your travels bring you to Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The location was great as well. This was my first time here and I hope I am able to come again. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brinero4865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Started our route 66 tour here. Really clean and staff welcoming.
The room was really lovely but no coffee facilities ☹, the bathroom was large and immaculate – the housekeeping is the best we have ever seen!
Really well located for local bars and eateries

Thank you for having us – we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am giving this hotel 5 stars that it is so well deserved. Our room was nice and clean and spacious. No nasty hotel smell. Our room had a microwave and a small refrigerator which came in handy.
The breakfast was very good which included waffles, scrambled eggs and an assortment of pastries. Breakfast items were constantly replenished which was a good thing. The staff walked around and made sure our breakfast was ok and we were not in need of anything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,285 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#12 of 190 in Chicago
282 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing