We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost an excellent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #4 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost an excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The junior suite on the 16th floor facing Michigan Ave couldn't have been more perfect for our 6-day stay in Chicago. The front desk reception staff walked us up to our room upon our check-in, showed us our suite and made sure we were happy with it, then returned with a tray full of treats for our daughter and for us, a bottle of wine, fruits and nuts. The suite was well laid out with classy modern furniture. The closet and drawers in the vanity/changing area were more than adequate for the 3 of us. The bathroom was efficiently laid out with 2 separate vanities and storage. There was unbelievable water pressure from the shower and the bath tub. It was one of the best water pressure we have ever gotten from a high-rise hotel. We liked the doors that closed off the bathroom, the vanity/changing area that provided some privacy. The housekeepers were attentive making up our suite everyday, restocking the bathroom amenities and mini fridge and setting up the living room perfectly with the sofa bed ready at turn-down. The staff at the spa/fitness center welcomed us with a tour of their facility and always have smiles. The fitness center on the top floor is well equipped with quality gym equipment and an attendant going around offering chilled towels while we worked out. Being on the 20th floor with floor to ceiling windows gave us a great view of the city and the lake while getting our work outs.The spa was luxuriating with robes that fit all sizes. It is always a struggle to find spas that stock bigger robes for my husband's XL frame. The pool on the 19th floor has a jacuzzi and a 3-lane pool for lap swimming or just water play with children. There were plenty of lounge chairs and chaise lounges around the indoor pool and outside on the sunning deck. The pool attendants were swift with our requests for goggles and pool equipment as well as setting up fresh towels and bottled water everywhere. We had dined at the Lobby restaurant and Shanghai Terrace besides getting room service. The menu selection at the Lobby restaurant was limited but gave us an incredible epicurean experience with quality ingredients and astounding presentation. The Chocolate Bar was definitely worth keeping our 8 year old up from her bed time with its delicious, delightful and delectable chocolate creations. We highly recommend the Sunday buffet brunch . We had dinner one evening on the terrace at Shanghai Terrace. George Lucas and his wife was dining at the next table. The menu was extensive and food tasty. Everyone at The Lobby and Shanghai Terrace always checked on us asking if there was anything we needed. I would give this hotel an excellent rating except for 2 details that could be improved. I wished a housekeeping staff could have exercised more patience and discretion while on her morning housekeeping rounds and not let herself into our suite less than 3 seconds after first knocking on our door. She had to apologize profusely realizing she has barged in. That apology could have been avoided had she given a guest an extra second to get to the door in a suite or perhaps ring the door bell a second time. I also wished the doormen and valet staff were more attentive. We had to open doors ourselves going in and out of the hotel each time while they stood around outside. We once called the valet service10 minutes ahead for our rental car but had to look around and then asked for it as it wasn't visibly parked curbside. Then the valet while handing the key to my husband 10 feet away from my 8 year old and I, he shouted out to me that the car is unlocked and we could get in. My thought was that it would have been nice for the valet or either one of the 5 male staff that were all gathered on the sidewalk by the door to Shanghai Terrace to get the car door for us. Chivalry is certainly always appreciated, especially at a fine hotel. Fortunately those were the only two dings on a otherwise wonderful stay at a reputed fine hotel. The overall experience my daughter had on our stay was so wonderful she wrote a thank you note and handed it to the front desk staff as we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilchickadeesmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Lilchickadeesmommy,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful for your kind feedback and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guest room, the amenities, The Spa and Fitness Center, and you found our staff to be friendly and attentive.

While we are happy to hear of your positive remarks, we are disappointed we did not you’re your expectations with our housekeeping patience and valet’s courtesies. We apologize you found the housekeeping staff to show a lack of patience by only ringing the doorbell once to enter the room. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team for improvement. We certainly hope to make all of our guests feel comfortable and regret if this interrupted your experience. We also are sorry our doormen did not open the hotels doors for you when entering and leaving the building, and our valet did not assist into your vehicle. This is not acceptable and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable experience at The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    137
    53
    17
    15
See reviews for
239
429
75
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is billed as a luxury hotel and it really is. I was only there briefly on business but would go back for business or pleasure. It reeks of that understated aesthetic, but everyone was very pleasant. I had paid up a bit, and had a 23 series room which is some form of mini suite with a glorious view of the old water tower. My tip is to take the time to have breakfast in the lobby. A great ambience. I had the corned beef hash and they had these great tempura onion rings on top. Luckily, i had worked out that morning (great view by the way) but it was very serene and calming before a day which wasn't all that serence and calming.

Room Tip: Find out what view you are going to get before checking in, surprising good views for an urban hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Top notch service, from the moment I arrived -- the bellmen address you by name! A lovely elegant sanctuary in the midst of the craziness of the "Magnificent Mile." I had the least expensive room, and it was still very nice. Large well-appointed bathroom. Professional and speedy room service and housekeeping. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had stayed at his hotel 5 years ago and loved it then. The hotel is still fantastic. The rooms are beautiful. The bathrooms are spacious and have a TV. The service provided ranks above the best at any hotel I have ever stayed. The hotel breakfast is delicious and the pool and spa are great. The Asian restaurant in the hotel is pricey but serves excellent food. Great stores are right across the street: Nordstroms, Neimans, Saks. It is a great location if you like to shop. If you go to Chicago this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The suites are terrific if you are traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelExpert224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
338 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Immaculate, clean, quiet, friendly all apply. Wonderful location to stroll Michigan avenue and surrounding area, easy walk to Navy Pier and the loop, loads of wonderful restaurants.

Sometimes I get frustrated with the 200 character minimum. Once you said what needs to be said, why add to the readers time. Just book it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is fantastic and exactly as you would expect a 5 star hotel to be. The staff are professional, friendly and greet you by name. The porters/security/concierge on ground level are suburb. The receptionists at lobby level are good, but not as personable.The rooms are spacious, modern, yet homely and bathrooms are fantastic. Two sinks, separate bath and shower etc, suite has bath and a half. Basically as you see in the pics is what you get. The spa is lovely and the staff are even nicer there, which is almost impossible. We didn't get a chance to eat in any of the restaurants however the menus look great and I look forward to returning and trying them. The location is absolutely perfect as you would expect with that address. I have no complaints. There are two things that could take it over the top and be even better; Chocolates at turn down service! (I like chocolate) and tea and coffee at the lobby in the morning was only there 3 out of the 5 days we were there, not sure if there is reason or rhythm to this? Also on arrival we were very thirsty at check in and there was no water offered or available. For the rest of our stay we were always offered water when exiting or entering the hotel. Just that first check in we were looking around, and could not see it nor were offered. As soon as we got to the room, there was bottled water. Ok so that was three things! I would definitely stay again, and recommend to others. This is my new fav Chicago hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamLovesSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear CamLovesSun,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and sharing your review. We are overjoyed you consider us your new favorite hotel in Chicago and appreciate your gracious comments! We thank you for your mention of the hotel staff’s friendliness and professionalism, as well as the spaciousness of the accommodations. We are happy you were able to enjoy The Spa. As far as check-in and not being offered water, we apologize for this oversight. We also regret our staff was not more helpful in noting the availability of complimentary coffee during your stay. Complimentary coffee can be found near the front desk until 8:30 am and in The Spa until 11:00 am every day, in addition to 24-hour room service should you wish to order coffee to be delivered to your room at any time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should there be any additional preferences to make your next stay just as memorable. Please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I booked a night at the Peninsula in Chicago to celebrate our second wedding anniversary after attending a wedding in Indiana. I mentioned when I booked that we were celebrating our anniversary and the reservationist that checked us in congratulated us on 2 years - good attention to detail and good service.

The location is great right off Michigan Ave with access to all kinds of great shopping and restaurants. The rooms were great, clean and comfortable & the concierge was also very helpful for planning where to go and what to do.

Staying a first rate hotel like the Peninsula is an experience in an of itself and I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryangoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear bryangoodwin,

We appreciate your choosing The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate your second wedding anniversary – congratulations! We are grateful to be a part of your special occasion and thank you for your generous feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the attention to detail, service, location, cleanliness and comfort. We are also happy to hear you found our Concierge to be helpful in offering recommendations to enhance your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing