We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are huge and comfortable. The hotel is classic yet modern. Very inviting by their excellent staff at the front desk and concierge. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Chicago if you want to splurge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear AFA86,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago. We greatly appreciate such a wonderful recommendation and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your guestroom as well as the service during your stay.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    126
    49
    17
    13
See reviews for
214
388
65
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is what i would call a classic style of Chicago grand hotel, with luxurious grand public rooms, great service, personable staff, and quality rooms & fittings. Only negatives for me were the lobby restaurant which was very cold (re' atmosphere not temperature) and uninspiring, and the bar which though lovely was just too small for the size of hotel and number wanting to use it.

Room Tip: this is far from the tallest hotel in Chicago, so unlike some others the higher the floor doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wish I could have stayed more than one night. Hotel is 1/2 block off Michigan Ave near Water Tower so close to great shopping and restaurants. Staff was over-the-top friendly and extremely helpful. Room was lavish and SUPER quiet. We had a reduced room rate from the show we were attending. Only regret was not trying the Sunday Brunch - we went out instead but their brunch looked great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Ms. MerryBanker,

Thank you for taking time to leave us such a pleasant review and for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. I was happy to learn you experienced friendly service throughout your stay and enjoyed our guestrooms as well. I hope you’ll return again soon so you can experience The Lobby firsthand. The Sunday Brunch serves a variety of incredible dishes, and is further enhanced by our live entertainment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula soon.

Kind regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great service from all almost every employee, but a little overpriced if you can't take advantage of discount rates. Wonderful lounge and cafe next door that is part of hotel.
Restaurant also tremendous but pricey. Workout facility is one of the best I've been to and valets were tremendous. All in all highly recommended if you can make it affordable with a discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Davew49,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. I was happy to learn you had a chance to take advantage of The Lobby and Pierrot Gourmet, as well as The Spa’s Fitness Center.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the peninsula just for an overnight trip. The Hotel was excellent. The rooms were very large and very clean. The bathroom was amazing! The only complaint I would say would be the bed, it wasn't that comfortable and the pillows were down down pillows. But that is just my preference and opinion. The staff were great and helpful, but this was not our first time to Chicago. Great location! We went to The Capital Grille for dinner. The food was great and the service was top notch. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxnewholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jaxnewholland,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel, including the spacious rooms and well-appointed bathrooms. I’m sorry you didn’t find our mattresses comfortable. We offer one brand of mattress, however several types of pillows are available that may provide additional relief and ensure your stay is as relaxing as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just spent four days at The Peninsula Hotel in Chicago. Some of the best service I have ever received while traveling. Very good restaurant on main lobby floor. Rooms were great. No view except another building out my window. Like many hotels they shut off the air in the middle of the night? Room got very hot!!

Room Tip: Pricing varies a lot...check around. Rooms were not cleaned until late in the afternoon. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mr. JerryTulsa,

I want to thank you for taking time to leave a review about your recent stay at The Peninsula. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your service while a guest at our hotel and that you had a chance to dine in The Lobby as well. I apologize your air turned off during the night; our Engineering Team can assist with this during your next stay, as it should not have turned off on its own.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula.

Warmest regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
600 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Over the past 10 years I have visited the Peninsula Chicago, mostly for business but a few times for pleasure. Our negotiated group are of $265.00 per night was a bargain for this high-end property (I agree with other reviewers' comments: that at the rack rate of $640.00 it would not be so attractive). The doormen, bell staff and housekeepers are attentive and solicitous without being intrusive (at Peninsulas in Asia the porters will literally grab your bags out of your hand and insist to bring them up to the room separately whether you want them to or not: must be a cultural difference). The breakfast and luncheon buffets set up for our group were outstanding: far, far superior to the typical hotel rubber chicken and desicated scrambled eggs. The gym and spa were wonderful, as always. It's hard for me to put my finger on it; but something is just a wee bit lacking compared to my previous experiences here. I have noticed this in several 5 star properties around the world of late: I think cost-cutting may be taking its toll.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#6 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#7 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing