We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a five star hotel should be! Treat yourself. You deserve it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was our first visit to a peninsula property and their reputation is well deserved. The standard room was very quiet and well appointed. Beautiful linens, amazing comfortable bed, great bathroom with soaking tub and large shower. The room wasn't huge but perfectly acceptable nevertheless. What put them over the top was the service which was top notch. Everyone was super friendly and helpful,especially the front desk staff. Our room was straightened twice a day, and the turndown service included slippers and robe each night. Even the complimentary coffee in the lobby and the spa was delicious. We've stayed at lots of hotels over the years but this one tops them all. It would be our privilege to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear John L,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Peninsula Chicago. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your first stay with us and enjoyed all of the room amenities and service we offer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We all look forward to your return visit again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, and we enjoyed all aspects . It's an oppulent hotel, understatedly elegant. The service was just what you expect at a hotel like this. Our simple room was very comfortable, large soaking tub, shower, nice amenities. What's not to like. Loved the Michigsn Ave.location, convenient for shopping, dining, and a brisk walk in the lakefront, a couple of short nlocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachesrsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear peachesrsweet,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We were pleased to know you enjoyed everything we have to offer. Your kind review is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago in the near future.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've stayed here several times but not in a couple of years,so I was looking forward to revisiting.
It's the same wonderful service and everything,facility-wise in excellent condition as always.The rooms are delightful;as others have noted,alot of guest-centric technology and as comfortable as could be.All of the food and drink options are superb from the bar,to the Shanghai terrace to the lovely formal dining room,with it's perfect brunch,and the bistro on the corner,even room service.The location is the best-in the middle of everything.
I've never had anything but a perfect stay in almost 10 years now of regular visits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Julian H,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago as your place to stay and for sharing your experience with us. We are always delighted to welcome return guests and I am glad to know you enjoy the comfort of our hotel and all of our dining options.

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming back to The Peninsula Chicago in the near future.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Peninsula for one night during our stay in Chicago. Our room was upgraded to a suite on the ninth floor. The room was so spacious, I think it was larger than our apartment!

Service was excellent from check-in to check-out. Our room wasn't ready for early check-in, but we received a call by 2:00pm that our room was ready. When we returned to the room, our luggage had already been delivered, the ice bucket was filled and we were provided with a box of delicious chocolates.

The linens and towels are very soft and cozy and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom has every amenity you could need, including many items people forget, toothbrushes, nail files, sewing kits, etc. The toiletry products smelled wonderful and there was plenty of them. There is a television on the wall in the tub so you can enjoy leisurely soaks and not miss a minute of your favorite show.

The concierge assisted us with dinner reservations at Shanghai Terrace and we had a wonderful dinner outside on the terrace. They also have indoor seating available. The dinner was fabulouos, and although very pricey, we felt the food was worth it. We had breakfast in the Lobby restaurant and it was delicious!

The weekend weather was fabulous and we enjoyed spending some time in the pool and the outdoor patio. We did not utilize the spa, but I did walk around and it seemed to have all of the amenities that you would expect of a luxury hotel.

The Peninsula is located near all of the great shopping on Michigan Ave. It is also a few blocks away from Lake Michigan so that you can enjoy walking, running or biking on the Lake trail.

Our visit was fabulous, I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runnergirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Runnergirl89,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for your complimentary review. Your comments on your room and its’ amenities, dining, pool and spa facilities and our location near great shopping are truly appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula, when your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our stay at the Peninsula Chicago was wonderful. The service is always over the top and it exceeded our expectations. We were visiting Chicago for our son's hospital visit at Lurie Childrens, which is only two blocks away. We stayed in a larger suite with that had views of Michigan Ave. The nice living room helped make our stay more enjoyable, our son was able to build his new legos and feel at home. The room service food is good, we ordered eggs and bacon, gf toast (which is nice hotels offer gf bread options), and burger and fries. The next day we had lunch in the lobby restaurant, it was excellent. We had the lobster cobb salad, tomato bisque, and a bottle of white wine, it was such a nice lunch with wonderful service. Our server gave our son the Peninsula stuffed bear and coloring book and crayons, which made lunch more enjoyable for him.

The concierge was extremely helpful, they assisted us with the Shedd Aquarium VIP tickets, we were able to go ahead of the long line, which was very nice and a huge time saver! The gentlemen also found a specific brand scooter our son was looking for at a local toy store.

We love the Peninsula Chicago and will continue to stay there every time we visit the Windy City. it is truly a wonderful experience and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a luxury hotel, prime location and exceptional service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Megan M,

Thank you for posting your kind review of the Peninsula Chicago. We are pleased hear that you and your family felt at home with us and enjoyed our dining options. We are one of few hotels that have three restaurants to choose from. We are also happy to hear you were able to visit one of our cities popular points of interest and you were able to find the scooter your son was looking for.

Thank you for your endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you again when you visit Chicago.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I've stayed at several of Peninsula's properties. This one ranks up there with the rest.

Wonderfully appointed room (btw: they provide tooth brushes and other amenities in room. Uou don't need to bring a thing) with great technology to control lights and room temps.

Breakfast was wonderful in a brightly lit location on the lobby floor. Room service was also prompt and delicious

Valet and housekeeping are exemplary and quickly respond to your needs (you can get laundry done 24 hrs a day in as quick as 4 hrs).

Only negative can be room location. If you are on a low floor on the busy street side road noise is noticeable. Having said that, if you get a suite, sleeping area is inside room (with doors) so outside noise is muffled.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 300nitesayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here twice for business / personal over two different weekends in the Spring of 2014.

Overall, both times were excellent. A few highlights come to mind:

- service was excellent all around,
- rooms are very nice and comfortable,
- great location.

Some examples of great service:

- had to print something quickly but could not get the in-room personal printer / fax working. Called the front desk for help. They gave me two choices: go to the business center, or e-mailing my document to them, and them printing it. Given the rush, I did the second, which worked out well,

- we had a bit of a problem with the shower handle. Called, and then someone showed up and fixed within minutes,

- airline lost my luggage, and hotel was very helpful. I had them coordinate with the delivery service, and the bag was delivered to my room,

I felt that the hotel staff were all around very courteous and helpful in many occasions.

In terms of locations, hotel is located very well within downtown Chicago. With N.Michigan avenue on one side, you have access to shopping, and several neighborhoods and parks are within walking distance. There is a Whole Foods not too far.

Hotel has several dining options, and very good in-room dining options. Depending on what you choose, dining options can be pricey, but that did not seem to be an issue with most of the clientele, most of whom seem to be fairly wealthy.

Rooms are very spacious, and have a lot of little extras. The appointments are mix of modern and classic, but most importantly, recent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delta_Neutral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Delta_Neutral,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula Chicago and for taking the time to share your thoughtful review. We appreciate your kind comments about our service, rooms, and location. We would be honored to welcome you back again when your travels bring you to Chicago.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
2,612 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#12 of 192 in Chicago
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 192 in Chicago
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $330 - $721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing