We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I wanted to stay in what I hoped was the best hotel in town and so my expectations were high.The Peninsula did not disappoint.My room was a kingsize deluxe and although it overlooked another building on a side street it was very quiet (unless you open the windows) and well appointed.
The staff were all very helpful, efficient and courteous. The spa is very well designed with a nice indoor pool. The outdoor sundeck enabled some sunbathing and room service could be ordered there.The massages in the spa were good but the standard varied.I had three different therapists and one was considerably better than the other two.For 155 dollars for sixty minutes I would have liked more consistency.
The location of the hotel is excellent...right by Michigan Avenue. I would recommend Peirrot Gourmet for breakfast which is quite casual. It is part of the hotel so you can charge to your bill but is accessed from the street by the hotel so is very close by but gives the feeling of being out of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2008

We stayed here for a long weekend in June, and had a great time. The accommodations are first class, the location is stellar, and the staff is top-notch. You get exactly what you pay for.

Our room was very large, the beds were very comfy, and the location is right off of Michigan Ave., so everything we did was walking distance away. We even caught the train to Wrigley & the airport, so I think we only took one cab -- which was to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beverlyblvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

I have heard great things about this hotel, so I was a little disappointed with conditions on my stay.

We were in Room 1523, an executive suite.

Here are the pros:

Location is excellent--you can't beat it. Right off of Mag Mile.

Service is excellent. Friendly staff, we got an upgrade when we checked in. Courteous prompt attention the whole time. When we checked in, we had a little fruit/nut plate waiting for us, and they brought us welcome green tea within 1/2 hour of check-in. That was a nice touch.

Suite size was great. Laid out well, lots of room, and it had my favorite thing--a bathtub with a giant window above it.

They gave us a late check out of 3pm, which was awesome.

Here are the cons:

The decor is a little dated and worn. The carpet in our room had what at first looked like a huge water stain running down the hall, upon closer inspection was a tread path from overuse.

The very complicated lighting system did not work. There are panels all over the room to control lights and other systems, and they malfunctioned the whole time. Which meant that when we tried to go to sleep that night, we could NOT TURN THE LIGHTS OFF. We had to call maintenance. To their credit, they sent someone up right away to reset. However, the problem continued throughout the night with the lights going on and off as we were sleeping. Yeah, REALLY annoying. Luckily I had a couple cocktails (hey, it was Bluesfest), so I was able to go back to sleep each time.

We told the staff when we were checking out about the problem. They were nice enough, and told us that they were in the middle of a "green update" (right, right) that was causing the problems. I just feel like for $700 a night, the lights should work in the room, no?

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Court_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

The Peninsula is everything a 5 star hotel should be. The staff is professional, poised and very helpful. The rooms are well appointed, the counsel next to the bed is unique and fabulous. We finally found a hotel bed that's MORE comfortable than ours at home (not an easy task).

The spa is beautiful. Although we didn't have treatments, we enjoyed the facilies (workout room, steam room, pool, hot tub, outdoor patio). The spa had very thoughtful touches throughout - e.g. swim diapers for kids, various flavored water and tea, plush towels - all terrific.

Avenues (one of the three restaurants). Oh my. Fantastic food, unbelievably creative, delicious. The service was terrific. HOWEVER, the portions are pathetic. For $375 (for two), we should not leave hungry. The waitress explains that each course is 2-3 bites. So, the four course is 12 bites for $75. And, she was right. The 8 course is $115. One should not have to select the 15 course to fill their stomach. I understand that the new chef cut the portions which is a terrible mistake. I would go back in a heartbeat if the portions doubled. We have been to several other top Chicago restaurants (Tru, Trotters, Les Nomades, Everest, Moto), and we have never experienced anything like these miniscule portions.

Overall, our experience at the Peninsula was wonderful and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2008
3  Thank droses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We booked a room, and were upgraded to a suite (rm 1816). However, the suite was located on the 18th floor, right below the pool and locker rooms. During the night, my wife (who suffers from allergies and asthma), woke up with terrible pain in her sinuses. We struggled to sleep for the rest of the night. In the morning, she had a nosebleed.

In the morning, we noticed paint "bubbles" on the wall near the ceiling in the living room. When I reached up and touched the bubbles, they were wet and slimy. Upon further inspection, it was clear that there had been a number of "repairs" in the past, but the problem had never been solved.

When we complained about this to the management, he acted very honorably. He explained that room was right below the locker rooms in the pool / spa area and there must have been a leak. He comped the room for the night and offered to move us to another room in the hotel.

However, the lost night of sleep really wrecked our vacation. We decided that if one room has mold, we couldn't trust any other room and found accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Everything aspect of our stay from start to finish was excellent. The hotel is immaculate, rooms are a nice size, well appointed and quiet. Staff are really helpful and the concierges I worked with were *real* concierges: they were happy to answer questions, make bookings and their advice on Chicago was very good. Front desk staff was helpful, honest and friendly. Gym is beautifully equipped with plenty of machines and an excellent class/stretching room, all with big windows. Pool is a full 25 meters with windows right down to the floor, a great place for a swim! Apples and coffee to go at the gym and pool were a very nice touch in the morning.

I travel over 50% of the time and a hotel like this stands out for the comprehensive high quality of all services and facilities offered. I'll certainly stay here again when I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank naaman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

This hotel is the standard by which ALL hotels should be judged, not just Chicago, but anywhere. It is first-class in every way, from the doormen, to the bellhop, to the front desk staff, to the housekeeping.

The location is perfect for downtown shopping and sightseeing. The rooms are gorgeous. The food was outstanding. I did not visit the spa but heard only great things.

Obviously it is expensive, but this is the pinnacle of hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mannym99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
2,601 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 192 in Chicago
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $326 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing