We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grade A Hotel with 1st class service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #2 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I booked a night at the Peninsula in Chicago to celebrate our second wedding anniversary after attending a wedding in Indiana. I mentioned when I booked that we were celebrating our anniversary and the reservationist that checked us in congratulated us on 2 years - good attention to detail and good service.

The location is great right off Michigan Ave with access to all kinds of great shopping and restaurants. The rooms were great, clean and comfortable & the concierge was also very helpful for planning where to go and what to do.

Staying a first rate hotel like the Peninsula is an experience in an of itself and I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryangoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear bryangoodwin,

We appreciate your choosing The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate your second wedding anniversary – congratulations! We are grateful to be a part of your special occasion and thank you for your generous feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the attention to detail, service, location, cleanliness and comfort. We are also happy to hear you found our Concierge to be helpful in offering recommendations to enhance your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at The Peninsula to celebrate family birthdays and the accommodations were exemplary. The little details of the slippers and linen mats on each side of the bed were a nice touch. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The tv in the bathtub is fun for those who love to spend a bit of leisure time complete with a hand held shower as well; and it is nice to have a separate shower for when you are getting ready to spend a night out on the town. The staff were so very courteous - every time you walked in the hallways they would stop and step aside and greet you as well - very nice touch. The floral arrangements in the public lobbies were absolutely beautiful. The location to spend time in Chicago was fantastic - just off Michigan Avenue and steps to the wonderful boutiques on Oak Street. The spa services were relaxing and it is nice to have such an excellent spa right in the hotel. Overall this was an excellent visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetmnmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear sweetmnmama,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your family birthday celebrations. We appreciate being a part of your special occasions and thank you for your kind comments on the accommodations, amenities, comfort and location. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the slippers and turndown service and found our staff to be courteous. We also appreciate your generous note on the flowers in The Lobby and common spaces of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Pennisula during a recent 4 night "getaway" in Chicago. We enjoyed pretty much everything about this hotel - location, room quality, view, service. All of the staff members which we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast each morning in the lobby restaurant. In terms of the food quality, service, ambiance this is probably the best hotel restaurant breakfast we have ever experienced. Of course, none of this comes cheaply but nevertheless I would certainly stay here again. One minor complaint: although the bathroom was quite large and nicely equipped it had only one sink, which we find to be an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the Water Tower and Michigan Avenue - very nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It was 2 years ago that we were here. I am still convinced that you do not have a better location. As you know what to expect (more or less the 6 or 7 th time we have been here), you become critical. Rooms are great, clean and well serviced. Reception and concierge are very helpful and friendly as are ground floor personnel. However, service at the restaurant was ok but did not reflect the same friendliness we experienced with other personnel.
We did try out this time the swimming pool and spa: we were pampered from start to end, what a great experience this is. This truly remind us that the Asian touch is still there.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Kuni1407,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Peninsula Chicago! We are overjoyed to hear you enjoy your visits and find the Asian graciousness and Midwestern hospitality is a consistent value we share with our guests. We thank you for your generous comments on the reception and Concierge staff, as well as the guestrooms and cleanliness. We regret service at the restaurant was not on par and would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience so we may make corrective actions. Please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel has a 25 meter swimming pool. But the pool water quality is terrible--the pool is cloudy, there is a chemical smell in the pool area, there is a dirt line perimeter has a dirt line around the perimeter, and, even though the pool is in a beautiful, light filled space, swimming in the pool is problematic.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
8  Thank 708disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear 708disappointed,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. While we regret you had a poor experience, we are grateful to hear from you. I can assure you guest safety is a top priority and as such, we take several cleaning and sanitary precautions in our spa and pool areas. We test the pool twice daily and have an extensive cleaning program. We apologize for your inconvenience and will continue to carefully monitor the pool. While the issue has not persisted, we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable experience at The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nothing wrong with this hotel, service good, rooms are oversized and well appointed, very comfortable.

Room service was delayed and the staff felt worse about it than I did. It's amazing how a contrite, apologetic staffer can make a problem go away.

Pool area and workout facilities were top notch. These areas had a resort feel to them, as opposed to a downtown business hotel. Not sure if that makes sense, but that's how I would describe.

Went to both bars, very hip scene. Too cool for my 46 year old physique, but felt very welcome.

Overall, probably my favorite hotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Tim C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your gracious review. We are overjoyed to learn you enjoyed the guestrooms, amenities, service, pool and fitness facilities. We are also happy you were able to join us in in the bars and appreciate your understanding for the room service delay. We again apologize for any inconvenience and we are thankful our staff was able to help resolve the issue.

We are grateful to hear you consider us your favorite hotel in Chicago and hope to welcome you back again soon! Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and please do not hesitate if in the future I may assist with a reservation for your stay at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently booked a 3 night weekend trip for our anniversary. The hotel brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne and strawberries, along with a gift card a good friend had sent. We enjoyed the Peninsula, but I just don't get all the hype. It was nice and we received pretty good service, but we did experience a very inappropriate, rude staff member at the Terrace. We were not able to experience the Terrace, but did have one drink in the other bar. It was ok, no one went out of their way to welcome us. We did not eat in the restaurants, but did have room service, which was very professionally done. A pot of coffee was ridiculously priced! Housekeeping was terrific, you hardly knew they were around. The room was understated and we loved the bathroom! Others have mentioned the sirens and I have to agree, but after the first night it did not bother us. There are many very nice hotels in Chicago, I think we will just keep looking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear K P,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your anniversary celebration, congratulations! We appreciate being a part of your special occasion and hoped to have created a memorable experience for you. We thank you for your kind comments on the room service and housekeeping staff and are delighted to learn you enjoyed the bathroom features.

Although we hear you enjoyed your visit overall, we regret you found your stay not entirely to your expectations and you would not consider staying with us in the future. We apologize for the rude staff member at The Terrace and would like to look into this further. I hope you will please contact me directly so we can discuss further any disappointments and your experience on The Terrace
at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We hope to redeem ourselves in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,480 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,366 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $363 - $1,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing