We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #2 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Flew into Chicago to see the Stones. That was classic. As for the hotel, really good service, very accommodating, very efficient and friendly folks throughout. The hotel itself is well done, not over the top, but everything in it is first rate. The rooms are done nicely and the furnishings are high quality and fresh. You pay handsomely for such nice digs. It's money well spent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of the best hotel stays I've had. The warmth, friendliness and courteous professionalism of the staff rate among the finest service I have experienced. The rooms are understated in their elegance and the feel of the hotel is complete luxury. The SPA is excellent and the indoor pool an oasis from a winter weekend. The Sunday breakfast buffet was worth every proud penny charged. The pastry chef is phenomenal. The food a delight. If you are looking for the feeling of coming home to a family that instantly remembers your name and does so with warm mid-western hospitality, look no further. 5 star - indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Curtis,

We thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and appreciate your thoughtful feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the indoor pool as a perfect getaway from the cold February nights we experience in Chicago! We have passed along your compliments to the Chef regarding the Sunday Brunch; we are happy you enjoyed the dishes and experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is simply amazing! The service and attention that the employees provide makes every stay a unique experience. The bathrooms are my favorite and the impeccable cleanliness of the property is impressive and worth the dollar value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookeburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel. Because the lobby is on an upper floor it has a great feeling of being isolated from the noise and bustle of the downtown area. The design is understated and gives an aura of calm. The rooms are large and well designed. Best of all, it has incredible service. One has he feeling that anything you need can be done: Early access to the health club; special attention to the room; whatever it is, the staff is ready to help. I am sure that I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellaire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Bellaire11,

Thanks for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and we appreciate your kind feedback. We are grateful for your comments on the service and that you felt our staff provided attentive service for all of your needs. We are also happy to hear you found the rooms to be large and well designed and that The Lobby provided a retreat from the noise of downtown Chicago.

We hope to welcome you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

There are hotels chains and then there is The Peninsula.. I have stayed in quite a few and have never ever been disappointed... Chicago is but one more on the list which delivers everything you expect of this top quality hotel franchise...Never enough can be done for a guest from room service to taking up the hem of a pair of pants
(trousers) in an hour !!

For those readers that know of the expected luxuries, The Peninsula Chicago will not disappoint. Excellent location to shops on Michigan and Oak St plus all the best in restaurants that is Chicago..For those that have yet to luxuriate and want a top quality city hotel go enjoy ...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear RGGold,

What a thoughtful review, thank you for your generous feedback. We thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your experiences at other hotels in The Peninsula family. We are happy to have been able to assist in a timely tailoring during your visit and to hear that you enjoyed our location near Michigan Avenue, Oak Street and the dining scene in Chicago. Hopefully you can join us in one of The Peninsula restaurants during your next stay!

We hope to welcome you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Holy cow, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite as impressive as the beautiful spread the Peninsula has for brunch. And even moreover, the flavors were just divine - a true chefs breakfast! I think it's worth visiting Chicago again JUST for the brunch here! True luxury is an understatement in this case.. and the service is absolutely impeccable.

Unfortunately I didn't have the pleasure of staying here, but if the rooms are half as impressive as the main areas they you will never want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank islabery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Islabery,

Thanks for visiting The Peninsula Chicago for our Sunday Brunch in The Lobby. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the experience and menu items offered by our chefs. We are also pleased to hear you found the service impeccable and hope to have you return another for another dining experience next time you are in Chicago! We would love to have you as a guest as well and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

right from the beginning the service was outstanding. greated by porter helped out of car and with bags. Gave us directions to go up in elevator to reception to check in. The staff was fantastic never missing a beat always doing the right things and the right times. room outstanding. fitness center was well equiped. wife and I had a great weekend and will definately stay here again next time we are in chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#13 of 192 in Chicago
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,365 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $365 - $1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing