We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Journeying back in time rather than looking to the future”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Journeying back in time rather than looking to the future”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I could not fault the size of the room. I had a superior room, which at 531 sq ft was larger than many one bedroom flats in London.

However, the Peninsula seemed to me like stepping back in time, one of the desk draws contained a fax machine, and not a small one.... (younger readers may need to explore wikipedia for a description of this particular piece of 'communication hardware') the bedside lights/alarm clock control panel could be mistaken for a 1970s mainframe computer or the control desk of a medium sized power station. The Peninsula is also a good place to visit to see both a cathode ray TVs (non-flat screen TVs - in the bathroom) and Plasma screen TV (TV's before they became slim and light) in the bedroom/living space. I now understand why the rooms are so big, so they can act as technology museum!

To be fair though, wifi was included in the room rate, a fact I applaud, so those who need their modern day digital fixes will not have to risk the onset of technology linked anxiety attacks whilst staying at the Peninsula.

However I was surprised that given the size of the room, I needed to call for an iron and ironing board and where a nespresso machine now appears to be standard kit in modern hotel rooms, my room was rather lacking in drinks making facilities.

In conclusion some of the equipment in the room has to be seen to be believed, although I will be seeking out a different hotel the next time I visit Chicago.

Room Tip: Read up on 1980s communications and audio visual equipment before your stay in order to get the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear LondonDinky,
Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for taking the time to share your review. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our complimentary WiFi we provide to our hotel and restaurant guests. I also appreciate your observations, regarding our in-room technology and our proprietary low voltage system. Although we are all aware that technology is quickly outdated these days, our low voltage system is unsurpassed in the hotel industry for the degree of control it gives our guests over lighting and other special features. I am pleased to inform you that we will be installing the next generation of this system in the coming year which incorporates all of the same functions and more as well as incorporating touch screen technology. I would like to hear more about your experience should you be willing to discuss this further as well as invite you to view our new technology once it has been installed in our guest rooms this year. I hope you would contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago once again when our renovations are complete.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    140
    53
    17
    15
See reviews for
245
439
75
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is all-around amazing for a city-hotel. Located perfectly in Chicago next to the Water Tower off of Michigan Avenue. The Hotel Bar was worth the trip alone. I love hotel bars generally, but this one is the best. Big fireplace, dark, great music, great crowd, and of course beautiful drinks.

The hotel lobby restaurant is very nice, and has live music periodically. It was a bit cold when we were there, but there was an outdoor ice rink, and they included little heaters, blankets, and hot cocoa for kids. First class all the way.

Room Tip: Higher levels will have a better view and be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gqkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the second time I stay here and from the time you enter the hotel it feels beautiful. The rooms are perfectly laid out, the beds and decor gorgeous, the staff are super friendly. It is as if they feel it is a privilege to work at this hotel. It is absolutely one of my favourite places to stay - globally.

Oh and the spa and gym are great too!

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CloistersBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This past Saturday evening my wife and I went to the Lobby Restaurant at The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate her birthday. We had been twice before to have their chicken for two specialty which was why we were coming back. While making the reservation I asked the restaurant manager if the preparation had changed since the chef left a few months ago. Her response was no we still offer th echicken for to on the menu. We arrived and were seated and we ordered the chicken for two and when it was presented it did not even come close to the previous preparation or taste. The previous was a whole chicken presented to you and then plated in the kitchen. The new preparation was basically two pieces of chicken breast with a bit of black truffle under the skin. Not only under whelmimg but really not very good. Just a bit flop...no one came by the table to ask how was dinner so we didn't address the problem at the time . We don't feel that we should take it out on the waiter. For a chicken dinner with two glasses of wine this was an almost $200 dinner that just did not deliver! We will most likely not return. The wait sfaff was good although he did not mention they offered a souflee that has a 20 minute prep time that he should has told us about during dinner. This was just NOT a 5 Star dining experience! Period!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelOne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Love the hotel room lay-out with glass partition doors for the commode in the bathroom! Room service is speedy, the lobby bar is exceptional with 18 pages of libations. Hospitality was tremendous with turn down service, bottled water bedside, personal cosmetics / toiletries rearranged into order. and fresh towels with new shampoos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

If you appreciate the service and attention to detail of Asian hotels, then here is one for you right in Chicago. Nothing more be said. Best hotel I've stayed in Chicago. You won't be disappointed. Well appointed rooms, great staff, and wonderful amenities. I checked in much earlier than they expected. No problem. I'm in with an upgrade. Need help with something. No problem. Staff responds quickly and correctly. IF I need to find a fault, they need more plugs for recharging. Life is tough!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RBAceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had never stayed at this hotel, but we were so glad we tried it for a special celebration. Service was outstanding. The hotel is so beautiful, with high ceilings and incredible floors, carpeting and floral pieces throughout the hotel. The rooms are spacious and super clean. But best of all, the beds are yummy to sleep in. We did not get to enjoy the restaurants in the hotel, but here they are wonderful. We will have to take their word for it.

The hotel is right off Michigan Avenue with wonderful shopping and also close to many wonderful restaurants and jazz clubs.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamjohn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing