We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel...ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best hotel...ever!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Seriously this is the best hotel ever. Check with your employer to see if you can get a corporate discount or search online for the best rates, but even if you do pay more you won't be upset. The service is terrific, the rooms spacious, and just overall the best hotel EVER! Check out the fitness room and the exercise classes are a must. Everyone must stay here at least once! Pierrot Gourmet downstairs is also a must as well. You can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    145
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
261
460
75
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Treat yourself and the one you love to a stay in a Peninsula Hotel. It sure isn't cheap, but the experience is just wonderful. I was in the Windy City for the first time for a business trip. What a vibrant place, great for a weekend break.

The staff at the Peninsula are unobtrusive but superbly trained. The Peninsula management should be proud of everyone who works at their Chicago property. On my second day, I returned in the afternoon to my room. Ten minutes later, a member of guest services staff came to my door with a box of chocolates (just amazing, by the way). They also offered me several bottles of water, which was gratefully received after a busy day. Half an hour later, they asked if I wanted a turn down service for my room. I just felt pampered the whole time.

I was in a deluxe room - spacious, with a king bed. The bathroom was the last word in marble luxury (although the glass doors are a little impractical - just a tiny quibble). The bath was so spacious, and I loved having a TV there.

Breakfast is a delight - simple menu options cooked to the very highest standards. The dining room is the last word in vaulted opulence; a lovely place to enjoy a meal.

Make sure you take time for a dip in their lovely pool - the view of the Chicago skyline from there is stunning.

The hotel is perfectly located just round the corner from Michigan Avenue, and all the retail wonders on the Magnificent Mile.

I was so reluctant to leave this fabulous hotel. Go on, live a little and enjoy an unforgettable stay at the Peninsula Chicago. You deserve it!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Room I had did not have a city view (not that it mattered at all). But I believe you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WriterzBlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear WriterzBlok,

Thank you for sharing your gracious comments on your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We are happy we could host you on your first trip to the Windy City and make your experience memorable. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, the attentiveness of our staff and quality of the amenities. We are glad you joined us in The Lobby and were able to experience The Peninsula Spa, and the pool.

We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was recently in Chicago on business and stayed 2 nights at the Peninsula. Very nice atmosphere. Very civilized feel bringing together nicely a historic sophistication with modern friendly informality. Rooms were clean, well planned space and had a crisp new feel. The most striking part of the experience was the service. At every turn people went out of their way to be both friendly and helpful. I ordered room service for dinner one night and as promised it was delivered in less than 30 min. The workout facility had a broad range of excellent equipment and someone even walked around handing out cold towels. Also, they had free wi-fi throughout the hotel a minor point but unusual for a high end hotel. The experience felt like what the Ritz hotels have aspired to in providing the perfect guest experience, but the Ritz chain seems to be going the wrong direction

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Batch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Friend of The Peninsula,

Thank you for sharing your gracious comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our service, your room, atmosphere and complimentary Wi-Fi. We are glad we delivered on our room service promise and you enjoyed the fitness facilities of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff was fantastic. All of them. We had an amazing experience. Nothing was sub-par. The room was clean and comfortable. I almost didn't want to venture out into the city. The pool is the best I've seen in Chicago, or really any hotel, for that matter. Our stay was not inexpensive, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bixamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Bixamus,

Thank you for sharing your gracious comments on your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the service, room and comfort as well as the incredible pool in The Peninsula Spa. We love hearing our guests enjoy and take advantage of the amenities and always appreciate the feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

From checkin to checkout the entire experience is a pleasure. Spacious lobby, great staff, nice restaurants and bar, spacious rooms and bathrooms with high quality linens. The restaurants close a little early (compared to other major cities), however the bar does have a small but good food selection. The bedding requires special mention - mattress, pillows and linens all top quality and appear new and fresh. Small touches everywhere - turn down service, chocolates at night, bathroom products - all top quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wings_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Friend of The Peninsula,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your recent stay and providing your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the amenities and personal touches to your visit. We are also glad you visited our dining venues and were able to join us at The Bar. While The Lobby does close at 10:00 pm Sunday through Thursday and 10:30 pm on Friday and Saturday, we offer 24-hour room service to our guests. We apologize if we were not more helpful in directing you to this information. Should you need any assistance in making a reservation for one of our restaurants, please contact me direct at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After staying at numerous 5 star hotels in Chicago over the years, I must admit this hotel is the best of the bunch.
I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Peninsula Chicago for three nights.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The staff was just awesome and very attentive to my needs.
The hotel is elegant, and well kept. My room was spacious and the bedding was very comfortable. I simply enjoyed the large bathtub.
I found the food in the restaurants to be superb. The attention to detail and luxury was impeccable, right down to the delicious nut mix they served at the bar! WOW, that stuff was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Robin,

Thank you for sharing your gracious comments on your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, the attentiveness of our staff and quality of the amenities. We are also glad you joined us in our dining venues and found the food to be superb. The nut mix is also a personal favorite.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimes
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Peninsula Chicago was amazing. The lobby is on the street level and then the check in and hotel itself is maybe 15 floors up. The rooms are lovely and spacious. There is a turn down service in the evening. Nice views, my room faced the street and it I could hear the sirens a few times during the night. The pool is lovely, not huge but a nice spot to read the newspaper and have a little swim. I loved the steam room, just off the pool area and the strawberry infused water was a nice touch. The service was perfect and the location was ideal. There's also a sweet little private skating rink off their terrace--I didn't use it but it looked like fun. There is also a private car service in the evening for guest use.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street were a little noisy even though the rooms are all on high floors. Those sire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Happytraveller333,

We thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your recent stay and for providing feedback on your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the spacious rooms and turndown service, as well as the location. The hotel is close to a hospital, adding to the sounds of the city. We are also glad to hear you were able to enjoy the amenities in The Peninsula Spa during your stay. The skating rink will return this winter season, open to all guests; $10 for adults, $5 for kids which benefits our children’s charities partners. We are pleased to hear your overall experience was “perfect” and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,345 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
276 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,790 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing