We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel experience I have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #2 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here to celebrate our engagement. To say this place is amazing is an understatement. The amenities are amazing, the staff is courteous, and the food is top notch. Not to mention that you are half a block off the Mag Mile.
We look forward to many more stays at The Peninsula.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear John Z,

Congratulations again on your engagement! Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for such a wonderful celebration. We appreciate your kind comments on the amenities, staff and dining options. We are happy you enjoyed our location as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more special memories!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent 12 days in Chicago this trip. Stayed a week at the Penninsula and the rest at Park Hyatt!
The Peninsula is in a league of its own! True 5 star! Of the two hotels the Peninsula significantly nicer!
Much better service!
Joy was wonderful at check in and helpful through out the week.
On arrival the surprise for kids was a chocolate cookie tray with chocolates, popcorn and jellies!
Beautiful presentation! KIds were very pleased!
There were other surprises for the kids through out the week.
Every aspect of the service from the front door to concierge was true 5 star.
It does match some of the best in Europe. Like some St Regis and Luxury Collection hotels.
I did drop in to a few other 5 star hotels while wandering the town that week and a half such as the Trump and Waldorf and Langham.
The service was nothing like the Peninsula.
We had diner at Balsam and drinks and light meals at the Trump in their bar. They could take some lessons on 5 star service from the Pen. hotel. I was surprised the Trump had such poor service. Same with Langham. Avoid.
Room service is wonderful at the Pen and so is the breakfast in the lobby restaurant.
The pool is by far the nicest in town that I know of with great views from the 20th floor.
Can't comment on Shanghai Terrace.
Near by is Rosebud which is excellent and also Giordanis pizza.
The standout restaurant in walking distance is Nomi! Amazing!
Can't say enough about the Peninsula!
Will be back for sure!
Thanks to all the staff for a great week!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtsidefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Courtsidefan,

Thank you for your gracious review and choosing The Peninsula Chicago during your recent trip to Chicago with your family! We are delighted to learn you enjoyed the service, Concierge staff, breakfast in The Lobby and room service. We are happy to hear you and your family had an opportunity to enjoy the pool during your stay and that the kids enjoyed the treats all week! We enjoy taking care of our younger guests. You mentioned you did not have a chance to try Shanghai Terrace during this visit and we would recommend you try it during your next stay. Should you be interested, please contact me so I may assist you with your reservation. Please feel free to contact me at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed for 2 days in this hotel for business. The room was great, fully equipped. The TV had slots for inserting any type of memory card, HDMI cable, DVD player, docking station for iPod, all commands for lights, TV, alarm, were accessible from your bed, on the phone (and very user-friendly). The bathroom was quite something!!! Large, fully-equipped, you can watch TV while in the bath tub.
The staff was genuinely friendly and smiling, the house-keeping was great and we would find all our stuff conveniently stored in the evening.
If there is one little negative note: the lighting in the bathroom is not strong enough, especially if you need to put on some make-up, do your nails, etc.
Location is great, you can walk to the beach, on the Mag mile, go down the Chicago river, down to Millenium Park, so the main attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Hanemu,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago during your recent business trip and for providing your generous review. We thank you for your kind comments on the room amenities and technology, as well as the housekeeping staff. We are glad you enjoyed the location and our convenience to Michigan Avenue shopping, Millennium Park, the Chicago River and other Windy City attractions. We appreciate your comment on the lighting in the bathroom and apologize it was not bright enough. We will discuss this with our engineering teams; the feedback is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Second visit to The Peninsula Chicago. In short, it is one of the finest city properties you will find. The rooms are outstanding with very large bathrooms. Everything in the room can be controlled through a panel next to the bed. The staff and housekeeping are second to none. Great location. The fitness center has a view that actually makes it a pleasure to work out. If you want top of the line then this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Brad S,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago a second time and for sharing your warm remarks. We appreciate your comments on the bathroom amenities, bedside control panel technology, staff and housekeeping service, as well as the view from the Fitness Center.

We are grateful you had another visit and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Can I just move in? What a wonderful hotel, I didn't want to leave. From the moment I arrived, I fell in love. The room was perfect and the staff was beyond attentive. The Peninsula pays attention to every detail and it is worth every dime! I will definitely return every time I'm in Chicago!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Noemivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Noemivas,

We thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear the staff was attentive and you enjoyed your visit. If interested in a long-term stay (we would love to have you!) or if there is anything we can do anything to assist with your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me direct at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The junior suite on the 16th floor facing Michigan Ave couldn't have been more perfect for our 6-day stay in Chicago. The front desk reception staff walked us up to our room upon our check-in, showed us our suite and made sure we were happy with it, then returned with a tray full of treats for our daughter and for us, a bottle of wine, fruits and nuts. The suite was well laid out with classy modern furniture. The closet and drawers in the vanity/changing area were more than adequate for the 3 of us. The bathroom was efficiently laid out with 2 separate vanities and storage. There was unbelievable water pressure from the shower and the bath tub. It was one of the best water pressure we have ever gotten from a high-rise hotel. We liked the doors that closed off the bathroom, the vanity/changing area that provided some privacy. The housekeepers were attentive making up our suite everyday, restocking the bathroom amenities and mini fridge and setting up the living room perfectly with the sofa bed ready at turn-down. The staff at the spa/fitness center welcomed us with a tour of their facility and always have smiles. The fitness center on the top floor is well equipped with quality gym equipment and an attendant going around offering chilled towels while we worked out. Being on the 20th floor with floor to ceiling windows gave us a great view of the city and the lake while getting our work outs.The spa was luxuriating with robes that fit all sizes. It is always a struggle to find spas that stock bigger robes for my husband's XL frame. The pool on the 19th floor has a jacuzzi and a 3-lane pool for lap swimming or just water play with children. There were plenty of lounge chairs and chaise lounges around the indoor pool and outside on the sunning deck. The pool attendants were swift with our requests for goggles and pool equipment as well as setting up fresh towels and bottled water everywhere. We had dined at the Lobby restaurant and Shanghai Terrace besides getting room service. The menu selection at the Lobby restaurant was limited but gave us an incredible epicurean experience with quality ingredients and astounding presentation. The Chocolate Bar was definitely worth keeping our 8 year old up from her bed time with its delicious, delightful and delectable chocolate creations. We highly recommend the Sunday buffet brunch . We had dinner one evening on the terrace at Shanghai Terrace. George Lucas and his wife was dining at the next table. The menu was extensive and food tasty. Everyone at The Lobby and Shanghai Terrace always checked on us asking if there was anything we needed. I would give this hotel an excellent rating except for 2 details that could be improved. I wished a housekeeping staff could have exercised more patience and discretion while on her morning housekeeping rounds and not let herself into our suite less than 3 seconds after first knocking on our door. She had to apologize profusely realizing she has barged in. That apology could have been avoided had she given a guest an extra second to get to the door in a suite or perhaps ring the door bell a second time. I also wished the doormen and valet staff were more attentive. We had to open doors ourselves going in and out of the hotel each time while they stood around outside. We once called the valet service10 minutes ahead for our rental car but had to look around and then asked for it as it wasn't visibly parked curbside. Then the valet while handing the key to my husband 10 feet away from my 8 year old and I, he shouted out to me that the car is unlocked and we could get in. My thought was that it would have been nice for the valet or either one of the 5 male staff that were all gathered on the sidewalk by the door to Shanghai Terrace to get the car door for us. Chivalry is certainly always appreciated, especially at a fine hotel. Fortunately those were the only two dings on a otherwise wonderful stay at a reputed fine hotel. The overall experience my daughter had on our stay was so wonderful she wrote a thank you note and handed it to the front desk staff as we checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilchickadeesmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Lilchickadeesmommy,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful for your kind feedback and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guest room, the amenities, The Spa and Fitness Center, and you found our staff to be friendly and attentive.

While we are happy to hear of your positive remarks, we are disappointed we did not you’re your expectations with our housekeeping patience and valet’s courtesies. We apologize you found the housekeeping staff to show a lack of patience by only ringing the doorbell once to enter the room. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team for improvement. We certainly hope to make all of our guests feel comfortable and regret if this interrupted your experience. We also are sorry our doormen did not open the hotels doors for you when entering and leaving the building, and our valet did not assist into your vehicle. This is not acceptable and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable experience at The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is billed as a luxury hotel and it really is. I was only there briefly on business but would go back for business or pleasure. It reeks of that understated aesthetic, but everyone was very pleasant. I had paid up a bit, and had a 23 series room which is some form of mini suite with a glorious view of the old water tower. My tip is to take the time to have breakfast in the lobby. A great ambience. I had the corned beef hash and they had these great tempura onion rings on top. Luckily, i had worked out that morning (great view by the way) but it was very serene and calming before a day which wasn't all that serence and calming.

Room Tip: Find out what view you are going to get before checking in, surprising good views for an urban hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,480 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,366 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $363 - $1,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing